We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“real touch to lithuanian national cuisine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Lokys

Restaurant Lokys
Stikliu str. 8/10, Vilnius LT-2001 , Lithuania
+370 5 2629046
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 421 Restaurants in Vilnius
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Narrow Stikliu street in the old town of Vilnius began it‘s history in XVth century, when merchants and craftsmen, invited by Lithuanian Grand Dukes, here started their businesses - shops, workshops and taverns.The building, where currently restaurant “Lokys” is situated, was build in the end of XVth century for one of the merchants both for living and trading purposes.Over centuries, gothic cellars changed their owners for couple of times. Here have been shops, taverns and beerhouses, until 1972, when it was restored and hunters’ restaurant “Lokys” housed here.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“real touch to lithuanian national cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

if you're looking for real touch of national cuisine in heard of Vilnius - then you are in right place.
Game, steak and great starters according medieval recipes - all that on your choice. you just need to relax under redbrick’s cellars. here's everything is real - starting from bricks to meal. Skanaus!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    203
    46
    15
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Old Lithuania experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This is a good place to try the typical old Lithuanian dishes which nearly all seem to consist of some kind of Game. The waitress that served us was very helpful and tried to explain and advise about the many different dishes. We managed to resist the Beaver! We had a mixed starter of beer snacks, which you can get in most places, but we weren't too keen on the smoked pigs ears that they included as they were a little bit grissely. I had a good fillet steak and my partner had a stew made from venison and fillet steak on a bed of what appeared to be a bright green mash. They match each dish with a wine, which I like, so I tried a gorgeous dessert wine to match my equally gorgeous pannacotta with quince.
I would recommend this restaurant to try at least once. We enjoyed what we had but found it quite expensive and we aren't in any rush to go back to try anything else on the menu

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterlee, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Excellent restaurant conveniently located in the old time. We ate in the old cellar part of he restaurant, accessed through a tiny staircase where you have a duck to avoid banging your head. The reward for taking the trouble was a wonderfully orthentic brick build cellar dating back 100s of years and adorned with traditional furnishings and stuffed boar on the wall.
I had the regale, mixture of venison steak, roe deer roll and a boar sausage - absolutely fantastic (a little pricey) and the best meal I have had in this country. He presentation was to the highest standards and he tastes wonderful. My wife had chicken stuffed with sun dried tomatoes which was equally tasty and well presented. The waitresses spoke excellent English (best I've heard from a waitress in Vilnius) and the service was excellent. I would have no hesitation in recommending this restaurant or of returning on my next visit to Vilnius

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Traditional place serving delicious game”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We went there twice - once for lunch and once for supper after a concert. The food was excellent and proved healthier than we had expected The salad with warm venison was crisp and delicious as well as low calorie and the game dishes some members of our party had were very good indeed.. The Ice cream and sorbets were very good too!. The service was professional and not intrusive - definitely one to go back to.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Pleasent experience, i recomand this location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

I along with a group of 12 people we had dinner at this restaurant and we were all delighted with the atmosphere of the restaurant. The food was delicious, the staff very friendly and we had interesting stories about local life and customs.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Lokys also viewed

Vilnius, Vilnius County
Vilnius, Vilnius County
 
Vilnius, Vilnius County
Vilnius, Vilnius County
 

Been to Restaurant Lokys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Lokys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.