We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to stay for students and young people” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Downtown Market B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Downtown Market B&B to your Saves list
Downtown Market B&B
Pylimo St., 57, Vilnius 01137, Lithuania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 57 Vilnius B&B and Inns
Moscow, Russia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A nice place to stay for students and young people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

Advantages:
- the service was rather good, the staff is friendly and helpful: at our request, we were given a kettle. They also helped us to plan our visit to Vilnius: provided us with the train timetable, consulted on the places to have dinner in town
- original rooms design: we were quite surprised to see a blackboard for putting down the time, when we would like to have breakfast
- the breakfast itself was included into the room price and was to our surprise very rich. It consisted of cornflakes, juice, coffee/tea, chocolate, cheese, ham, tomatoes/cucumbers and bread,
- central location
- free wi-fi in the room

Disadvantages:
- The audibility is rather high: we could hear the noises in the corridor and from the street
- The surroundings of the hotel is unfavourable, maybe, because of the close proximity to the Central Market
- Several ill-considered interior details: lack of hooks and shelves in the bathroom, chest instead of the wardrobe in the room, unsteady table.

To sum it up, I would recommend the Guesthouse to young people as it provides unusual experience for reasonable money.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    17
    12
    4
    0
See reviews for
3
19
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

I was there for 3 nights. not a deal means that I may suggest it to somebody else but not to my best friend. 40 euros per nights sounds as a perfect price for the location but for a lithuanian standard I found the appartment very poor.

Noisy, spacious, a promised wifi was not provided.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

We had a great stay at the Old Market. Our room was fine and clean and a very good breakfast at a time that suited you. Arthur when way beyond what was expect of him. Our flights were delayed by about 5hours he picked us up and helped us track down our lost luggage. We had a great stay and really enjoyed the people and the country. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narrabri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

After a long haul flight, with many delays, Artus was gracious enough to wait to pick us up from the airport. His English was limited, but we didn't really have any problems communicating. Upon arrival, everything was explained to us, then we were left to our own devices. Great room, wonderful bed. Breakfast was a delight in its quaint little basket, and everything is wither homemade or organic. Artus was diligent in trying to find our missing luggage, and gave us the use of his laptop overnight. I cannot express how much this meant to us. Will definately be staying there again. Thanks Artus!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2009

This is a B and B of two halves.

Good stuff. Fantastic comminucation when booking and you get to choose your room which was great. Rooms are quirky and interesting, great and fun design and brilliant not to stay in a chain hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful. Location is great just minutes from the old town and wonderful to be able to walk around Vilnius. Shop and chemist nearby. Good breakfast served in your rooml eggs, bread, O.J, coffee or tea, chocolates, yoghurt, cheese, meat, cucumber/tomatoes and cheese served in your room and at a time of your choosing from 8 until whenever you want!. Rooms are not huge but big enough and the rate is very reasonable. Bathroom is clean and beds are made and romms cleaned daily.

Not so good stuff.
There is noise from other people's showers and sometimes TV's, also noise from the upstairs flats (the B and B is in a old building with flats above) and we had a lot of noise and a party for a few hours Saturday night but this may have been a one off. Staff are not there 24hrs but there is a number to call. Would have been great to have a kettle or somewhere to make drinks. Our shower was dodgy and kept flooding, this was looked at but it kept doing it. It was not a huge issue but meant we couldn't turn it on full which was a shame. The B and B guide in the room is sometimes useful and somtimes not accurate- so dont rely on it.

We would go there again, maybe in a different room to try and avoid some of the noise. We did enjoy it though and lots of plus points here.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahti
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

I've just returned from my second visit to the Old Market Guesthouse - once again I was amazed by the standard they maintain. This was my fifth trip to Vilnius, so I have some experience of other hotels - and I can honestly say that for service and value for money the Old Market cannot be beaten.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

We enjoyed everything about this centrally located gem.

If you want interesting bedrooms with bathrooms of a high standard and the most friendly staff imaginable, this is for you. Nothing could faze the wonderful bunch of people who run this establishment.

Breakfast is served to your room and is substantial plus very healthy. We were set up for the day and the coffee was so good that I 'cheated' daily and had two cups for breakfast alone!

Highly recommended and am looking forward to a return trip.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Downtown Market B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Market B&B

Address: Pylimo St., 57, Vilnius 01137, Lithuania
Location: Lithuania > Vilnius County > Vilnius
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Vilnius
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Market Guesthouse is situated in an early 20th century Old Town building minutes away from the City Hall, the Gate of Dawn, other tourist hotspots and entertainment places. Decorated according to its name the rooms represent different stalls of the market; the fish, the flower, the chocolate and etc. All bedrooms are en-suite equipped with flat screen satellite TVs and wireless internet. A stay is supplemented with organic breakfast from the local market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Downtown Market B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Downtown Market B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.