We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of HBH Juozo Alus

HBH Juozo Alus
Zibininkai LT-97230 | Kretinga district, Klaipeda 97230, Lithuania
370 445 44423
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 80 Restaurants in Klaipeda
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Reservations
Klaipeda, Lithuania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It's good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

They have basic Lithuanian cuisine - nothing fancy, but the amount of food in the plate is huge ;) As a result the prices are pretty decent.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    14
    7
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Not just a restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Do not expect gourment dishes there, you can choose among variety of more or less traditional lithuanian dishes, most of them quite fatty and heavy. But quite tasty in my opinion. I can recommend to begin with warm bread-and-cheese and their local beer.
Service was OK but not more.
But I think this place is absolutely worth to visit, especially for families because of plenty of things to do there - nice surroundings and walks, playground, pet-zoo... Your children will be busy for hours while you are sitting and relaxing with some beer or so. But of course best time for visit is a nice day allowing outdoor activities.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skien, Norway
Level Contributor
105 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Worth to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

I was there last night and I could not believe that there were not so much people as it was last year. The place was fine and kids would definitely enjoy the place. I ordered soup and it was very salty, as in very very salty. When we told them about it, the waitress had no comment at all. No explanation whatsoever. I guess, they need to improve service and not just consider HBH as a tourist attraction but as a "restaurant". It is still a restaurant and main focus must be the food and service.
Wide selection of food, fatty food but delicious. It was just the soup i didn't like. It could have been delicious if they didn't overdo with the salt.
Overall experience this year...just so so...

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lost it's spark”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I have known HBH since it opened it's doors to the public. It was a day out for locals, and you would have to know somebody local to be told where HBH was.Throughout the years, HBH has lost it's uniqueness and it has become a tourist drop off point for a couple hour stay. Food is ok, servise - poor.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palanga, Lithuania
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“About HBH Juozo alus”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Very nice surroundind but very hard food (especially for foreighners)

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed HBH Juozo Alus also viewed

Klaipeda, Klaipeda County
Klaipeda, Klaipeda County
 
Klaipeda, Klaipeda County
Klaipeda, Klaipeda County
 

Been to HBH Juozo Alus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HBH Juozo Alus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.