We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and quiet - good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Daugirdas Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Daugirdas Hotel to your Saves list
Daugirdas Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   T Daugirdo str 4, Kaunas 44279, Lithuania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Kaunas
Certificate of Excellence
Lødingen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Nice and quiet - good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

Definitely a hotel to return to. Next time in Kaunas, this will be the place to stay. It is placed in the old part of Kaunas, nice rooms, quiet area.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    60
    13
    4
    4
See reviews for
35
56
15
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

I stayed just the one night at this hotel which is almost hidden away in the old town area.
Amazing restaurant and great interior design. Highly recommended.

Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

This hotel is in a great location (right behind the cathedral in Kaunas) and yet in a quiet side street). the rooms are very pleasant and the breakfast buffet ample and copious. It is cobbled together from several different buidlings but has all the latest amenities. I would not say that it is super deluxe but everything there was was of good quality and at an excellent price/performance ratio.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucks
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

we wanted a hotel that was central but also hoped was a good standard

The staff all spoke english so we didnt feel out of place, all very helpful on places to go and assisted us in getting taxis etc. The accommodation was huge and fully furnished to a very high standard.

The prices are more than reasonable - cost for our childen 9 euros each per night and the bfast was included. The restaurant was also very reasonable for the standard of food which was way above our expectations. Perhaps a bit formal if you have very young children, but other family did join us one evening including a toddler and couldnt have been made more welcome.

Would absolutely recommend this hotel to everyone, we will certainly be staying there on any return trips

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW JERSEY
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

We stayed at this hotel, a combination of a new building and an old one. We were in the newer part which was a lovely room and nice modern bathroom. We overlooked a vacant lot in the back of a church which was fine as it was quiet. The air conditioning didn't work very well but as we had a quiet location we just kept the balcony door open which was fine. The hotel is located in the "old section" of Kaunas and easily accessible to everything. You could walk to the main square, castle, main walking street. There were shops and restaurants closeby. We ate breakfast at the hotel every day which was buffet style and a variety of cold with some chafing dish foods. The help were very accommodating and I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

We stayed in a room on the 3rd floor on the corner overlooking the entrance and towards the river (poss 304?). It was an executive room, sparsely furnished by comparison to 5* western hotels, but large.

It was quiet, in a good location for visiting the Old Town and River Nemunas.

TV with plenty of channels
Free WiFi
Blackout curtains
Quiet location
Great rooftop bar with great views

Breakfast was ok, a good selection, but not the best ever.
Staff were really helpful and we'd recommend the rooftop bar and the wonderful beer and wine snacks!

Booked direct with the hotel and am sure this helped to get a good room!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2009

Went as part of a party of eleven blokes who visit a different region of Eastern Europe each year (beer, WW2, beer, culture, beer, food etc.)
The Daugirdo is the only hotel we've stayed in where no one has had the usual whinge about food, service, cleanliness, cost etc.
This is simply because the hotel put the guests first and provided a first rate service throughout our stay.
The attentive and caring staff are friendly, helpful and importantly - good English speakers.
Taxis were booked for us, useful advise was always offered and nothing was too much trouble.
The Manager was always on hand to chat. We formed the opinion that this was because he genuinely did care.
I (we) would have no hesitation in recommending The Daugirdo as the place to stay in Lithuania - let alone Kaunas.
It was a pleasure throughout and many thanks.

  • Liked — It was excellent throughout. Confident that I (we) could relax.
  • Disliked — Nothing to complain about. The fruit juice at breakfast could be cooler I suppose!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Stayed February 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaunas hotels
0.9 mi away
Kaunas City Hotel
Kaunas City Hotel
#2 of 29 in Kaunas
4.5 of 5 stars 167 reviews
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Kaunas
1.6 mi away
Algiro Hotel
Algiro Hotel
#1 of 29 in Kaunas
4.5 of 5 stars 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Amberton Cozy
Amberton Cozy
#10 of 29 in Kaunas
4.0 of 5 stars 232 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Santakos Hotel
1.7 mi away
Ibis Kaunas Centre
Ibis Kaunas Centre
#5 of 29 in Kaunas
4.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daugirdas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daugirdas Hotel

Address: T Daugirdo str 4, Kaunas 44279, Lithuania
Location: Lithuania > Kaunas County > Kaunas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kaunas
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kaunas
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kaunas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Daugirdas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Daugirdas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daugirdas Hotel Kaunas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daugirdas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.