We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Daugirdas Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Daugirdas Hotel to your Saves list
Daugirdas Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   T Daugirdo str 4, Kaunas 44279, Lithuania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Kaunas
Certificate of Excellence
Vejle, Denmark
Level Contributor
145 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good location and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Excellent location, just a few hundred meters away from the town square.
Very friendly and helpfull staff.
Rooms are above standard for the region, and beds are not to hard nor to soft
Hotel is situated almost on the river, and in summer you can sit on the riverbank and relax.
Breakfast is pretty much standard, for Lithuania, but the restaurant serves a surprisingly high standard

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    60
    13
    4
    4
See reviews for
35
56
15
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed there for two nights in February 2013 and were very impressed by this hotel. Very clean and room adequate with comfortable beds. We did not try the restaurant but there was was a wide choice of things for breakfast so for fussy eaters like me you will find something you like..... ( I note they don't have brown sauce so it must be an English thing !). Using the buses is very simple and the No.29 bus takes you to and from the airport. They have a simple fare system in that you pay 2 Litas for any length of bus journey so 2 Llitas for the one hour bus journey to the airport is a lot cheaper then a taxi. Hint ... if you are staying in the Old Town and coming in on the No 29 airport bus and have not got your bearings then get off at the bottom of the long hill (can't miss it) as you will then be in walking distance of the Old Town... K & C Bristol

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredrikstad, Norway
Level Contributor
105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed with fifteen more for her 40th. Everyone was happy with their rooms, which were spacier than what we are used to. And as clean as you would expect in a hotel of this class. Everything is quite fresh, but above average when it comes to the price level in Lithuania. But the average is low compared to other European countries, so you’ll feel that you get your money’s worth. The breakfast is OK without glimmering in any way.

The hotel is just a couple of hundred meters from the prime locations in the Old Town, but quiet at the same time. Prime location.

On our first night I had arranged for a private dinner for the seventeen of us, having discussed the group menu with the hotel’s chef before we arrived. And – I have to say, although the price was high for Kaunas wining and dining, the food was absolutely fantastic. Some of the guests chose the Grilled beef fillet steak and said it was one of the best they’ve ever had. I had the halibut fillet (we had the choice of three mains) and it was also “up there”. We didn’t eat more at the hotel restaurant except breakfasts after that, but regret it now. Good food is more difficult to find around Kaunas and you can’t expect to just wonder in somewhere and get a brilliant meal like you can in cities more experienced with tourists.

Staff is very friendly and helpful. We got a room on the ground floor, which I dislike. It was no problem moving upstairs and it was processed there and then.

The pub area is right next to the reception and has a bit of cafeteria-feel to it. With small measures I think they could have made it a bit cosier.

All in all a very positive experience, both personally and as a group.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I was on my business trip in Kaunas and stayed in Daugirdas for a couple of nights.

Booking - process was a little bit "yesterday" as I had to fill A4 form and send it to hotel but this was because of special price I got. But confirmation e-mail came really fast. So process with no problems.
Location - actually I arrived by car and left by taxi so I really can't comment how it is to reach by public transportation. They have parking lot in front of the hotel (just open ground, no guard) what is free for guests.
Old town is just som steps away and walking street is appr. 10min walking.
Room - I booked single room (no. 219) what had windows opposite to next building. So the view was nothing special but as I spend in the room few moments during day-time then it wasn't a problem for me.
The size of room was just as big as needed - 1 closet, table (TV on it), armchair and bed.
Bathroom had bath and shower (2-in-1) and I took bath every day. Very relaxing. Also there was some information material (as in every hotel) and I hoped to find prices for massage but only factsheet what was in Lithuanian was massage pricelist. So no massage this time.
Also room was equipped with safe but I didn't use it and left my laptop on the table.
In interesting fact is that I haven't experienced in other hotels. They had music channel programmed under certain number and when I arrived at night and wanted to put some music for background then there started quite a interesting sounds... Appeared that from midnight music channel is replaced by Hustler TV :) Free porn for porn lovers...
Facilities - actually I didn't use any facilities as I had hard working days there. In the evening I sat on the lobby bar for some drinks.
OK, they had rooftop terrace what was nice during beautiful day. View wasn't so pretty (some basketball square).
Breakfast/food - BF was included in room price and was like ordinary BF in Europe - pancakes, scrambled egg, sousages, salad. So this was good. One evening I had dinner in local restaurant also and this food was also good.
Staff - was nice. Young girls were very communicative and provided all information I needed. Even printed out my flight tickets (in some hotels they ask money for printing A4).

So all in all - if I will be in Kaunas I'd choose the same hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdansk, Poland
Level Contributor
400 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 349 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

Kaunas is really beutyfull city full of history. Architecture of old town is incredible. The hotel is placed in the heart of old town by the river. Interiors are kind of fusion between old and todays times. They serve Good breakfast in nice old basement. But... It is a really pity that the staff - especially at reception desk is totally unprofessional and simply unpolite
- it destroys very Good impression You have about this hotel. You can feel that You are most probably one time guest and You will leave soon.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

New construction, modern furnishings.
All familiar and comfortable for the business class traveler.
Service was good and location, excellent.

Check out the Musical Instrument Museum just down the street.

Very long walk from the bus station.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We were staying here for 1 night. Were living in the room at the 1st floor that is -1 floor actually. The window's view was cosisted people's legs and heels. we were surpised by so accomodation becouse the hotel was almost empty. The other 'wounderful' thing was a line near the teapot at the breakfast. It seems like the hotel is a magnet for the thirty ladies with the yelled kids)))

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaunas hotels
0.9 mi away
Kaunas City Hotel
Kaunas City Hotel
#2 of 29 in Kaunas
4.5 of 5 stars 165 reviews
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Kaunas
1.6 mi away
Algiro Hotel
Algiro Hotel
#1 of 29 in Kaunas
4.5 of 5 stars 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Amberton Cozy
Amberton Cozy
#10 of 29 in Kaunas
4.0 of 5 stars 231 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Santakos Hotel
1.7 mi away
Ibis Kaunas Centre
Ibis Kaunas Centre
#5 of 29 in Kaunas
4.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daugirdas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daugirdas Hotel

Address: T Daugirdo str 4, Kaunas 44279, Lithuania
Location: Lithuania > Kaunas County > Kaunas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kaunas
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kaunas
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kaunas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Daugirdas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Daugirdas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daugirdas Hotel Kaunas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daugirdas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.