We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and very comfortable rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Santakos Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Santakos Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Santakos Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   J. Gruodzio Street 21, Kaunas 52316, Lithuania   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 27 hotels in Kaunas
Vilnius, Lithuania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent location and very comfortable rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

We spent our second stay in this hotel in the last year this week-end and the hotel is still very good. Location is perfect, rooms are very nice and comfortable. Ths staff is nice but not extremely knowledgeable in terms of touristic information, a little training would probably help. Main weakness is anyway the breakfast : toasts but no toasters, coffee really bad. It's of course acceptable but not what you can expect from this type of hotel. But we definitely recommend this place in any case and would go back if we come back to kaunas again.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inga K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Santakos Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Let me start by thanking you for writing a review regarding your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN Santakos Hotel.

I apologize for not exceeding your expectations with the breakfast. We strive to ensure each and every guest experience is satisfying, so we are taking your feedback to heart and focusing on improving. It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you.

Wishing you a lovely day,
Inga Kerbelyte
Managing Director
BEST WESTERN Santakos Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    52
    12
    5
    6
See reviews for
16
48
3
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this Hotel.

Our first impression was not positive, it seemed like the Hotel was in a dark and dingy street and we wondered where we had landed! However, the location is excellent, at the end of the road is the pedestrian street, where within minutes you are in the old town in the opposite direction is the main shopping street. (Reminded me of Las Ramblas, Barcelona). None of the streets seemed to be very well lit, but it was evident that there were always plenty of people about and it felt safe.

The Hotel arranged a taxi transfer for us which made life very easy. We had a corner room, which was spacious and very comfortable. (See pics) The level of service and advice from reception was very good.

Breakfast was varied, and whilst it was perhaps not exactly what you would expect for a UK four star hotel, for me part of travelling is the opportunity to try something new. We ate in the restaurant on the last night and enjoyed excllent wines and quality of food. My partner ate Beef Wellington, it was excellent and much cheaper than UK prices. The restaurant has a nice ambience and the small outside seating area is lovely. For good value I would recommend drinking the local sparkling wines.

We found this Hotel's beautiful building was atmospheric and the location was perfect for our stay. In the short walk into the old town there was a mini-supermarket; ideal for picking up bottled water etc. Within the hotel we receivd good service and had excellent facilities. As I said before, just choose this one, I believe you won't regret it!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inga K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Santakos Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the BEST WESTERN Santakos hotel. It was a great pleasure to serve you.
We would love to see you again at the BEST WESTERN Hotel Santakos!
Wishing you a lovely day,
Inga Kerbelyte
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomsburg, PA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

I stayed here for two nights. My room was fine...but hot because I was on the 5th floor. It spelled a bit fruity when I entered! The rooms need to be updated with better linens. The breakfast was very good and consisted of assorted meats, cheeses, pickles, tomatoes. The chocolate croissants were my favorite!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inga K, Manager at BEST WESTERN Santakos Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for your respond regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We value it as it helps us to improve the services we provided at our property.
We would love to see you again at the BEST WESTERN Hotel Santakos!

Wishing you a lovely day,

Inga Kerbelyte
Managing director
BEST WESTERN Hotel Santakos
inga@santakahotel.eu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012 via mobile

Kaunas needs some major hotel refurbishing, nothing worth while..... Best western is your best bet if you're in Kaunas. Rooms ok, service good, food at the hotel very average. The hotel is centrally situated so if business is in town it's convenient, otherwise ones better off in Vilnius.

Stayed July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inga K, Manager at BEST WESTERN Santakos Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Dear Alexis,

thank you for writing this review regarding your recent stay at our hotel and your kind feedback ragarding our hotel.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectattions with our food. We will be using your feedback to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for all our guests in the future.
If I can provide any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at +37037 302702.

BEST regards,

Inga Kerbelyte
Managing director
BEST WESTERN Hotel Santakos
inga@santakahotel.eu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

The Hotel is situated just off the main thoroughfare called Laisves Alega which is a pedestrianised road 1.5KM long with bars, restaurants and shops along its length. This leads onto the old town where there is more of the same.
The Hotel itself is in an old converted building so changes in ground level are frequent and rooms have odd shapes. Having said that it adds to the overall feel of the place, its clean tidy and has very friendly staff although I was a bit disappointed with the room cleaning but it was adequate.
Good value for money and the food was very good indeed.

Room Tip: I heard the rooms near the roof are great but did not see them myself
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inga K, Manager at BEST WESTERN Santakos Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Dear Mr. Andrew,
Thank you for your rewiew regarding your stay at our hotel. It is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked and dislaked about your stay, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests inthe future. Thank you once again and we hope you will come back.
If I can be of assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me at +370 37 302702.

Wishing you a lovely day,

BEST regards,
Inga Kerbelyte
Managing Director
BEST WESTERN Hotel Santakos
Kaunas, Lithuania
inga@santakahotel.eu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Santakos hotel is situated between old town and pedestrian street of Kaunas. Shopping center Akropolis is 10-15 minutes away by walking (via pedestrian street), so situation of the hotel is good.
Standard rooms (twin/double) are good sized and bathrooms are spacious enough. Rooms are nicely decorated and cozy.
Personnel is friendly and helpful and you can pick a Kaunas in your pocket guide from the reception.
Only thing in need of improvement is breakfast. Somehow it is not quite a four-star-hotel level. On Sunday morning it only had one variety of bread and it was not even fresh; tea selection is marginal (=yellow Lipton) etc. And curious thing is, that when I visited Santakos few months back I specially enjoyed the breakfast, but somehow it was not so good as it then was.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inga K, Manager at BEST WESTERN Santakos Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at +370 37 302 702.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Inga Kerbelyte
Managing director
BEST WESTERN Santakos Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodmere, New York
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

This hotel is in walking distance of old town Kaunas as well as the new area. It is centrally located to everything. The rooms are really nice, beds are comfortable, quiet and the bathroom floors have radiant heat. The people are very nice. The breakfast is basic but enough. There are many coffee shops close by. The new mall is fantastic and is a must see.

Room Tip: get one of the corner rooms in the 15 or 21 row.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inga K, Manager at BEST WESTERN Santakos Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at +370 37 302 702.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Inga Kerbelyte
Managing director
BEST WESTERN Santakos Hotel
inga@santakahotel.eu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Santakos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Santakos Hotel

Address: J. Gruodzio Street 21, Kaunas 52316, Lithuania
Phone Number:
Location: Lithuania > Kaunas County > Kaunas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Kaunas
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kaunas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Santakos Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Westrn Santakos hotel is situated at the merging point of the centre and the Old town - in a calm J. Gruodžio street. In the aesthetic 100 year old building you can find a comfortable and elegant interior. Being away from home, you will find yourself quite at home at Best Western Santakos hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Santakos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kaunas
Kaunas Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Santakos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.