We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great museum!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rumsiskes Open-Air Museum

Rumsiskes Open-Air Museum
L. Lekaviciaus g. 2, Kaunas LT-56337, Lithuania
+370 346 47392
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$71*
and up
Private Open-Air Folk Life Museum of Rumsiskes...
Ranked #1 of 37 Attractions in Kaunas
Type: History Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Kaunas, Lithuania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great museum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Great museum in Rumsiskes. A little hard to get via bus, but it is very beautiful and shows old times countryside living in Lithuania

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    13
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pine Brook, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Must Visit. Great Park and Great Displays.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

There is a lot of history here. Def worth exploring. The scenes are beautiful and the historical villages are really interesting to see and walk through. We met some really interesting people last time we were here. The artist who works with metal and glass, the one we came upon very unexpectedly was super friendly and very interesting to listen to. The art was beautiful as well.

The windmill was a lot of fun! We climbed to the top and explored the inside of it while the kids got to play with bows and arrows and got to learn how the windmill works.

The walk through the villages was easy and relaxing and I am def willing to go back there again and see more. There are plenty of things to keep the whole family entertained... and there are some amazing views too! The climb of the tower is a must... I would def recommend this museum/park!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

This is where you get a true cultural experience! Essentially a small model of Lithuania with tons of history!!! Must Go! Bring Water.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Guest house "Girkalnio namas " in open air museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We booked Guest house "Girkalnio namas" which located in the Open Air Museum of Lithuania in Rumšiškės. This early 20th century building offers classical, original Lithuanian furniture and décor. It is an unique place to have a holliday.I reccomend to visit this guest house ,there you can feel the spirit ot the past of lithuanian culture and interior. I made some photos when i visited there. Very Beautiful place and nature.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Attractive during the Carnival”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Very nice open air museum. Especially interesting for visit during the summer time or various Lithuanian festivals, e.g. Carnival (Lithuanian- Uzgavenes). During the Carnival a lot of Lithuanian pagan traditions are visible there. Be prepare for strange masks, dances and games!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rumsiskes Open-Air Museum also viewed

Kaunas, Kaunas County
Kaunas, Kaunas County
 
Kaunas, Kaunas County
Kaunas, Kaunas County
 

Been to Rumsiskes Open-Air Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rumsiskes Open-Air Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.