We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The service is perfect, crow works like clock.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Rouge - brasserie & cafe

Le Rouge - brasserie & cafe
Vilniaus g. 26, Kaunas LT-44287, Lithuania
+370 606 62736
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 116 Restaurants in Kaunas
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The service is perfect, crow works like clock.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The service is perfect, crow works like clock. Food is also good, especially duck breast and soups. Atmosphere is warm, cozy with calm french music. Restaurant is busy, so it's better to order seats by the phone. Portions could be a little bit bigger...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    28
    7
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kaunas, Lithuania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food and service in a cozy place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I had their new fish soup (from the menu insert) and lamb chops. Both were excellent. The service is good, atmosphere is cozy, and there is general feeling that the place is well managed - definitely above Kaunas average. Good value for money as well when compared to competition.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaunas, Lithuania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“one of the best in Kaunas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The visit was absolutely worth it. Good and interesting food. Service was adequate as well. Prices are OK, but value is much better that Sadute, Medziotoju uzeiga or else on the same street.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Fine-tuning needed but heart's in the right place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

'The Red' offers french cuisine in Kaunas old town. Just around the corner from the main square. I've been here two or three times and it's worth a visit.

Caters for big parties but has plenty of cosy booths and is warmly lit for a romantic mood. Includes those Ingo Maurer chandeliers made out of handwritten notepaper (yes, I did just look them up :)

Service was fine. Attentive, friendly etc.

For the sheer hell of it we had chips to start. Like you do. (You can always tell a restaurant by the chips...) They were undercooked. The (possibly homemade) mayonnaise (it tasted home-made so it doesn't really matter if it was or it wasn't I suppose) almost managed to pull them round and another portion was bought out when we had a moan. Although we had almost finished them by then. So maybe they weren't that underdone after all...

We also had home-made (see above) fish-goujons. Or, as I prefer to call them, fishfingers. Which were full of fish but thankfully - not full of fingers. Very tasty.

For mains, I had Beef bourguignon. Chunky beef was tender and sauce, rich and tasty. Mash had a little taste of 'Smash' to it but it didn't kill the dish. Parmesan crust around the meat and gravy took it in a new direction from the usual (although not quite sure where).

My beautiful and far more interesting partner had bouillabaisse which had the right balance of fishy, spicy, deep, savouriness to it. Langoustine, clams, mussels, chunky but light lumps of fish. Portion sizes were about right all round.

Winelist is better than most of the places in Kaunas and excellent value by UK standards.

Pudding was a disappointment though as the creme brulee had the texture of 'barely been out of the fridge' butter and was as cold as a penguin's posing pouch.

So we didn't get the impish pleasure of smacking it with our spoons and cracking the glasslike sugar and then sinking into the light, toasty-warm cream underneath like the creme brulee bashing bods we are.

However, it was under £60 for four people (3 courses and booze) so that's why it gets a 'Very good' rating. And whilst it's not going to match up to the best High Street brasseries in the UK. it's certainly one of the best restaurants in Kaunas.

Plus, we also got a free round of armagnac and Grand Marnier/Cointreau - presumably to say sorry about the al dente chips, although it might just have been a friendly gesture from a friendly place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very nice and cozy :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This place is really nice, service is good, we had local wine and cheese. It is a good place to have a date or a dinner.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Rouge - brasserie & cafe also viewed

 
Kaunas, Kaunas County
Kaunas, Kaunas County
 

Been to Le Rouge - brasserie & cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Rouge - brasserie & cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.