We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Kaunas tradition for 14 years now.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avilys

Avilys
Vilniaus gatve 34, Kaunas, Lithuania
+37068668525
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 130 Restaurants in Kaunas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“My Kaunas tradition for 14 years now.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

I first went here in January of 2000 and was impressed with the beer and food. Every time I go, I have the cheese donuts with garlic sauce. Those things are fantastic! The beer was great as usual. Most of the evening, we were the only table sitting in the dining room. The patio was crowded and noisy. I love the aesthetics of the old brick architecture of the room. Highly recommended for anyone who enjoys a good beer and unique atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    48
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Avilys was great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

After a dinner earlier this week with 20 persons that was a great succes (really cooked food, good wine and homemade beers in very friendly and interested atmosphere) we had lunch yesterday. We had soup and 2 caesar salads. In every restaurant a risk but not in Avilys, it was again great meals and top service. Try it and experience. Today back in The Netherlands with good memories to Kanaus and Avilys. We'll visit again.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not as good as I had expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Dined here on our recent visit to Kaunas. I was not impressed by their beer brewed on the premises, but that is perhaps a matter of personal taste. I was less impressed by the service - typically Lithuanian slow. I was told the pepper steak I ordered was filet - but it was not filet as I know it, although I cannot identify the cut from my Australian knowledge of beef.

Located next door to the Seneji Rusia restoranas, I would recommend trying the beer here then heading next door for the food.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Go here every time I'm back home. Lovely staff, lovely environment and food. Love the design and a Old town feel of it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Top Contributor
456 reviews 456 reviews
262 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
“Very Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We had lunch at this nice place. The waitress was very helpful and spoke very clear English. We had typical Lithuanian food: meat, potatoes, soup, veggie - all tasty.

Very good service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avilys also viewed

Kaunas, Kaunas County
Kaunas, Kaunas County
 
Kaunas, Kaunas County
Kaunas, Kaunas County
 

Been to Avilys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avilys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.