We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Gem at the right time and place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boutique Hotel Fortuna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Boutique Hotel Fortuna to your Saves list
Boutique Hotel Fortuna
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sobotske Namestie 1768 / 43, Poprad 05803, Slovakia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Poprad
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Perfect Gem at the right time and place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We were traveling through Slovakia on an ancestry trip and were struggling with communications with little English being spoken. We searched for hotels in Poprad and found Fortuna in the old part of town as it was getting late, walked in and asked if they had a room, they did with the perfect view. We then looked over their menu and made reservations at their restaurant. We were weary from several hours of driving and were looking forward to staying in our boutique hotel and eating there. The manager planned a several course wine pairing dinner just for us with local Slovakian wines which were amazing. It was the perfect place, view, food and hospitality at the right time, highly recommend this hotel and restaurant, great value.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    10
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
12
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmette, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We are a family of four - 2 adults and 2 kids. We sent one night in Fortuna and really enjoyed it. The rooms are spacious, it's a charming small hotel. They have a nice restaurant across the street with outside seating and a very satisfying menu.
Breakfast was good. The staff is very helpful and friendly. Would definitely recommend this place -- excellent value.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Stayed here a week ago for one night with my family on our short trip around Slovakia. We booked the hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews, and we made a good decision. The hotel is located in Spišská Sobota - a nicely renovated historical part of Poprad full of renaissance buildings with a nice church from the 13th century.

The hotel is housed in 2 building just across the street from each other. We stayed in the newer part (Fortuna II) and had a nice spacious room. The bathroom was a little small and lacked toiletries, which would be nice to have.

In the main building there's also a wine cellar and fine restaurant, which also serves meals on a nice summer terrace with a lawn and a lot of flowers. The breakfast service in the morning was good, hot and cold buffet, even though the hot buffet (served a la carte) offered only scrambled eggs.

To summarize, this hotel is a good choice in Poprad. It's just off the highway, and close to Aquacity Poprad.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room in the newer part - Fortuna II, across the street from the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We've just returned from staying at Fortuna for 4 nights and we agree with the other reviews. This hotel is a real gem. Peter and his team are really friendly and welcoming, making the hotel feel like a home from home. We stayed in Fortuna 2 across the road and our room was charming, traditional in style and perfectly clean and functioning. The breakfast buffet has a really broad selection which should meet all tastes and the evening meals are fantastic- silver service but in a warm/ friendly manner. The area itself of Poprad is really picturesque and there are some other good restaurants nearby (Sakata) if you feel like a change from Fortuna. If you're considering booking here I wouldn't hesitate- I can't see how you could be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4 in Fortuna 2. It's perfect if you have a child as there is the main bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Our family stayed at Fortuna II for a week whilst we were on a skiing holiday to High Tatras in March 2012. Our hotel room was very spacious and clean, consisting of two areas so the children had their own space.

We found the service at this hotel to be impeccable, beating many a five star hotel and nothing was too much trouble for the friendly staff. All of the staff displayed a good command of English.

Considering we took the half board option, the quality of the food at Dinner was very high and the children were always offered something they liked. The portions were just about right to feed hungry skiers at the end of an active day. The food was mostly based on tasty Slovakian cuisine.

The wine list is extensive and the cellar is well stocked with local Slovakian wines.

The hotel is located in one of the nicest districts of Poprad (historical Spisska Sobota) and is just about walking distance from Aquacity but it is a long walk to the station (we took the taxi at 3Euro per trip).

The hotel manager runs this hotel with a friendly passion and great attention to detail and I hope that we will be able to return to this hotel once again in the not too distant future !

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

We stayed here for a couple of nights as part of a short trip through Slovakia and were pleased with our choice. The hotel is located in a historical area called Spisska Sobota and is about a 30min walk from the station (via a pedestrian underpass and some residential roads) although there are a couple of buses; I have to admit we didn't go into the new town centre but from what I read, if you're mainly visiting for the mountains and don't have time to kill, that's not the end of the world.

The hotel staff were all very welcoming and speak excellent English. Our second floor room was large and absolutely fine although had suffered a bit of a 'pine explosion' - think wood floor, furniture and ceiling. I would say that the bathrooms could do with a bit of an update, a fridge would be beneficial and as it was in the eaves, we didn't really have a view out of the rooflights but overall, the room was well presented and clean and certainly good value for money.

Breakfast was very nice each day and the staff will take orders for any cooked food you want. We also ate in the hotel's restaurant on our first night which I would recommend; it's a bit more expensive than your 'typical' Slovak restaurant but the food is also a big notch up and provides a modern twist on traditional dishes. The food was presented very nicely and the service was impeccable. We ate in the pleasant courtyard garden although the indoor section also looked cosy for a winter stay. It's worth noting that the Spisska Sobota area doesn't have that many restaurants; most are tucked away in hotels and were very quiet when we visited so options are somewhat limited but if you're not on too much of a budget, the Fortuna is a worthy option.

All in, a nice hotel in a lovely building with welcoming staff and a great restaurant. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms at the front have skylights only; first floor may be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

On our drive from Budapest back to Krakow, we decided to stop off in Poprad. Since this was the #1 rated hotel, we went ahead and stopped by. They had one room left so we went with it. We were very pleasantly surprised!

Our room consisted of a nice coat room right inside the door, a spotless (and big!) bathroom, a living area with a couch and tv, and a separate bedroom. For under 100euros a night, we were shocked!

The restaurant food was a little pricey but amazing and the chef even brought us out some soup 'on the house' with our starters. The service was great throughout the meal.

Overall, it was great and we wish we had been able to stay for more than one night!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boutique Hotel Fortuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Fortuna

Address: Sobotske Namestie 1768 / 43, Poprad 05803, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Presov Region > Poprad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Poprad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Boutique Hotel Fortuna 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have the pleasure to introduce you the Boutique Hotel Fortuna***. One of the most eye-catching hotels in the High Tatra mountains which is situated in the historically most precious part of Poprad called Spišska Sobota. The first written reference of Spišská Sobota dates back from the year 1256, and afterwards in the year 1950 was declared as the town's sightseeing centre. The best conditions for relaxing are created by the attractiveness of the silent surroundings and vicinity of the High Tatra mountains. (15km from Poprad). Our Boutique Hotel offers its services to business guests as well as to leisure travellers which all appreciate our comfortable accommodation and catering services. Our exceptional food combined with our friendly and professional staff ensures that your stay with us will be unforgettable Satisfaction of our guests is our priority and that is why, we are keeping basic principles like our smile, professionalism and courtesy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Boutique Hotel Fortuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boutique Hotel Fortuna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.