We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible- just stay away” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Danubius Health Spa Resort Esplanade

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Danubius Health Spa Resort Esplanade to your Saves list
Danubius Health Spa Resort Esplanade
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Winterova 29, Piestany 92129, Slovakia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Piestany
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Horrible- just stay away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is my fourth stay in city of piestany, I've always stayed at thermia palace, however this time I've decided for change to try baleanea palace. For sure it was a wrong decision! To begin with this hotel has several positive points:
Nicely located in front of big garden and green space, superior room was modern comfortable and newly renovated. Although phone was not working and wifi signal was weak.
On the negative side they surely have a problem with their staff! To begin with the reception staff: extremely rude, UN experienced staff with very poor language skills and very UN helpful and arrogant ! I asked the reception if they have any trips to Bratislava he said with anger: no go and search the net! I discovered later that the trips office just directly next to reception do arrange those trips .
Nursing staff are not the best as well and were UN capable of speaking any English and non cooperative as well.
The biggest crises was the dining room; worst food and beverage management I've ever seen. Bad on all aspects. Dirty table and spell over every where.Food was bad and had a cheap feeling, boufait was limited and repeated almost exactly the same every day! The worst selection of fruits and deserts, the worst cooked meals ,very very bad service and extremely disorganized , staff looked like trainees with no experience and some times with no manners as well. Refills never done on time, orders never filled on time, they often didn't even know what they were serving. Although the timings on the restaurant door announces that it is open yet long before the closing time you will find every thing empty and no thing left to eat.We spoke to the restaurant manager about the selection of food and he said yes we know about it !!! On a conclusion restaurant dirty and disgusting .
Speaking about medical treatments, I would say it is limited as we were not given some of it based on that we were staying less than 2 weeks.
As a result I found the place not really worth it . And the staff require plenty of training as their ruddiness is UN acceptable.
To add to it, late check out was not given despite availability and despite being a right for danubuis euro points card holder.
At the end the guest relation manager promised a discount for all the mess they caused for us but she didn't do any thing eventually.
Baleana palace never again. You would get much better option for 260€ a night. Just stay away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    27
    20
    6
    8
See reviews for
22
59
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

If you really want to spend a calm and relaxing holiday in spa, choose this hotel. It is nice, with very good food and staff, in the beautiful surrounding. You can enjoy the warm pool, homemade cakes, refreshing drinks and have a walk in the park, which is nearby. After a week or only a week-end, you will come back to the world in another mood - you will forget the other rushy world.... I highly recommend this hotel and Piestany generally.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpaPiestany, General Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Esplanade, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your nice feedback on tripadvisor. We hope to welcome you soon again to the Balnea Esplanade Palace Hotel here in Piestany. We are sure that you will also enjoy your next stay with us.

best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

After some time I again visited Balnea Esplanade Palace spa in Piestany with couple of friends and it was again very pleasant and relaxing experience. The Hotel management did few improvements in the hotel since my last visit ..New Pool Side bar was a great addition to the pool, they have very good selection of beverages and snacks, only the Shawrma chicken was not really a Shawrma but it was tasty. The breakfast, lunch and dinner buffets were also great, good variety of food and tasty as well. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel manager Mr. Bichler was around and personally look after the guests which was very nice touch. the room was spacious, clean and had all the amenities we needed. We loved the special home made sweets (strudla) it was excellent! we are planing to spend another weekend there very soon!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpaPiestany, General Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Esplanade, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for the postive respond on tripadvisor about the Balnea Esplanade Palace. It is a great motivation for us in order to meet our guest expectations.

looking forward to see you again soon in Piestany.

best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

i was there with my boyfriend, everything was perfect and so romantic. The hotel was nice, service very good.. we ate a lot.. breakfast, lunch and dinner were yummy. Staff is very friendly, Piestany is very beautiful city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpaPiestany, General Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Esplanade, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

it is always a big motivation for the team of the Balena Esplanade Palace to recieve such positive reviews. We will make sure that also your next stay with us will be outstanding one.

best regards

Kurt J. Bichler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We Yuri and Lidiya stay in room 345, we would were like to thank all staff for their hightes proffessional service also were been in this hotel last year and compete for this year we would like to express out gratitude to Mr. Kurt Josef Bichler for his proffessional management apart from that many thanks to waitresess to Mrs. Slavka Kesslova and Mrs. Helena Orviska, and to Mrs. Jana Cepcekova guest relation for very high professional and friendly services.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpaPiestany, General Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Esplanade, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Mr. Yuri,

i would like to thank you personally for your very positive and motivating review in tripadvisor. It was a great pleasure to have you and your wife as guests here in the Balnea Esplanade Palace and we hope to welcome you soon again here in Piestany.

warm regards

Kurt. J. Bichler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

It was our first stay at hotel Balnea Esplanade Palace. The rooms are modern, very comfortable and always clean. We really appreciated the high quality of all provided services, the professionalism of hotel staff, excellent treatments, tasty food and a wide selection of meals. We will recommend this hotel and come back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We had a fine week in the Balnea Esplanade Hotel in Piestany. Wellness and Health Spa are of good quality but limited in space. The hotel is a nice 4* plus Spa Resort with good cafe esplanade
, retro style night club and top quality buffet restaurants for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Do not miss the special BBQ night with live music on tuesdays.

Room Tip: Take rooms in the nicer Esplanade
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpaPiestany, General Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Esplanade, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you very much for the extra time you spent providing us with the feedback to your recent stay at our hotel.

The Balnea Esplanade is looking forward to welcome soon again

best regards

Kurt J. Bichler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Piestany hotels
0.5 mi away
Danubius Health Spa Resort Thermia Palace
0.4 mi away
Hotel Park
Hotel Park
#9 of 20 in Piestany
3.5 of 5 stars 15 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Maj Spa & Wellness
Hotel Maj Spa & Wellness
#2 of 20 in Piestany
4.0 of 5 stars 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sandor Pavillon
Hotel Sandor Pavillon
#6 of 20 in Piestany
4.0 of 5 stars 22 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Harmonia
Hotel Harmonia
#3 of 20 in Piestany
4.5 of 5 stars 3 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Boutique Hotel Sergijo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danubius Health Spa Resort Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danubius Health Spa Resort Esplanade

Address: Winterova 29, Piestany 92129, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Trnava Region > Piestany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Piestany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Danubius Health Spa Resort Esplanade 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Modern hotel complex located in the lush park area at the centre of Spa Island.•Directly connected to the impressive Balnea Health Spa, which offers a wide range of unique therapeutic and relaxation treatments.•Relax in the Water and Sauna World! Enjoy the indoor and outdoor pool as well as Finnish sauna, Infrared sauna and a steam room.•A hotel for all occasions - spa and wellness, conference facilities, sports activities, excellent cuisine and entertainment.•Treat yourself to a little time off in our Spa park, enjoy listening to birdsong under old trees, the tranquility of the thermal pools or the enclosure with peacocks and rare pheasants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Danubius Health Spa Resort Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Danubius Health Spa Resort Esplanade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.