We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid Pavla's restaurant like plague.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pavla

Save Saved
You added Hotel Pavla to your Saves list
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Pavla
Sad Andreja Kmeta 76, Piestany 92101, Slovakia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 23 hotels in Piestany
1 review
“Avoid Pavla's restaurant like plague.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

High season, restaurant half-full, one waiter, only serving daily menu, we got drinks after 30 mins, after soup and main course, I had to beg for them twice. Catastrophic food quality, all dishes we had (4 adults, 2 children) were frozen food, even pasta. 4(!) tables left without being noticed by waiter in half an hour.

My 4th visit in 4 years, pace of declining quality of services is amazing, unfortunately.

Go elsewhere, avoid this place.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
2
1
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed in this hotel a number of times and previously was a nice little hotel.
This trip I noticed the hotel public areas needing some freshening up and the one thing stood out when I entered the hotel was the smell of smoke. The roof top bar is a 'smoking bar' and the smell of smoke is even noticeable as you walk into reception. Perhaps as a non-smoker I am over sensitive, but it really put me off the hotel and going to the roof top bar.
Also, the restaurant seems to be run as a separate business to the hotel so you cannot charge drinks and meals to your room. The food quality is also down from previous trips.
Bathroom towels are small and seem very well used and in need of replacement.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Recently stayed at this hotel while attending a wedding in Piestany. Central location, Booked a suite which was very spacious with a great view of the river. Would recommend a visit to the roof top bar.

Room Tip: suite 308 overlooking the river is recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel whilst on a 'dental' holiday to Piestany. The room was spacious and clean with air conditioning. Fresh towels and room service was provided daily. Heavens Bar on the roof terrace was lovely for evening drinks overlooking the river. The breakfast although not a huge continental choice (croissants would have been nice) fresh things were cooked on request, in particular the omelettes were lovely. We had dinner one evening in the hotel restaurant and although a little pricey it was worth the extra for the delicious meal we had. Piestany itself is a lovely little town with great shops and bars and amazing for spa treatments. My husband had a foot massage at the hotel but would not recommend - the best massage was at the big hotel over the bridge. Slight negative but didn't affect our stay was the dirty worn carpets in the corridors. Overall a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunajska Streda, Slovakia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

After 4.5 years I went back to Pavla. The building looks nice like prevuiously but inside some surprices.
The carpet at the corridors is odd and dirty. Including the stairs. Definietly calls for change.
The standard in the room is O.K. Except the towels in the bath. It us clear that they are used since the hotel exist. Old and thin.
The receptionist is very polite and smiling. If you park you car close to the boiler house, she will ask you to move your car because it is dangerous and anyhow, reserved for the boss :-) I didn't understood which argument is more serious.
While waiting for taxi, next quest was checking in and asking for additional room for his daughter. The answer was: the last free room is reserved for the boss. We are not sure, if he will come. It was 20:00. Unbelievable argument.
It seems, the most valuated quest is the boss :-)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, CA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

This is a charming hotel with updated facilities. We had a room overlooking the river, with a large balcony. There is free wireless Internet, and a computer and printer in the lobby to print documents like boarding passes. The staff is very helpful.

Room Tip: A room on the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2008

Really nice hotel. Rooms are tastefully decorated and air-conditioned. Nice restaurant and rooftop bar is great to sit and watch the river.Plenty of local bars and restaurants to enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pavla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pavla

Address: Sad Andreja Kmeta 76, Piestany 92101, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Trnava Region > Piestany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 hotels in Piestany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Pavla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pavla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.