We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible- just stay away” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Danubius Health Spa Resort Balnea Palace

Danubius Health Spa Resort Balnea Palace
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Danubius Health Spa Resort Balnea Palace to your Saves list
Danubius Health Spa Resort Balnea Palace
4.0 of 5 Spa   |   Winterova 29, Piestany 92129, Slovakia (Formerly Balnea Palace)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Piestany
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Horrible- just stay away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is my fourth stay in city of piestany, I've always stayed at thermia palace, however this time I've decided for change to try baleanea palace. For sure it was a wrong decision! To begin with this hotel has several positive points:
Nicely located in front of big garden and green space, superior room was modern comfortable and newly renovated. Although phone was not working and wifi signal was weak.
On the negative side they surely have a problem with their staff! To begin with the reception staff: extremely rude, UN experienced staff with very poor language skills and very UN helpful and arrogant ! I asked the reception if they have any trips to Bratislava he said with anger: no go and search the net! I discovered later that the trips office just directly next to reception do arrange those trips .
Nursing staff are not the best as well and were UN capable of speaking any English and non cooperative as well.
The biggest crises was the dining room; worst food and beverage management I've ever seen. Bad on all aspects. Dirty table and spell over every where.Food was bad and had a cheap feeling, boufait was limited and repeated almost exactly the same every day! The worst selection of fruits and deserts, the worst cooked meals ,very very bad service and extremely disorganized , staff looked like trainees with no experience and some times with no manners as well. Refills never done on time, orders never filled on time, they often didn't even know what they were serving. Although the timings on the restaurant door announces that it is open yet long before the closing time you will find every thing empty and no thing left to eat.We spoke to the restaurant manager about the selection of food and he said yes we know about it !!! On a conclusion restaurant dirty and disgusting .
Speaking about medical treatments, I would say it is limited as we were not given some of it based on that we were staying less than 2 weeks.
As a result I found the place not really worth it . And the staff require plenty of training as their ruddiness is UN acceptable.
To add to it, late check out was not given despite availability and despite being a right for danubuis euro points card holder.
At the end the guest relation manager promised a discount for all the mess they caused for us but she didn't do any thing eventually.
Baleana palace never again. You would get much better option for 260€ a night. Just stay away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
4
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

It was our first stay at hotel Balnea Esplanade Palace. The rooms are modern, very comfortable and always clean. We really appreciated the high quality of all provided services, the professionalism of hotel staff, excellent treatments, tasty food and a wide selection of meals. We will recommend this hotel and come back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We have stayed in Balnea Palace during weekend, the place was quite over-crowded (maybe worth to note it was weekend after Valentine's), especially Restaurant & Wellness area.
This property is part of large complex of 4 hotels (Balnea Esplanade/Palace/Splendid/Grand; ~200rooms each!) which are sharing common Medical area (medical procedures) & Wellness area.
Building itself is kind of previous era style (complex was built in 60's to 80's), however rooms in Palace are quite renovated, clean, with free wifi (in rooms!) & LCD TV (TV signal wasn't the best).

Regarding Wellness area-if you chose off-peak hours (around lunch/dinner-time), there won't be so many people in pool (mostly outdoor part, where you will have even enough space to swim).
The same goes to Sauna world (3 saunas: Finish/Infra/Steam bath).
Medical center is organized the way you get exact time slot for your procedure.

What was the main issue in this hotel was dining & restaurant service. At first you have no-where to sit, then plates are missing, glasses are missing, no soup etc, even if you ask service for milk to the coffee it is not sure you'll get any. Every time you have to wait for something, either during dinner or during breakfast.
To manage that you have to be very patient and instead eating what you want just eat what is available at the moment. To sum it up - you' wont stay hungry, however don't expect culinary specialties.

In general I cannot recommend the place for full price (definitely not 4* service, mainly Restaurant). Anyway, if you get such a deal I did (130€/weekend for 2p, half-board & 3 medical procedures incl) you might be ok with poor dining.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

We've been to Piestany several times, always staying in the neighbouring Balnea Esplanade and so far had only very few complaints. Then we found this great online deal for Palace and thought - why not, let's try it. The standard package included 4* standard room, half board and 6 treatments for 6 days. All Danubius spa hotels are located on an island on river Vah in a park ideal for jogging. Golf and tennis are also available, however, we didn't try.

Our room was spacious and comfortable. Despite this hotel being a little bit cheaper than the 4* Esplanade, we found the rooms to be in a better shape - renovated quite recently. Beds had very nice hard mattraces which I particularly liked. You get a big fluffy robe to walk to your treatment rooms and pool area. There is a small TV with a reasonable selection of channels in various languages. I particularly liked the shower - a simple walk-in, no-tub corner with a rolldoor - size of a regular bath tub. Finally a shower in which you can actually move without touching walls or curtains.

As this is a medical spa (muscles and joints) and now yet quite a wellness facility, you should probably adjust your expectations accordingly. The treatment center is located between the two hotels (Explanade & Palace) and is accessible all via indoor corridors. They have done quite some renovations of the hydromassage & massage area which has now lovely wellness look and feel (jetted tubs include a changing colored lights), the mud-pack area and the hot sulfur pool still have an "old hospital-like" feel. One thing at a time I guess. Treatments are great, a deep tissue massage is a true deep tissue massage, hot mud and hot pools will relax your muscles and make you sweat a little - and many of these treatments are followed by a "dry wrap" - a 15-minute snooze wrapped in a blanket like a mummy. You can also book treatments outside of the main Palace/Esplanade area - either in an outdoor treatment house Napoleon or in the 5* Thermia Palace.

Four things I do not particularly like:
- food (goes for Esplanade too) - timeslots for breakfast and dinner are very restrictive and not very compatible with a relaxing vacation - breakfast must be finished by 9:30, dinners only between 18:00 and 20:00 which is a bit early; breakfast was always satisfactory, there are always various choices for dinner (you have to order a day in advance from a standard menu) but salad buffet gets boring after 3 days; don't expect a 4* food, but a reasonable average (there are some alternatives outside, such as restaurant Elizabeth between Esplanade and Thermia)
- little scheduling flexibility - you will have a very little say as to when you want to schedule your treatments; they are usually very busy as they have to accomodate the "light wellness" programs as well as "serious medical" treatment including many procedures; your appointments can be scheduled for as early as 7:20 am! But if they are not massively overbooked and you ask politely, they might move some appointments around for you. Same goes for additional treatments - it is not always possible to get all you want and it is usually easier to get extra treatments (in particular 1-hour massages) Monday to Friday. Limitations apply particularly during longer weekends and holidays - we stayed here last year during Easter and would never do it again
- overcrowded facilities - Indoor/outdoor pool as well as saunas are somewhat small for the capacity these two hotels provide
- not much to do for young people besides treatments - if you're looking for a swanky bar or hip coffee place, you will need to leave premises; hotel is set up to offer only "classy" services in a fairly old fashioned style

And one more thing - not putting it on the list of things I don't like because I'm used to it and not bothered but I thought it might be good to mention - sometimes you might get a feeling that the staff is not in their best mood or don't smile enough... It's nothing personal and it does not mean they are not going our of their way to serve you. It's just the way they are and if you treat them with smile and respect, they will surely return it.

We love coming back once a year and we will not hesitate come again next year. You get plently for your money.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2006

This resort is in Slovakia, one of several hotels connected to a huge spa on Piestany's "spa island".... This is one of those places we'll never forget. It was a cultural happening for spa-goers used to American and Western European amenities, as there is little English spoken, and the surroundings are distinctly different. The downside was that the hotel catered to non-English-speaking clientele (although we got the impression they'd like to attract more), so we couldn't really interact with the other guests very much. The few words we knew in German, French, Italian, and Spanish did us little good, but we muddled through with humor. It certainly was luxurious, restful, and fun. The waiters, hotel staff, and everyone important to a great stay made this visit a wonderful experience. The price was inexpensive, as the price of each night included half-board and a couple of spa treatments we enjoyed each day, including water spas, mudpacks and massage. Lots of chance for walking the gardens, and we walked to the little town each day for lunch.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Danubius Health Spa Resort Balnea Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danubius Health Spa Resort Balnea Palace

Address: Winterova 29, Piestany 92129, Slovakia (Formerly Balnea Palace)
Location: Slovakia > Trnava Region > Piestany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Piestany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Danubius Health Spa Resort Balnea Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Danubius Health Spa Resort Balnea Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Danubius Health Spa Resort Balnea Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.