We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel from the communist era and it still seems to be run by them.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolia Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Magnolia Hotel to your Saves list
Magnolia Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nalepkova 1, Piestany 92101, Slovakia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Piestany
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A hotel from the communist era and it still seems to be run by them.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

First, some of the pro's: clean renovated bathrooms (the only things that are renovated since the 70-ties). Free swimming pool. Free internet in the rooms if you bring your Ethernet cable. Parking in front of the hotel is 6 Euro per day. Good breakfast buffet (except the juices).
Now for the negatives:
The worst hard bed I slept in, with the flattest (one) pillow.. I had a double room for single use but it still was small. View on the river means sun and heat, however, the modern wall A/C by Mitsubishi was out of service.TV remote control was working but not matching the TV brand, I had to get up every time to change the channel or do any input on the TINY TV set. There is no way to darken the room (bring sleeping mask and earplugs). No concierge, no porter or doorman, no bell-boy, no staff to take the luggage out of the car, bring it up or down. Very outdated and faded elevators (2) and room furniture. These elevators have no inner door so watch out not to get caught or scratched. The hotel lobby and the entire building is in a total darkness at 10:30 PM. Restaurant serves lukewarm powdered drinks as "breakfast juice" (one red, one yellow). Payment for lodging is upfront and they want you out of the room by 10 AM.
All in all, this is definitely NOT a 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: The river view is hot and sunny. In any case, you'll get some noise on both sides as well as fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    0
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
3
4
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Wicken
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I booked into this hotel when travelling to the area for medical treatment. On arrival my Doctor's manager rang them to say that I was not well enough to stay there and could they please cancel my reservation - this conversation took place in their own language so it was quite clear. Imagine my horror when I got home only to discover that they had helped themselves to payment anyway! I have contacted them and they maintained they couldn't speak English so the agency then contacted them and they refuse to refund the money. I was told by the Clinic I was attending that it is an awful place anyway. Avoid it or you too might well end up ripped off!

Room Tip: Hotels in the area can not really be guaged by UK star rating.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brattleboro, Vermont
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

If you would like to enjoy the atmosphere of 80-ties in communist Czechoslovakia, you are on the good place. Horrible cuisine, better is to take a hot dog at the street. Dirty and small pool - the only proffesional in the hotel was photographer who made it's pictures. On the other hand -the hotel is in the centre, some rooms have nice view to the river, and toilets are renovated.

Room Tip: Ask for a view to the river, check the toilet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

A bit of old-fashioned, old furniture, beds, bathrooms, but they keep it clena. The reception staff was kind of slow, but helpful. Breakfast was fine, you can go for a swim, jaccuzzi, sauna...
Cheap average hotel, but I would go there again.

Room Tip: I could hear a next room person snooring all night.... I would prefer a room with a view of river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

I stayed here twice so I must have enjoyed my stay, I did, the view of river outstanding; we stayed 8 floors up and enjoyed sunning ourselves on the little balcony.
Language barrier meant we did not always get what we wanted, for example breakfast time: No menu on tables, on 2nd visit no hot food available, very hit and miss. One morning 1 choice fruit juice, then a client loudly complained and next morning 2 choices appeared and a plate of sweet biscuits! Our jaws dropped in disbelief when the man who had previously complained received a huge plate of scrambled eggs; on our first visit this was available for all in trolley, I attempted to explain the unfairness, and where were our eggs, all in vain, finally, it appears, if you go to the bar and search hard you may find a menu, on that menu you could order eggs, porridge etc for no additional cost, alas it was our last day when I discovered this so too late, the menu was hidden like a state secret.
The phone in room did not work, but there was a safe and cooler bar.
Decent shower etc.
Old hotel, looks like from 70s, lifts appear ancient. Stairs nice and wide and we made use of them to get in extra exercise.
You pay a euro to use pool each time, it was old, a little cold, but I was able to use it late in evening which was good, so I could swim alone in peace.
Got a good massage at hotel.
I would stay here again if I came, at least I now know the mystery of the disappeared eggs.
I got a good deal cos I was getting dental treatment; a mixed bag really.
Oh and internet broken! Oh and could not work the airconditioning and could not get help cos no maintanence after certain hour.

Room Tip: get a room over river, but beware the bottle skip gets emptied 6 am
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piešťany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Hotel was build in sozialistic aera in sixties past century.-4-stars is too much. Kitchen is good,
personel empatic, wellness average, parking outdoor.
Resumee: average hotel for average price.

Room Tip: Give a tip
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senec
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

My parents stayed for a week in this hotel. They do not recommend for anyone, It is far from 4* hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Magnolia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel

Address: Nalepkova 1, Piestany 92101, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Trnava Region > Piestany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Piestany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnolia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Magnolia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnolia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.