We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fanastic restaurant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Slovenska Restauracia

Slovenska Restauracia
ul 1 Maja 699, Liptovsky Mikulas 03101, Slovakia
044 / 5570 929
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Eastern European
Dining options: Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fanastic restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great food!. Massive portions! Cheap prices! Friendly staff!. you can even get the "menu of the day" for as little as 3 Euros! Go! Go! Go!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    10
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Starters and dessert were excellent!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

...but the main dishes were poor. Especially lamb was tasteless and a little bit chewy.

Even though the stuff did not speak that great english, at least they did try! Usually no one even wants to try or are just staring you and hoping for to understand.

I would go there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Slovak food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Brilliant traditional restaurant with great choices on the menu. The smoked pork knuckle was amazing - meat just falls of the bone, perfectly cooked and amazing smoky taste. Kapustnica (sauerkraut soup) was very nice too.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
159 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“good trout”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We ate here twice during our stay; the daily special is a very inexpensive meal, filling and tasty. The local trout was excellent; you pay according to the weight.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Decent, good value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

I recently went to the Slovenska twice, both times by myself. I was happy with it, but I wouldn't describe it as a great experience.

On both occasions I selected typical Slovak food - lamb steak served with noodles with sour cabbage on the first visit and a cabbage soup and ewe-cheese dumplings (pirohy s bryndzou). Only the dumplings were notable, but also not the best ones I had in Slovakia (you may want to try out the dumplings in Horský Hotel Orešnica near Račkova Dolina at the head of the trail leading to Ostry Rohac mountain some 30 km away from Liptovsky Mikulas - the best ones I ever had). The lamb steak was too hard and the soup was merely ok.

What was really good was service – the waiter was superfriendly.

Overall, probably you won’t regret going there, but do not expect a culinary feast of any sorts.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slovenska Restauracia also viewed

Liptovsky Mikulas, Zilina Region
Liptovsky Mikulas, Zilina Region
 
Liptovsky Mikulas, Zilina Region
Liptovsky Mikulas, Zilina Region
 

Been to Slovenska Restauracia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Slovenska Restauracia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.