We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boutique Hotel Chrysso

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Boutique Hotel Chrysso to your Saves list
Boutique Hotel Chrysso
Zvonarska 3, Kosice 04001, Slovakia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Kosice
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I've been there on business trip taking my wife for leisure as well. Hotel location is excellent - right on the walking zone but in side street. Design ogf the hotel is fabulous - beautifuly restored old building.
Rooms are cosy, shower instaled will be loved by men - big big rain head and spacous - and hated by women - fixed rain head:-( Nevertheless I can imagine to go here for honeymoon:-)
Only one thing is negative - no electricity outlets at the bed for charging your smartphone over night.
Staff is very, very friendly and helpful, breakfast buffett nice 4 stars.
If I am back in Kosice, this is the hotel where I would stay!

Room Tip: As for room to courtyard. Hotel is in the centre - over the weekend some alcohol-cherished people on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    9
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
7
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Basel-Stadt, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Good location, a few steps from the center. There is no car park on the hotel, since it is located on the pedestrian area. You can park in a public park nearby, but it did not look very safe. We booked two rooms, a double room (2 adults) and a deluxe room with extra bed (2 adults + 2 kids). On the arrival they mixed up the rooms and send the couple to the deluxe room and the family of four to the double room.... after caring all the suitcases around the hotel, we finally were allocated on the deluxe room as booked. But for our surprise there was no extra bed for the kids (although this was confirmed on our booking). We complain about this on the front desk, but the guy did not speak too much English. He nodded, but was clear that he was not understanding our problem. So, since we were staying there just for one night, and did not want to ruin our trip, we decided to solve the problem ourself... we used our duvets to cover the sofa and made a comfortable bed for our little ones. Anyway, we need to say that the Hotel is nicely decorated and that the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
324 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

A group of us stayed at the Penzion Chrysso while in Kosice in October. It is in a great location, just a minute walk from Hlvana street (the central area for activities in the old city). The rooms are comfortable although they vary greatly in size. The prices for the Penzion are very reasonable making it a great value for the money. The breakfast is not fancy but you can order different hot items along with the breads, pastries and cheeses that are out on the buffet. The staff can speak some English for those who do not have other languages. The staff were very friendly and worked to be helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostrava, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

When I visited this hotel, it was under construction. I have to check in, they gave me keys, and then I had to go outside around the block (about 300 m) with luggage, then on the first floor withou lift. The sleeping room was nice, but kitchen was terible and bathroom was very bad. In the bath romm was cold. Hot water wasn´t. Also curtain wasn´t close to whole window so the light from street was disturbing. The receptionist wasn´t much friendly. They promissed me reduction, but finally they give 5 € discount. I thought that this was just joke. This hotel also don´t have parking place so you have to park on the payed public parking place (about 300 m away). Maybe other rooms are more comfortable, but also the stuff is not much friendly and helpfull. Next time I rather pay more for night, but with higher standard.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasília, Brazil
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Nice hotel, confortable rooms, close to the station (walking), excelent bed and pillows!! Good value for the price. Stayed there for just few couple nights, and intend to go back. Lovely city. Didn´t get wifi at my room, last floor.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel, room beautiful and comfortable. Full breakfast with coffee, bread, fruit, yogurt, jams, eggs, omelets etc. Agile and friendly attendants.
Cons: wi-fi doesn't work well in room; check-out very early, at 11 am.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We rolled our luggage the 10 min. walk from train station, through pedestrian only area to Chrysso. Lovely place, through the arched entrance.Our first room faced into restaurant/courtyard with blaring music, pounding base. Requested room reassignment to quieter area. None available ):. Offered us a suite at same price!! Wonderful. Very quiet, very spacious. Extremely large bathroom, entered through very large arched custom glass door. Huge tub, bidet. Lovely. Such great service that we booked it again for our final night in Slovakia, following car trip to Zdiar where my husband's maternal family came from. Victor was especially helpful at Chrysso.

Kosice is well worth a visit with its brooding cathedral, large pedestrian area and wonderful musical fountain. We loved Chrysso and would surely stay again. But if you can't transport your own luggage by yourself a short distance, be careful. Taxi/car transport to the entrance is not possible due to pedestrian area. It' s really not a big deal if you can walk and wheel your luggage for a few minutes. Travel light! It makes life so much easier.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from courtyard restaurant speakers. Make sure you can handle your own luggage for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kosice hotels
0.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Kosice
0.1 mi away
Bristol Hotel
Bristol Hotel
#4 of 19 in Kosice
4.5 of 5 stars 81 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Zlaty Dukat
Hotel Zlaty Dukat
#10 of 19 in Kosice
4.0 of 5 stars 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Penzion Horse Inn
Penzion Horse Inn
#13 of 19 in Kosice
4.0 of 5 stars 24 reviews
0.6 mi away
City Residence Apartment Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel Yasmin Kosice
Hotel Yasmin Kosice
#3 of 19 in Kosice
4.5 of 5 stars 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Chrysso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Chrysso

Address: Zvonarska 3, Kosice 04001, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Kosice Region > Kosice
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Kosice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel Chrysso**** provides its customers the most valuable thing - an excellent price / quality ratio. Our guests deserve an exceptional experience and we are happy to arrange it. Luxurious rooms and apartments were created by combining high quality design, premium materials, pleasant colours and modern technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Boutique Hotel Chrysso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boutique Hotel Chrysso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.