We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite in Kosice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Zlaty Dukat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Zlaty Dukat to your Saves list
Hotel Zlaty Dukat
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hlavna 16, Kosice 040 01, Slovakia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Kosice
Saarbrucken, Germany
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“My favorite in Kosice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Very nice “Boutique Hotel” that I can definitely recommend.

I stay there regularly. The rooms/suites I get are typically huge and kind of stylish (red brick walls, open wood construction …) and very quiet as it’s directly at the pedestrian zone (hlavna). By walk you can reach some also nice restaurants and bars.

Internet in the room with cat 5 cable is very fast and for free.

Breakfast is ok and the staff exceptionally friendly.

Restaurant: I was there just once for a dinner but the food and the service was very good (but no draft beer). Sometime if you stay longer you even get a voucher for one dinner!

What I never tried was their cognac and wine club with an obviously very nice selection.

As mentions by others: no gym, small selection of TV channels – but this I personally wouldn’t use them during my visits.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    22
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
5
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Madrid Spain
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Had to stay there for a couple of nights as one of my other hotel was canceled.

So I wasn't expecting much but the hotel surprised me. The reception was very helpful and speaking very good English. the location could not be better , its right in front of the main street in kosice (not that Kosice is big anyhow).

The breakfast was really good and had many choices , what really surprised me was how large was the room , it was large , very close to american standards (so US travelers will be happy ;) !

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trnava
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Perfect beds, excellent cuisine!

Bad:
small rooms for families

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poway, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

My family and I were extremely happy with the family suite. It exceeded our expections. The suite was five star with a spacious floor plan, and an attentive English speaking staff. Breakfast was also enjoyable given the nice selection. At the location could not be better. It puts you in the center of Kosice which is a pedestrian throughfare with many sidewalk cafes, stores, park areas, historical sites, etc. to enjoy.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Düren
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

Kosice is located in eastern europe. a small but very cool city. old stuff and culture but very very charming with a lot of good restaurants. the hotel is located in the pedestrian zone of the city. Nice interior. The hotels is in an old building but they did a nice job renovating it and making it very fancy. Rooms are good, but beds were poor (2 small beds with less sleeping comfort). staff friendly, breakfast ok.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamburg
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

The zlaty dukat Hotel is named after the golden coin that was found when the cellar was excavated and restored. The Hotel is situated 300m from the gothic cathedral, and the opera house in a quite pedastrian area. The interiour is sophisticated modern. The dining room is a glass museum and houses the collection of old art nouveau glass pieces collected by the owner. The restaurant counts as one of the best in town. Breakfast and dinner is included in the room-rate. All staff-members speak English, and are extremely friendly.
Kosice will be the cultural capital in Europe in 2013. A great place to visit and relax.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

I travel to Kosice on a regular basis for business reasons - but also for vacation this city qualifies for a weekend trip. Altough the huge doubletree (hilton) reopened half a year ago this hotel and the bristol are still my favorites.
Room size: the rooms are way larger than in the other hotels. I hate it when I do not know where to put my suitcase, don't have a chair and desk to sit at and do some work....
Internet/phone: All rooms have free lan and wlan - internet works better/faster than in bristol (also free, but some rooms wireless only which often does not work). the doubletree charges you some 15euro per day. really bothering!
minibar: good prices, filled with water, coke, beer, snickers....totally sufficient
Con: the lighting in the rooms are odd. somewhat too dark.
Big Con: TV. One English news channel. Austrian MTV and German KIKA. Fantastic when you come to your room after a few beers and you can choose between ringtone commercials and "Bernd das Brot".
Staff: nice, friendly, never had a problem, wake up calls are personal and work every time
Breakfast: included but not as good as the bristol. doubletree charges - again!
Location: perfect. directly on hlavna - main shopping, traffic free road in the city.
Unfortunately some other Cons: no gym. doubletree has a small gym area. bristol has a wellness area in the basement - included for guests.
Restaurant: good food, but no one ever eats there. it's too far in the back of the hotel. bristol restaurant and bar is much nicer.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Zlaty Dukat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zlaty Dukat

Address: Hlavna 16, Kosice 040 01, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Kosice Region > Kosice
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Kosice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Zlaty Dukat 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Zlaty Dukat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Zlaty Dukat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.