We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Blues

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hostel Blues to your Saves list
Hostel Blues
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Spitalska 2, Bratislava 811 08, Slovakia (Staré Mesto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ghent, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Bratislava might not be on the number 1 spot to visit, but when you do, take this hostel. Really, you won't regret it. We went in february with 6 friends, so we had one room. In other hostels we didn't have our own bathroom and toilet, so it was nice to see our own bathroom over there.
As we are quite expierenced with hostels, and also sleep in airports with not lots of power, we decided to bring our own splitter, which was really helpfull. It might be bad to see, but every hostel is like this, you learn by travelling!

The staff is probably the best I have ever had. Every single person was helpful, and wether you just wanted information or just wanted to talk for like an hour with some beers, they will always do everything to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

The location is good, as Bratislava is small you just can walk to the old town in like 10 minuts. The train station (to take the train to Vienna, takes 1hr 10 mins) is also close, you can take a bus as indicated in the hostel, but we really just walked the distance (took 20 mins).
After all, it was a great stay, the cooking session (you cook traditional slovakian food with other travellers), the bar, the chill room and even the list of parties every day. On everything we asked there was an answer.
I'd like to say a big thank you to all the people making this trip so good. And who knows, we might meet again in the future!

Room Tip: We only woke up sometimes because of the clock, but we had ear plugs with us (again, expierence!). A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    87
    13
    2
    3
See reviews for
4
36
69
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The receptionist Helena is really helpful, introducing everything you need to see in Bratislava(which is not a lot…..). I lived in room London B, which has a really good view of the street, you can also see the castle. There were not enough sockets in the room for charging the phones. Like other reviewers, I don’t like the way they name their rooms for the major cities in the world. There is a big supermarket next to the hostel, which is convenient.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuevo Vallarta, Mexico
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Hostel Blues was an enjoyable place to stay. About 10 minute walk from Old Town and about a 20 minute walk from the major train station. Service was excellent and friendly. Included are a towel, linens, and a lock for your large locker. I had a 6 person room with private bathroom, but there were two toilets and shower right outside my door as well. Wi-Fi worked great since they have multiple routers throughout the building. Price was reasonable for the amenities. Bar and social area for common use. Couldnt figure out Bratislava's public trams but there was a stop near the hostel. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungannon, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed at hostel blues with a group of 9 friends! Had an amazing stay, the staff were excellent! Spoke fantastic English (big bonus!) rooms were very clean and spacious. Common room had wonderful ambience, for large groups. Very central, was a 10 minute walk from the old town and castle, and was also close to shops restaurants and bars. Would definitely stay again next time I'm in Bratislava!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Well located, great music, and very very cheap, but without lose quality, the hostel and the rooms are very clean, unfortunately they dont offer breakfast but they can recomend you, nice places to go to have it, or also to have dinner.
The guys working there are all very nice, friendly, funny, and helpful, as soon as you get there, it seems like you know them since months.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

One of the best backpackers i've ever stayed in. Perfectly located, great service and info about what to do. Clean and comfortable. If you are goint to bratislava i definitly recommend this hostel to a nice stay during your time in slovakia.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slovakia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Clean. Close to shops, old town, inexpensive restaurants. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The location is great. The room (we stayed in a double with ensuite) was clean, warm, and sunny. The only shortcoming was the mattress quality.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel Blues? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Blues

Address: Spitalska 2, Bratislava 811 08, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava > Staré Mesto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Blues 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hostel Blues reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Blues, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.