We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Prasna Basta

Prasna Basta
Zamocnicka 11, Bratislava 811 03, Slovakia
02 5443 4957
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 828 Restaurants in Bratislava
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Austrian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Prašná Bašta was recommended to us by our hotel. We only asked for somewhere that we could get "a quick bite", and were pleasantly surprised by what we found.

The food and service were great, the staff were helpful and spoke English, and the prices were very reasonable. We ended up going back the next day for more.

I would thoroughly recommend Prašná Bašta! I've given this restaurant five stars on all levels. While I don't think this is a 3-star Michelin restaurant, I think it deserves a very high rating considering the price, quality, location and service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    376
    302
    67
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

The staff was friendly and spoke some English. We ate dinner in the lovely garden. Best schnitzel we had on our trip.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Average...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We are staying for 3 nights in Bratislava and for our first night we decided to try this tradional restaurant. We based our decision on the good reviews this place has on TA.
First of all it is very easy to find the restaurant, from the main old town street, just make a right near the tower and straight ahead you find this place.
It looks bad, smells bad, and if not for the reviews on TA i would have never enter the place. They invited us on the terrace which is in fact a interior yard. Once again it looks preaty bad.
I dont know what cheap means but we had 2 stakes, 1 big water and 2 beers.... total - 50 euro. It is not very expensive but in all cases not a cheap dinner.The quality of the food is average, nothing more. 70 % of the dishes are international recipes - so this is not a traditional restaurant.
We waited 45 min for the stakes and then, around 25 min for the check, when we left the table was still full of plates.
So...... not the best expirience in Bratislava, for now.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful patio, good food, great beer.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Very relaxing atmosphere in centre of Bratislava. This restaurant offers great german hefe-weiss-bier and good quality food for reasonable price. Outdoor seating is just charming, quiet and chilling in a closed patio.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tasty, affordable meals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The only reason I didn't give this place five stars is because we weren't able to sit outside on a boiling hot night and the inside wasn't kept particularly cool. However, everything else was just as we wanted. The menu had variety, the service was relatively quick and most importantly the prices were very reasonable. We made the mistake of eating at a cafe on one of the main streets in the city and paid €25 for a couple of awful meals, while here we paid a little less and got two very tasty meals. It's not far from the main cafes anyway, so well worth finding. Sit outside if you can, when it's warm, but if you're not deterred by that sort of thing then this restaurant comes well recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prasna Basta also viewed

Bratislava, Bratislava Region
Bratislava, Bratislava Region
 
Bratislava, Bratislava Region
Bratislava, Bratislava Region
 

Been to Prasna Basta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prasna Basta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.