We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No 1 choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arcadia Hotel

Save Saved
You added Arcadia Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Arcadia Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Frantiskanska 3, Bratislava SK-811 01, Slovakia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 89 hotels in Bratislava
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“No 1 choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Hotel is on top location in Bratislava, in the quite corner just off the crowded tourist street/square in historical city center. Very friendly and helpfull stuff, exclusive spacious rooms with stylish furniture and decoration. It feels like living in a comfortable middle age with all modern appliances.
Do not miss the luxurious breakfast, this is always a treat and spare your time for hotel SPA. Indeed small but very cosy. I find the whirlpool best after hot steamy sauna. Do not be surpriced if there is no other guests. Rarely some guest visit hotel for SPA but for me this is a must at Arcadia.
Also ask for chocolate treats to wait for you in the room.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jana J, Manager at Arcadia Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your opinion and review. Hotel Arcadia enjoys location in a quiet cobble street however steps away from all the points of interest. Hotel Staff, spacious rooms and the unique architecture are the main reasons people find our hotel special.
We appreciate your understanding of our effort to combine the historic features with modern amenities and service. And the chocolate: we produce our own home and hand made collection for all choco lovers. Hope to have chance welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    209
    25
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
26
100
17
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

I really had no idea of what to do for Valentine's this year, no matter how much I loved my beloved. Then, from thin air, I had an idea: my One was 1/4 Slovakian, and never been to that country - so Bratislava it was! My folks stayed there back in '07, so that was our recommendation. I wanted something special, so I was a bit unsure... Up until I spoke with Mz. Romana Rajkovicova, who understood what two people madly in love need, and got us a nice view to the Castle! She also got us off the tourist trail, to a restaurant where usual people go, although most of the Arcadia's clients want no less than 5 star treatment - we are not like that, we like everything that is authentic, and beautiful, be it a 5 star hotel, or a 0 star shack in the middle of the woods. And the bellhop was so kind, as well! He is from Ghana, in West Africa, and he had so much stories to tell, for everywhom was willing to listen!... The surrounding area IS the old town, everything is a walking distance to go to.
Downsides: In our room, the climate control made the blades of the fan vibrate, which made an intrusive noise. Also, We would have wanted a blanket for two people, not two blankets for one person. Oh, and also, our neighbours had one unhappy small dog which barked through the night, interrupting us - and envious neighbours, who knocked on the wall ;)
But on the plus side, when you wake up from room 25, the first thing you see, is the castle rising over the rooftops, and I don't know anything that comes close to that in Bratislava...
All being said, if you visit Bratislava, you cannot go wrong with this hotel. You will agree as soon as you get out, and get yourself lost amongst the cobble roads in the old town.

Room Tip: for exquisite views from your bed, and for that "something else", pick room 25!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

A wonderful hotel. Architecture, interior design, staff all great. We had a wonderful room, but after the first night stay, we realized we could hear the water running in the pipes. We asked for a change that was immediately granted, with complimentary access to the spa, as means of apologies. Breakfast was not included, although for the price, it should have been. Hotel bar is ok, but expensive. Location is simply perfect.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Myself and my partner stayed at the Arcadia on a last minute whim to escape to Bratislava for New Years Eve (2013). We booked the hotel via booking.com and got a fantastic rate considering it is 5* and we weren't disappointed.

The staff were very knowledgeable and helpful making us feel welcome from the outset. It is centrally located so that seeing the sights and attractions of Bratislava is easy on foot with most attractions being within 15minute walk of the hotel. Our room was spacious, clean and very comfortable with a well stocked minibar and fruit bowl.

We didn't get to dine in the restaurant or use the spa as we were only in town for the NYE celebrations, but if they are anything like the rest of the hotel then they too would be worth trying.

The only downside to this hotel, was having to leave it so soon after arriving and it is quite possibly my favourite hotel now!

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

I didnt expect such friendly and helpfull staff because slovacs are very rare service minded.
Room was clean, nice furnished in retro style.
Breakfast was creative, different, with great slovac cheese from local farm, tasteful bread is even imported from Austria, coffee was good.
Location is very nice and practical.
I will recommend Arcadia to my business partners.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava Region, Slovakia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I have spent in the hotel in the past four years a lot of time. Our company is using it for accomodation, cellebrations and also business meetings. What is the most important difference to any hotel i have visited so far is, that everybody in the hotel takes care of the guests on extraodinary way. The staff is adapting feedbacks for improvements and is creating great atmosphere like being at home. The restaurant is very good, with great selection of wines. The only issue is with the parking in the front of the hotel, which is wery limited, but that is due to hotels possition in the center of the city - even here the hotel does its best and has parking in the undeground garage around the street. If someone wants to visit Bratislava, this is a good place to go - there is also high posibility to meet famous people in the bar, because arcadia is often used by them.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

The hotel is in an excellent almost romantic location, right in the downtown center close to the old church. Rooms are elegant and cozy, clean homey bathroom. I appreciated mainly the hotel's large wellness. Excellent welcoming service...and very good value for money. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Arcadia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcadia Hotel

Address: Frantiskanska 3, Bratislava SK-811 01, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bratislava
#3 Spa Hotel in Bratislava
#4 Family Hotel in Bratislava
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bratislava
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Arcadia Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Arcadia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcadia Hotel Bratislava

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arcadia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.