We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean,warm and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Michalska Brana

Save Saved
You added Hotel Michalska Brana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Michalska Brana
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bastova 4, Bratislava 81103, Slovakia (Staré Mesto)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 89 hotels in Bratislava
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Clean,warm and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

This is a lovely hotel in a very 'chitty chitty bang bang' looking side street, in pedestrian only area of the old town. There are restaurants, bars, shopping and markets all in easy walking distance but the hotel still feels miles away from any hustle and bustle. With the castle a short distance from the hotel, we managed to pack quite a lot in over a short period of time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    55
    7
    1
    4
See reviews for
6
97
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Super friendly and helpful staff, perfect location. Room was wonderful, clean, comfortable...I felt at home. The bed was soft with two giant pillows. I stayed in room 15 from Friday to Sunday. I heard some noise from the street but nothing that lasted all night into the wee hours of the morning. Very safe and secure although the ally leading to the hotel could be better lit. I would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Stopped here for one night on whistle-stop tour of Budapest, Bratislava and Vienna. Friendly reception, comfy room with good minibar and happy to discover breakfast was included in the price I paid. Nothing especially worthy of note but would have no problem coming back to this hotel if in Bratislava again, and would happily recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Grove, New Jersey
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The hotel sits on a quiet cobblestone street close to old town. We parked at a garage about five minutes away. We had to drag our luggage across the cobblestones and up a small incline to get to the hotel but there is an elevator for easy access to the upper floors. The rooms are modern and sleek but comfortable. The bathroom is spacious and clean. The women at the front desk couldn't have been more patient and helpful - everyone speaks english beautifully. Breakfast was good with a nice variety of food. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Located on a pedestrian or walking street along the old town square .The hotel is an old building but well renovated.
Our room was clean and nice.
The reception personnel were very helpful.
Breakfast was simple and good.If I return to Bratislava defiantly I will not even consider any other hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The hotel is located in the Old Town and the wall opposite the main door is covered in graffitti but don't be put off. The location is great for the city and the premises are great. Friendly reception staff. good rooms (which are doubleglazed for any sound problems and it has Air con) Breakfast basic but good. Nice garden at the rear. All in all a good choice.
Travel to Vienna is easy with the bus from Novy Most (centre-underneath bridge) for 12 euros return. Good and efficient. Bus station in Vienna is edge of town but right near easy to use and cheap Metro)
One recommended trip is Authenticslovakia.com. They took four of us around the city for over two hours visiting more 'out of the way places' from communist past. Nice young lad who was open to discussing anything about his countries culture, tradititions or lifestyle. They also arranged an airport transfer door to door in a nice Merc for 23 Euros for the four of us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I have absolutely no complaints about the hotel itself. The staff was friendly, spoke English and was very courteous and helpful. The hotel room was clean and comfortable with all the amenities you would expect and great security. The hotel location was right in the middle of the historical city center and as a tourist to Bratislava, the part that’s most interesting. But the location also created problems. There is no car access to this part of the city and the taxi driver had to drop me off a few blocks away. It was difficult to roll luggage on crowded cobble stone streets. The hotel is also right near all the restaurants and bars which were open and full of people until nearly 5 am. I could hear the music all night long. My hotel fee included a breakfast but breakfast wasn’t being served until 8 am, which didn’t help me since I had to check out at 7 to catch my train. The receptionist was nice enough to make me a cup of coffee. None of the nearby coffee shops, not even Starbucks were open for breakfast until 8 am either, which is not surprising since people didn’t leave bars until just a few hours before. I had a room on the 3rd floor, it was a great room with two very comfortable single beds. But the room is in a converted attic with a gabled roof. It’s a good thing that I’m petite in stature. Anyone above average height would only be able to walk in the middle of the room. Over all it was a great stay with a few buts.

Room Tip: If you're a tall person (above 5'8"), make sure you don't have a room on the 3rd fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Michalska Brana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Michalska Brana

Address: Bastova 4, Bratislava 81103, Slovakia
Phone Number:
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava > Staré Mesto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Michalska Brana 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Michalska Brana is located in a very quiet street of the pedestrian zone of the Old Town, Bastova Street 4. Bastova Street is considered to be the narrowest and most romantic street of Bratislava. Street itself tells many stories. It was built in 13th and 14th century and in medieval age and for centuries it used to be famous for being a home of the city hangman. His house was demolished and replaced with a new baroque building in the middle of 18th century right facing the property of our hotel. Hotel Michalska Brana is neighboring to majority of embassies and also therefore our location is very safe. All sights on hand - we are only a 1 minute walk to nearby Saint Michael’s Gate, cafe and entertainment Michalska Street or medieval Kapucinska Street, just about a 5 minute walk to the Opera or Presidential Palace. The nearby Bratislava Castle you can reach in 20 minute walk, which is a time you need to get to Danube River too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hotel Michalska Brana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michalska Brana Hotel
Michalska Brana Bratislava

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Michalska Brana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.