We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel in Bratislava” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Michalska Brana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Michalska Brana to your Saves list
Hotel Michalska Brana
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bastova 4, Bratislava 81103, Slovakia (Staré Mesto)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 90 Hotels in Bratislava
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A great hotel in Bratislava”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The hotel is located in the Old Town and the wall opposite the main door is covered in graffitti but don't be put off. The location is great for the city and the premises are great. Friendly reception staff. good rooms (which are doubleglazed for any sound problems and it has Air con) Breakfast basic but good. Nice garden at the rear. All in all a good choice.
Travel to Vienna is easy with the bus from Novy Most (centre-underneath bridge) for 12 euros return. Good and efficient. Bus station in Vienna is edge of town but right near easy to use and cheap Metro)
One recommended trip is Authenticslovakia.com. They took four of us around the city for over two hours visiting more 'out of the way places' from communist past. Nice young lad who was open to discussing anything about his countries culture, tradititions or lifestyle. They also arranged an airport transfer door to door in a nice Merc for 23 Euros for the four of us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    58
    7
    1
    4
See reviews for
6
99
26
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I have absolutely no complaints about the hotel itself. The staff was friendly, spoke English and was very courteous and helpful. The hotel room was clean and comfortable with all the amenities you would expect and great security. The hotel location was right in the middle of the historical city center and as a tourist to Bratislava, the part that’s most interesting. But the location also created problems. There is no car access to this part of the city and the taxi driver had to drop me off a few blocks away. It was difficult to roll luggage on crowded cobble stone streets. The hotel is also right near all the restaurants and bars which were open and full of people until nearly 5 am. I could hear the music all night long. My hotel fee included a breakfast but breakfast wasn’t being served until 8 am, which didn’t help me since I had to check out at 7 to catch my train. The receptionist was nice enough to make me a cup of coffee. None of the nearby coffee shops, not even Starbucks were open for breakfast until 8 am either, which is not surprising since people didn’t leave bars until just a few hours before. I had a room on the 3rd floor, it was a great room with two very comfortable single beds. But the room is in a converted attic with a gabled roof. It’s a good thing that I’m petite in stature. Anyone above average height would only be able to walk in the middle of the room. Over all it was a great stay with a few buts.

Room Tip: If you're a tall person (above 5'8"), make sure you don't have a room on the 3rd fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Hotel is nicely furnished, rooms are smaller but very nice, great bathrooms.
Great breakfast is served buffet style every morning.
Location is perfect for access to historical sites and restaurants, but there is no direct car access. You have to walk short distance to the hotel.
Staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My wife, one year old daughter and I stayed at the MB for one night in September of 2013.

Location: At first glance, the location is excellent as it is 50 feet from St. Michael's Gate and many shops and restaurants. The location is horrible when it comes time to sleep. The adjacent night clubs play very loud music well into the next morning. This made sleep very difficult. I suggest bringing ear plugs if sleep is a priority.

Room: The room was spacious, modern and very clean.

Service: The service was minimally helpful. E.g., I requested a late check out (1 hour) from two different people working at the front desk the day before check out to accommodate my daughter's nap the following morning. Both told me "no, this is impossible." I offered more money and asked about other options but the staff were unwilling to negotiate or offer suggestions. This was an unpleasant first.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Location is perfect, ladies in the reception are very nice, helpful. Breakfast is variable and good in range. rooms are very comfortable, clean, newly and modern decorated. ı would recommend every traveller to this hotel.

Room Tip: we stayed at second floor which has a view of front street as i remembered it was number 21.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I enjoyed staying in this hotel. The location is absolutely perfect. Right in the middle of the Old Town, which is my favourite part of Bratislava. The room is spacious and clean. Breakfast is really good. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slovakia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Nice small hotel in the heart of the old town.We were staying in Executive Studio for 5 nights.It's modern,nicely decorated,spacious,very comfortable and cosy.
Staff was very friendly and helpful.
We will be definitely staying here again.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Michalska Brana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Michalska Brana

Address: Bastova 4, Bratislava 81103, Slovakia
Phone Number:
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava > Staré Mesto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Michalska Brana 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Michalska Brana is located in a very quiet street of the pedestrian zone of the Old Town, Bastova Street 4. Bastova Street is considered to be the narrowest and most romantic street of Bratislava. Street itself tells many stories. It was built in 13th and 14th century and in medieval age and for centuries it used to be famous for being a home of the city hangman. His house was demolished and replaced with a new baroque building in the middle of 18th century right facing the property of our hotel. Hotel Michalska Brana is neighboring to majority of embassies and also therefore our location is very safe. All sights on hand - we are only a 1 minute walk to nearby Saint Michael’s Gate, cafe and entertainment Michalska Street or medieval Kapucinska Street, just about a 5 minute walk to the Opera or Presidential Palace. The nearby Bratislava Castle you can reach in 20 minute walk, which is a time you need to get to Danube River too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Michalska Brana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michalska Brana Hotel
Michalska Brana Bratislava

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Michalska Brana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.