We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“boutique hotel in the heart of old city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Michalska Brana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Michalska Brana to your Saves list
Hotel Michalska Brana
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bastova 4, Bratislava 81103, Slovakia (Staré Mesto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 92 Hotels in Bratislava
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“boutique hotel in the heart of old city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Location is perfect, ladies in the reception are very nice, helpful. Breakfast is variable and good in range. rooms are very comfortable, clean, newly and modern decorated. ı would recommend every traveller to this hotel.

Room Tip: we stayed at second floor which has a view of front street as i remembered it was number 21.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    65
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
9
109
29
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I enjoyed staying in this hotel. The location is absolutely perfect. Right in the middle of the Old Town, which is my favourite part of Bratislava. The room is spacious and clean. Breakfast is really good. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slovakia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Nice small hotel in the heart of the old town.We were staying in Executive Studio for 5 nights.It's modern,nicely decorated,spacious,very comfortable and cosy.
Staff was very friendly and helpful.
We will be definitely staying here again.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed in this hotel one night. The location is very good - in the historical center of Bratislava. All you need as a tourist is just minutes away. And I wouldn't advise to stay at the other districts. The breakfast was delicious and for any taste. We liked a lot the reception's team - they were kind. I didn't regret my choice to stay in this hotel. I recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount, Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely, small hotel in a perfect location for exploring Old Town Bratislava. At the reception desk, Susan was most kind and helpful with all our questions and requests. The room was quite comfortable and clean. Breakfast was basic, but sufficient. It was quiet during our weekday stay. From the hotel, we walked to all the sites and restaurants in Old Town. Also, we arrived by train and walked the 15-20 minutes with our roll suitcases to the hotel. Would definitely recommend to others and stay here again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We spent a long weekend without kids in Bratislava which is a great, quiet and historic getaway and we decided to book this small hotel in the heart of the old town. We were NOT disappointed. The hotel is clean, staff kind and the location is the best in all of Bratislava. You are in the heart of everything there is to visit as the town outside the old city is not very attractive. We could walk to everywhere, the pedestrian streets and squares were animated, the cultural offering was sublime (we happened to walk straight into a Festival of 35 choirs from around the World) and Michalska Brana was the perfect place to retreat for a quick nap or rest. Rooms were modern and esthetique and the breakfast was full and delightful. We'd stay here again when we come back.

Room Tip: On hot Saturday evenings some party noise from the streets must be foreseen, but this is a small pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Nice little hotel right in the centre of the old town. Very pleasant and helpful staff, and the room was great. The breakfast was a little disappointing, not much variety, but all in all the place was lovely. I only stayed for one night, a Saturday, and I was surprised there were not many people out and about in the streets!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bratislava hotels
Staré Mesto
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
#10 of 92 in Bratislava
4.5 of 5 stars 738 reviews
Skaritz Hotel & Residence
#8 of 92 in Bratislava
4.5 of 5 stars 317 reviews
Staré Mesto
Marrol's Boutique Hotel Bratislava
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercure Bratislava Centrum
#18 of 92 in Bratislava
4.5 of 5 stars 956 reviews
Staré Mesto
Ibis Bratislava Centrum
Ibis Bratislava Centrum
#28 of 92 in Bratislava
4.0 of 5 stars 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Michalska Brana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Michalska Brana

Address: Bastova 4, Bratislava 81103, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava > Staré Mesto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Michalska Brana 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Michalska Brana is located in a very quiet street of the pedestrian zone of the Old Town, Bastova Street 4. Bastova Street is considered to be the narrowest and most romantic street of Bratislava. Street itself tells many stories. It was built in 13th and 14th century and in medieval age and for centuries it used to be famous for being a home of the city hangman. His house was demolished and replaced with a new baroque building in the middle of 18th century right facing the property of our hotel. Hotel Michalska Brana is neighboring to majority of embassies and also therefore our location is very safe. All sights on hand - we are only a 1 minute walk to nearby Saint Michael’s Gate, cafe and entertainment Michalska Street or medieval Kapucinska Street, just about a 5 minute walk to the Opera or Presidential Palace. The nearby Bratislava Castle you can reach in 20 minute walk, which is a time you need to get to Danube River too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Michalska Brana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michalska Brana Hotel
Michalska Brana Bratislava

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Michalska Brana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.