We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, excellent service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Michalska Brana

Save Saved
You added Hotel Michalska Brana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Michalska Brana
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bastova 4, Bratislava 81103, Slovakia (Staré Mesto)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 89 hotels in Bratislava
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location, excellent service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We were staying in this hotel just for one night. The location is right in the middle of the old town a few seconds from Michalska brana. The reception staff are very friendly and polite and the room was very modern with a really comfortable bed! I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a short stay in Bratislava.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    54
    7
    1
    4
See reviews for
6
97
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hertfordshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Hotel is located in a lovely cobbled street. Room was modern and comfortable.Breakfast is adequate.They make your coffee fresh when you come down but somehow were unable to produce more than luke warm drink.The hot water provided for tea was also not often hot enough.This is my only minor complaint and would highly recommend staying here if you want to be in the old town. One last thing to consider is your room position as our room 25 was not good on a Saturday night when disco opposite is thumping until 3 in morning.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from club opposite.room 25 noisy on Saturday night
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We recently stayed at the Hotel Michalska Brana for three days. We had a studio apartment on the third floor. The room, kitchen, bathroom and small lounge area are nicely decorated and more than big enough for two people. The girls at reception were very friendly and helpful. A pity that the selection at the breakfast table was so small. The coffee also need some taste improvement.
However, I would recommend this hotel and our room (32) specifically for people that are there for a longer stay and would like to make their own food.
The Christmas market is within walking distance of the hotel as well as other shopping centres in town.

Room Tip: Room 32 is a large apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Should have read the room tips on tripadvisor and/or asked for a quiet room but we wanted the suite (room 16 I believe) and then paid for it with disco music until 2-3am on the weekend.

We also found the bath with detachable shower and no curtain / barrier to be odd and messy, and the sliding door and stairs to get to the toilet is a general hassle / additional noise factor at night.

The rooms are well appointed in a modern style, and the location is fantastic. Breakfast is very basic but to be expected for this hotel class. Didn’t see much of the staff so can’t opine on this point.

Room Tip: avoid room 16 I think - the one by the disco, at least on weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for three nights early November, the hotel has an excellent and enviable location in the heart of the old town. Our room, number 16 was very well appointed, large bedroom, sitting room, bathroom and kitchenette, kettle and fridge included, everything you could need. Breakfast was ok, fresh and plentiful and as the hotel is so small you get a very personal service. However two things that badly let the hotel down, the wifi is terrible, as mentioned a small hotel so you would have thought it would cover everywhere, our room was directly above reception and the wifi was not available, I don't want to sit in reception to access anything online. The next 'however' is the big one, the bathroom had a bath with shower attachment over, very good pressure in the shower but there was no curtain or screen, the bathroom floor became very wet and very slippery, my wife gave up and had baths, I had showers sitting down, very strange and very disappointing.
There are some great bars and restaurants very close to the hotel and we thought that they were very reasonable, our favourite was called 'Wolker', left out of the hotel, first right, first left and its the first bar on the left, one night there we had two meals, two deserts, eleven drinks, the bill was thirty seven Euro, bargain and the local beer is lovely.
The hotel was easy to find, 90 cents each on the bus, you do need to change buses but we were in the hotel 40 minutes after leaving the airport.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Michalska Brana for 3 nights recently. You walk through the ancient doors to discover a beautiful boutique hotel with unique style and fabulous service!!! The building itself is hundreds of years old, but brought bang up to date. We had a room on the 2nd floor and it was surprisingly large. Had a large bed which was really comfortable, lots of room to hang clothes, a fridge, flat screen tv and huge windows on one side! The bathroom was huge - with the biggest walk in shower I have ever used!!! I loved the breakfast room which looked like an old cellar and was decorated with old photos of Bratislava pasted all over the walls. There were the usual choices for breakfast and a choice of hot cooked food - individually cooked which was a great touch. You could have as much tea or coffee as you liked and anyone who moans (from a previous review) because they had to get up and get their own milk from a jug needs to get a life!!! The staff were fantastic - there was great communication between the girls on reception and even tho we left to go to Vienna for a few days, they had remembered to book a taxi for our trip back to the airport when we arrived back 4 days later!!! The location was just fabulous - on one of the oldest and narrowest streets in Bratislava just a few steps away from the main street in the old town. Everything was walkable - from the old town squares, opera house, the Danube, the Cathedral, the castle - just absolutely beautiful sights everywhere. Food and drink were fairly inexpensive and most waiting staff in restaurants and bars were very friendly. All in all, a lovely boutique hotel with amazing service in a fab location - why stay anywhere else???!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back as it's quieter there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Hotel ordered a taxi for us which took us straight to the hotel - located in the centre of the city - rooms very comfortable - would recommend the hotel - great restaurants near by - good breakfast.....................................................................

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Michalska Brana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Michalska Brana

Address: Bastova 4, Bratislava 81103, Slovakia
Phone Number:
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava > Staré Mesto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Michalska Brana 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Michalska Brana is located in a very quiet street of the pedestrian zone of the Old Town, Bastova Street 4. Bastova Street is considered to be the narrowest and most romantic street of Bratislava. Street itself tells many stories. It was built in 13th and 14th century and in medieval age and for centuries it used to be famous for being a home of the city hangman. His house was demolished and replaced with a new baroque building in the middle of 18th century right facing the property of our hotel. Hotel Michalska Brana is neighboring to majority of embassies and also therefore our location is very safe. All sights on hand - we are only a 1 minute walk to nearby Saint Michael’s Gate, cafe and entertainment Michalska Street or medieval Kapucinska Street, just about a 5 minute walk to the Opera or Presidential Palace. The nearby Bratislava Castle you can reach in 20 minute walk, which is a time you need to get to Danube River too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Michalska Brana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michalska Brana Hotel
Michalska Brana Bratislava

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Michalska Brana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.