We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing bad !” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Film Hotel

Save Saved
You added Film Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Film Hotel
Vysoka 27, Bratislava 811 06, Slovakia (Staré Mesto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 90 Hotels in Bratislava
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Nothing bad !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I was in beautiful and cosmopolitan Prague but wanted something else so I took the train and went to Bratislava. Day and night difference with Prague. Very small old town, new town had mostly shops still in Soviet style, no international brands etc...
Nightlife during the week almost zero. But that also has it charms however the country and city is not very interesting and beautiful. I feel sad to say so because I do not want to do harm to its people but even they say the same... So OK for one night but for me not more, I was happy to go back to Prague for the remaining days of my trip.
The hotel is right next to the main shopping street but in a more quiet street. So very good location. Everything is more or less inspired by movies and their stars so you will find many pictures, names and statues of film related things. They have a popular bar and restaurant as well. Reception was very good and I think students were working their, wo were fluent in English and their customer service was perfect. Rooms were very clean but less inspired than the ground floor bar and restaurant with only the name of an actor at the door and inside two old pictures of that actor. Breakfast is extra at 3,5 Euro. I paid 60 Euro for a single room. Bratislava, although not very popular by tourists, has rather high hotel prices !!
The room was very clean but very classic style, under the roof. So nothing bad at all !
I hope for the poorer SLowakian people the future will be better and more tourists to come to Bratislava but then the government has to change a lot...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    20
    18
    3
    3
See reviews for
4
27
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Good hotel for business travel or city trip. The location is amazing both for a people with rented car and for one using public transport as well. Also, there is about 10-15 minutes walk until the Old City center. Big shopping street is around the corner.
In a hotel you will meet friendly staff. Very basic but acceptable breakfast. The rooms are modest but nice and clean. We found our room romantic enough. However, we suffered a bit from noises during the night. Drunk and happy crowds of tourists walked through the street :) Also, the hotel havn't elevator, and the upstairs may become a nightmare for elder, too tired or disabled people.

Room Tip: Not the first and not the last floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I spent 3 nights in the hotel. The location is perfect, in the center of the city. Rooms are modest, but clean. I did not spend a lot of time in the hotel, basically I was just sleeping there. Service was excellent both on the reception desk and in the restaurant. I can recommend for a short business trip. Inexpensive, good sleep quality, wifi in the room, that was all I needed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bray
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

New guy at reception couldn't have been more helpful. Stayed in room 2 (brigitte bardot). Good size room, nothing about the place was particularly bad or particularly brilliant. We were only staying one night on the way back from Eastern Slovakia so as a place to lay our heads it was pretty good. Lack of shower curtains was a bit weird, but otherwise bathroom clean and decent. We were gone early so I couldn't rate the breakfast. Again, they were helpful in the morning and sorted out a taxi to the airport for us (€13 , not too bad) really quickly. Wifi worked fine. I don't know if It's the kind of place for a long stay, but it did the job for our needs. Two major positives about the place were the location (stone's throw from the old city & all the good spots) and the price. Got a very good deal of €70 for 3 people, although I think it's usually a bit more than that. All in all, not amazing but not bad at all.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights and our room was not cleaned once.
We just about had enough toilet paper to last the visit, and luckily always hang our towels up to dry. We had to take the bags of rubbish we accumulated out ourselves to the street.
We stayed in Room 2 (Brigitte Bardot) and it was fine - there are actually 2 bedrooms which we had'nt realised, one with a single bed in it. The double bed was good quality, no complaints there.
There was a TV but no channels in English plus it made a vibrating noise when turned on which was pretty irritating. There were 2 fridges but one didn't work - but there was no sign or anything to let you know so we had to throw out the small food items we put in there on the first night.
The bathroom, as others have mentioned, had no shower curtain - and also had no way to hang the shower up, you had to hold it by hand. This was really bad. Actually to avoid destroying the entire bathroom you had to sit down in the bath and shower yourself. Not so good for my 6'2 husband.
The breakfast was included with the room but it wasn't great - tea/coffee, 2 slices of toast, 2 slices of cheese and 1 of horrible fake ham, some butter and jam. Also people are smoking as breakfast is served in the bar and there is no non-smoking area. The bar was expensive and they had no beer on tap. The staff were pleasant no complaints there.
The location is great very central - but also very noisy at night, plus the tram noises start at 4.30am. The wireless internet was perfect altho my husband did have to go and reset it one night! Also there are no staff there at night from about 11pm, so do not lose your keys or you are on the streets for the night!
Overall I would not recommend the hotel. But then again I wouldn't really recommend Bratislava as a destination either...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2008

You know, I'm always skeptical of reviews with one star, because it seems mostly that folks take one thing and blow it out of proportion, that's why this has 2 stars, even though there isn't much good I can say about the Film Hotel.
Starting with the good: The hotel is relatively central, i.e. you can walk everywhere in old town, as it's a small old town surrounded by a not very interesting belt of high-rises from the Soviet era. It's small, i.e. less same-old same-old. The entrance is welcoming.
As you head up the creaky narrow dark winding staircase the foreboding begins. The room is relatively large shows sign of wear, is sparsely furnished, but has a modern tiled bathroom with bathtub, but unfortunately no shower curtain. It was a nice day when we arrived, about 20C in temperature, but the room was really hot and stuffy. We thought: "hey, no problem we put on the big airconditioning unit when we get home tonight."
That night we came home to find that not only was it even hotter in our room, but also it smelled like old french fry oil. Apparently the bathroom fan is directly connected to the kitchen of the restaurant. Horrible. The air conditioning unit of course didn't manage to cool down the room (a problem we heard from the two other couples that we knew and staid in the hotel as well) and so it was a noisy, hot, smelly night. We tried to change rooms, but the hotel was fully booked and so we checked out and I have to admit that the front desk staff was correct in the way they handled the situation. They knew the smell issue (apparently our room is the only one that has it, Room 5: Julia Roberts), gave a 10% discount on the room and no cancellation fee. By luck we found and and stayed for Euro 30 more at the Michalska Brana hotel the next night, which was fabulous.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, bathroom
  • Disliked — smell, heat
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2007

The Film Hotel is a very nice little hotel in a great location in Bratislava's centre. Though it doesn't offer anything fancy in terms of perks, it is totally functional and is an amazing value. I stayed on the top floor with the shared bathroom. Sharing posed no problem and the bathroom was nice (though the toilet would be very difficult for people taller than 6 ft), but the couple sharing the floor with me smoked excessively in the hallway and I couldn't keep the smell out of my room.

The good: Location, cost, breakfast, cleanliness.

The bad: Unfriendly staff (English/Slovak speaking and rude in both languages).

  • Liked — Location, cost
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Film Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Film Hotel

Address: Vysoka 27, Bratislava 811 06, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava > Staré Mesto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsClick and Odigeo so you can book your Film Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Film Hotel Bratislava

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Film Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.