We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Art Hotel William

Save Saved
You added Art Hotel William to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Art Hotel William
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Laurinska 17, Bratislava 811 07, Slovakia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 90 Hotels in Bratislava
bristol
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

stayed here on first night of our backpacking honeymoon.

its a modern hotel which is difficult to find and actually situated inside a shopping mall(!). We asked them to pick us up from the hotel but they forgot and left us stranded at the airport. That said, the price was the same as the taxi we ended up getting and they did leave us a nice bottle of wine and some fruit in our room (probably hastily put together).

The room was on the top floor and came with double doors that led out to a roof terrace which was really nice. The room itself and bathroon were spacious and came with a minibar, safe and plenty of storage.

the lift is activated by the room cards which can lose their charge, we got stuck in a lift and had to phone the reception to let us out so prob best to use the stairs! Breakfast was down on the first floor and there was plenty of choice and the food was pretty good.

the best thing about the hotel is probably its location in the old town, a nice music bar a few doors down and really easy to get about to everything. We were really impressed with Bratislava, it has so much to offer and no sign of the british stag do's we were worried about.

Room Tip: email them and ask for a good room, they're generally pretty good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    98
    15
    5
    1
See reviews for
14
85
19
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Loved the place! Its conveniently located in the (old town). I'd say its walking distance to almost all attractions. I do have to admit that its a little hard to find, but that wasn't a problem. Breakfast was ok, nothing special. Staff about the same.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The Hotel Art William is in a great location in the centre of Bratislava, within easy walking distance of the main sights and restaurants. The rooms are comfortable, clean and well appointed. The site above a shopping mall does make it difficult to find and there is no bar or restaurant, so you have to go out to eat. Breaksfast was poor with a limited selection and much of the food seemed stale - the fruit salad was blackened around the edges two mornings in a row!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is definitely a boutique hotel, located in a small upscale mall. The location makes it tough to find, and it is a long walk from the parking garage, especially if you have any bags to carry. Once you get sorted, the location is brilliant, right on the edge of the Stare Mesto (Old Town). The rooms are very well appointed, with plenty of space, and very clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. All in all, a good spot in central Bratislava.

Room Tip: There is parking in the residential area east of Sturova, free on weekends, and after 4pm weekdays...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarragona, Spain
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Actually... the first night was the worst I had in a hotel in a long time. The AC was not working properly... and the noise was making impossible to sleep. Turning the AC off was not an option since the temperature outside around 22:00 was well above 30 degrees.

Around 5 am I decided to walk away, and talked to the receptionist about the problem with the AC. She confirmed that one technician would be checking on that at 8:00. Nobody told me anything during the day.

Hopefully, the second night was better (slovakian beer together with ear taps helped a lot)... When checking out the recepcionist told me that the technician had actually solved the problem by setting the AC to auto.... Well...

Without the AC incident my opinion about this hotel would be much more positive (rooms are great, bed is excellent,...) but the inability to properly address this issue makes the low rate deserved.


Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We spent one night at this hotel. When we arrived to Bratislava (old Town) we asked a number of people around the Old Town (who appeared to be locals) and nobody seemed to know this hotel. Eventually, we did find it and it was a surprise that it is actually quite great location and very close to the Old town and pedestrianized areas. The Front Desk Staff was excellent, courteous and gave us very good information about what to do, where to park, etc... The room was very clean, comfortable, and quiet. I had requested a wheelchair accesible room and the room did not have a roll-in shower, but we manage and the room itself was large and accesible, including a balcony. The fact that the lobby is located within an upscale shopping centre does not detract from the service, I actually loved the setup. One of the elevators was out of Order when we were there, but we hardly felt impacted by this. The breakfast was good and included in the room price. I would certainly stay at this hotel again, would encourage the owner to setup a room with a roll-in shower to ensure even better accesibility.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mafra, SC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This hotel was such a joy for me an my famlily and friends. The hotel has great localization and it is near almost all the major attractions of Bratislava. The rooms and bathrooms are great, they are clean comfortable and pretty. All thesse were great, but what really calls attention to this Hotel is the people who works there, they are amazing, they are ready to help you with anything you need and they were glad to do it, something that is different from the experience of other Hotels we have been in Central Europe. The service deserves maximum points.
The price is not expensive for what they are offering.

Room Tip: all rooms are good :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Art Hotel William? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel William

Address: Laurinska 17, Bratislava 811 07, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Bratislava
#22 Business Hotel in Bratislava
#23 Luxury Hotel in Bratislava
#26 Romantic Hotel in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Hotel William 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Otel and Venere so you can book your Art Hotel William reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Hotel Bratislava

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Hotel William, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.