We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, excellent room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Art Hotel William

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Art Hotel William to your Saves list
Art Hotel William
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Laurinska 17, Bratislava 811 07, Slovakia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 91 Hotels in Bratislava
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Liverpool
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Great location, excellent room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Just returned from 3 night stay at this hotel. Friendly reception staff. Excellent room, free safe, good storage for a short break, free wi if, large bathroom with great towels and toiletries replenished daily. Mini bar prices quite reasonable too. Breakfast was very good, fresh fruit salad and various cakes ( though some a little dry and not as tasty as they looked) and pastries.
Thankfully the air con was efficient in our room as it was really hot during our stay. Just don't try to check in even one minute before 2pm- after being turned away at 12.30, we returned at 1.55 but told we had to wait 5 minutes! Another couple who returned at 2pm were still told another 5minutes!
We made our way from the airport by bus but treated ourselves to the hotel limo for the return journey, which was very comfortable and efficient and probably, at 20 euros, no more expensive than a taxi.
Alcohol extremely cheap in Bratislava, but we struggled to find good food. We recommend the legendary Slovak pub, number 60 Obchodna and only about 5 minutes from the hotel. Largest pub in Bratislava, nothing fancy to look at but good atmosphere and the food was really good. Nice staff too.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    104
    17
    6
    1
See reviews for
14
94
21
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

This is a classy boutique hotel that has got everything right. The corner room (410) I had was very big and beautifully fitted out in a red colour scheme. I love the bathroom which had these red and white tiles. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. Breakfast was good. Service is very friendly, and I must say the front desk lady is very pretty! When I couldn't adjust my room air conditioning, all it required was a phone call to the front desk and they reset my room temperature immediately. The lobby of the hotel is in a high end shopping arcade. The location couldn't be better; within 100 meters of the old town centre but away from the busy pubs and restaurants. I paid 110 euros which was a steal for this 5-star hotel. The only thing missing is a gym/spa but apparently guests can have free use of a fitness club a short distance away from the hotel.

Room Tip: Get the corner rooms (410, 310) which are bigger and not looking directly into another room across.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

I recommend this hotel.
Ask fora room on the 4th floor and you will have a balcony. Standard rooms are not so big but junior suite and the suite are fabulous. The accommodation is not cheap but it is 4 to 5 stars. Breakfast is very good. Parking is 5-7 min away from the hotel - Opera parking-.No view - all the rooms are inside the building.

Room Tip: 4th floor suite or junior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

We had originally booked another hotel in old town, but due to some technical problems they had to rebook us at the Art Hotel William. While the other hotel was more in the heart of things, old town is quite compact, so its location was just as convenient. In fact, it's probably a quieter street. I'd never seen a hotel inside a little shopping mall, but it was fine.

The woman at the reception desk was extremely professional and friendly. The bed was incredible! More comfortable than our bed at home. Everything was clean and well-maintained, and the bathroom amenities were nice (and there was a real hairdryer, not one of the wimpy ones made for hotel rooms). The breakfast buffet was good, nothing spectacular. As some other have said, the coffee isn't that great and the breakfast room staff is a little aloof. I wish I'd known about the possibility of espresso drinks, since that information certainly wasn't offered up by the staff, and two out of the three mornings I had to go ask for regular coffee.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

This is the only place to stay in Bratislava. Right in old towne where all the historic buildings and restaurants are. There are main streets very close by to get you to local transportation.
The hotel was modern, clean and the room was very large. The bathroom was incredible with modern black and white tiles, modern sink and great shower.
The reception desk girl spoke very good english and looked up the bus route I needed to take and mapped it out for me.
The breakfast was sufficient although the staff in the breakfast room could have been more attentive as I had to go them and ask for coffee.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Smack in the middle of the old town, hidden inside a small shopping centre but don't let this put you off. The bedrooms were spacious and modern with everything you would need including free wifi and the bathroom was bright and spotless. The breakfast room did let it down a little however the selection of food was excellent. Would def recommend this hotel and I would stay here again

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
powys
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

This hotel lived up to earlier reviews. Staff on Reception spoke good english and were all very helpful with information regarding train times and organising taxis. The bedrooms were a good size and the bathroom magnificent (ours was one of the red and white check ones). We were very lucky with the weather and needed the air conditioning - one phone call to reception and this was turned on. Unfortunately this procedure had to take place each day. The breakfast provided was good and varied, with hot foods, salads, cold meats and cheeses, juices, fruit, cereal, yoghurts, toast and pastries - plenty to keep everyone happy. The coffee drinkers amongst us agreed with other reviewers - order the expresso straight away. Position of hotel is unusual but works well - very central for walking around the old town and with plenty of good restaurants close by.
Would definitely stay again when next in Bratislava.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Art Hotel William? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel William

Address: Laurinska 17, Bratislava 811 07, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Bratislava
#22 Luxury Hotel in Bratislava
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Hotel William 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Art Hotel William reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Hotel Bratislava

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Hotel William, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.