We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old boys trip to Bratislava” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kyjev

Save Saved
You added Hotel Kyjev to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Kyjev
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rajska 2, Bratislava 81448, Slovakia (Staré Mesto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 90 Hotels in Bratislava
Bicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Old boys trip to Bratislava”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

After getting off the train, we made our way towards Hotel Kyjev, not really knowing what it looked like. It is a post communist hotel in the colours of communist grey, the largest hotel around. Once inside we were confronted with probably the largest foyer we have ever seen inside a hotel, complete with a yellow Trabant !! We later learnt that in its day ,this was the place for the communist party to hold its shindigs!
The room that we had was as basic as it comes, in need of a complete renovation, but the linen and towels were changed and clean every day, and I have to say so was the room. (although you could see daylight through the towels if held up to the light !!)
The breakfast was fantastic, and lots of it, although I did feel as if I was a guest in a youth hostel!!
When we were out and about in Bratislava,no matter where we were, we could always see the Hotel Kyjev, mainly because the curtains were blowing in the wind, and the hotel looked as if it was in a war zone with no windows in it!!
If you are looking for a basic, cheap hotel, with a good bar area, and a great breakfast,and can keep the notion that it is a relic from the communist era, then this is the hotel for you, because you will never forget it!!
If you need fluffy slippers and a bathrobe,forget it
This will be a hotel that you will always remember !!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    69
    98
    55
    58
See reviews for
18
89
47
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berchem, Antwerpen, Belgium
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Got the shabbiest room ever. The curtains were torn, bathroom was smelly. I don't think they ever have guests here. Probably that is why they let us check in early in the morning and 'upgraded' us from a single and a double room to 2 triple rooms! Lots of space and panoramic view (on the top floor probably) and sleep quality was good. just that we expected a lot and we were shocked at the shabbiness.
Bathrooms were big and clean (though with antique fittings).
The buffet breakfast was awesome though! I'll base my rating solely on that! An enormous spread.
Location was central, was easy to find.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambs
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed here on a work trip. Hotel is very old, very run down and probably needs knocking down.
Stained carpets, water stains all over the cracked sink & bath, slatted ceilings had never been cleaned, mould on walls, plaster falling off walls, the list could go on and on.
The breakfast was an experience........ we all kept getting electric shocks from the chillers!!!
Bar was the only saving grace.
Couldn't help feeling the KGB were about to burst through the door and arrest me for stealing state secrets.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed in Bratislava as a base to go in and out of Vienna and to also see another country and city.
We stayed at hotel Kyjev.The reception staff were very friendly and helpful.
Our room was very basic and the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept on.The view from our window was quite nice, with the castle in the distance looking very splendid when lit up at night.
The breakfast room was very good with all sorts of different kinds of foods to choose from.
The centre of Bratislava is beautiful and a joy to walk around.
We got a bus into Vienna,it takes just over an hour.The bus station is a five to ten minute walk from the hotel.On another day we got the boat into Vienna sailing down the Danube,which was lovely.
Enjoyed my holiday here,but sadly i'd have to stay at a different hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Risan, Montenegro
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

My room was on the 10th floor, but unfortunately, turned to the less-appealing side of Bratislava, so the view wasn't really attractive. The bed was comfortable enough, and the Internet worked just fine. Food was okay, but nothing special. The receptionist spoke limited English and wasn't too friendly. The location is really good, the Old town is a few minutes walk away, and there's a Tesco adjacent to the hotel. The Trabant is an interesting detail.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

This hotel needs an urgent revit. !
Stay at this hotel if you do like old cold war movies... If want the feeling that you're sleeping under surveillance of an indoor camera... If you want the feeling they are recording your voice on the bedroom and on the phone... If you want the feeling that there are some KGB agents next door...

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stayed in hotel Kyjev for 2 nights. We arrived by train from Prague and the hotel was an easy tram ride away from the Central Station. It looks impressive and grand from the exterior and it was an important hotel during the days of communist regime when some important personalities also stayed here but now it has lost much of its charm. The carpets and the walls all need extensive renovation.
There is a TESCO supermarket just nearby and the historic old town of Bratislava is also a few minutes walking distance away.
The breakfast was fine except for the juice which was diluted to a large extent which spoiled its taste

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kyjev? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kyjev

Address: Rajska 2, Bratislava 81448, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava > Staré Mesto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 90 Hotels in Bratislava
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Kyjev 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High-rise Hotel located in the center of the old town, adjacent to department stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Hotel Kyjev reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyjev Hotel Bratislava

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kyjev, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.