We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run !!!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kyjev

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Kyjev to your Saves list
Hotel Kyjev
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rajska 2, Bratislava 81448, Slovakia (Staré Mesto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 91 Hotels in Bratislava
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Run !!!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

This hotel needs an urgent revit. !
Stay at this hotel if you do like old cold war movies... If want the feeling that you're sleeping under surveillance of an indoor camera... If you want the feeling they are recording your voice on the bedroom and on the phone... If you want the feeling that there are some KGB agents next door...

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    73
    99
    57
    58
See reviews for
20
89
48
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
India
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stayed in hotel Kyjev for 2 nights. We arrived by train from Prague and the hotel was an easy tram ride away from the Central Station. It looks impressive and grand from the exterior and it was an important hotel during the days of communist regime when some important personalities also stayed here but now it has lost much of its charm. The carpets and the walls all need extensive renovation.
There is a TESCO supermarket just nearby and the historic old town of Bratislava is also a few minutes walking distance away.
The breakfast was fine except for the juice which was diluted to a large extent which spoiled its taste

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

This hotel is a mere shadow of what it once was. A solid (?) concrete monolith built during the hey day of the communist regime. The bathroom was covered in mildew, the carpets were threadbare, the ceilings were water stained and the lift shook. But, the breakfast was huge and the bed linen clean. The biggest bonus was they let me park my motorbike in the lobby because they were frightened it would be stolen!!!! I walked into the best restaurant in town and had an amazing meal with wine then strolled back to the Hotel Kyjev; the best and worst in one night but both memorable for different reasons.

Room Tip: The higher the better but you may find whole floors closed so choice can be limited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Stayed here for a few nights while backpacking in europe. Rooms were spacious and comfortable. We were higher up in the hotel and the views were brilliant. Breakfast was basic but filled the spot. Security deposit and free internet were definite perks. Would recommend to anyone that doesnt expect 5* luxury.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

I can't disagree with the reviewers who say the Hotel Kyjev is dumpy and dirty (I didn't really find it that dirty, just run down.) The rooms are very minimal and the beds are pretty bad; but I recommend it for the complete Soviet experience--except, the staff were friendly and helpful, which I suppose doesn't jibe with the "Soviet experience." I agree with other reviewers that the breakfast buffet is excellent and huge. My wife HATED this hotel. It was overrun by drunken German young men. (NB: I have nothing against Germans.) I wouldn't venture anywhere near the bar. The drunks really repulsed my wife--we stayed only one night.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Hotel Kyjev was an excellent budget hotel! It definitely has a feeling of communist-Soviet era, but it actually was very amusing and added a bit of personality. The rooms are perfectly fine, considering it was a budget hotel and the breakfast was amazing!!! There was free internet/computers and staff was very helpful. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Yes, it's a budget hotel and I didn't expect much. But I have never been to a hotel this dirty and old. It gives you a feeling of the Soviet-years, but nothing (not even dry cleaning the carpets) has been done with this hotels since the year of building! Find a clean hostel or another budget hotel!

Room Tip: Stay at the lower floors, in case of an emergancy. Don't trust a 30 year old fire alarm system...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kyjev? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kyjev

Address: Rajska 2, Bratislava 81448, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava > Staré Mesto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 91 Hotels in Bratislava
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kyjev 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High-rise Hotel located in the center of the old town, adjacent to department stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Kyjev reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyjev Hotel Bratislava

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kyjev, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.