We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value for Money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Bratislava Centrum

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Bratislava Centrum to your Saves list
Ibis Bratislava Centrum
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zamocka 38, Bratislava 81101, Slovakia (Staré Mesto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 92 Hotels in Bratislava
Novi Sad, Serbia
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
“Best Value for Money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

For a three star hotel it's very nice, not luxury but very clean always something new and everything you need. Location can't be better, it's 300m down from the castle and 200m from old town, with huge underground garage. Breakfast is ok but for lunch and dinner menu doesn't compare to restaurants nearby. Rooms are cute, bathrooms too, they have custom made furniture, cable tv, good heating-cooling, etc. Don't expect mini-bar in the room but prices of beer, coffee, water... down at the bar are okay. Free wi-fi in rooms and free of charge use of computer at the lobby. All in all it's great value for money especially if you catch some of the special offers they usually have, I come every year and will do!

Room Tip: stayed in this hotel 5 to 10 times, every time in diff.room and every room was the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOLINSKY, General Manager at Ibis Bratislava Centrum, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Ibis Bratislava Centrum. I look forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Peter Dolinsky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    472
    184
    41
    15
See reviews for
111
372
109
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Where do I start?! Seriously disappointing! I've stayed in many Ibis hotels throughout Europe, but this one took the biscuit!
The location is reasonable, near old town, but after walking around, there are many other places in better locations, better standard, and similar price such as the Radisson Carlton! The rooms are cleanish, but when you go into the bathroom and find snot from the previous guests on the shower glass... it makes you wonder.
The breakfast is a typical one, but the only fresh fruit drink is apple, the rest are cordial. The Scrambled eggs were always disgustingly runny, and the sausages were the lowest grade plastic things I've come across.... you try to put your fork into it, and it bends to 90 degrees before it pierces it!
Don't bother putting your "Do Not Disturb" sign on the door.... as they don't bother with them, twice walking in while I was sleeping!
Now the Pièce de résistance!!! While we were out of the hotel, one of our party had his passport and wallet (containing driving licence, bank card and e111 card) stolen! It was stored away heavily in a secret compartment in a bag (as many of us had done as we were going white water rafting). When we discovered this, and informed reception, we were scoffed at basically. The manager tried to blame us, and only when we said phone the police did he realise we weren't messing. When they checked the CCTV footage, he said he could see our party going in and out of rooms, and then a maid once we had left, but he wouldn't sound out the maid. This then meant we all waited in the hotel, while the police and forensics (police process) came and checked, then the police station and then the British Embassy.... 7 hours. However.... whilst at the Embassy, it turns out that the passport, e111 card and bank card turned up dropped in the local square.... at midday (while we were all in the hotel and CCTV can show this) so whodunnit I wonder?!
Needless to say, the rest of the trip we were on edge with anything we left behind in the rooms, and the staff were less than pleasant!
I would like to point out that at no point were we rude to any member of staff, and we didn't have a go at anyone as we just wanted to get everything sorted and give our friend piece of mind that he'd be getting home.
Shocking stay.... avoid if I were you!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOLINSKY, General Manager at Ibis Bratislava Centrum, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
I am really sorry to hear that your stay at Ibis Bratislava Centrum wasn’t up to expectations. I went through all your comments which I have since addressed even though they are highly impacted by the incident your friend has faced in our hotel. As the incident is under investigation of Slovakian authorities I would wait for their final statement before going to deep into emotions which could misslead other travelers while choosing the right hotel for their future stay. Kind regards, Peter Dolinsky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Located in the city center very close to the central square. Nice business hotel and very basic. Breakfast not very rich but still very bice. Recommended for business trips but for vacation i would do second thoughts

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOLINSKY, General Manager at Ibis Bratislava Centrum, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for posting your thoughts on here, we really value your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back at Ibis Bratislava Centrum. Kind regards, Peter Dolinsky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I highly recommend this hotel - its convenient localization near the Bratislava Castle makes it a perfect stay. From there you also have an easy access to all the tourists "must-see" places in Bratislava. Friendly staff. Good breakfast buffet. We really did enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOLINSKY, General Manager at Ibis Bratislava Centrum, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Ibis Bratislava Centrum and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Peter Dolinsky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We often stay in Ibis hotels and this one got full marks for cleanliness, value, location, etc. However, on arrival the staff on the desk were not at all pleasant, quite unsmiling and offhand, almost surly, and on passing through reception at other times we saw the same attitude - so it was not just us! Also, the music playing in reception was definitely far too loud. A bigger problem, however, was that the air conditioning was not working properly and as we were on the top floor the room was very uncomfortable at night. We could not open the window much as the trams passing by make a screeching sound, which woke us up. We got about three hours' sleep one night. On checking out there were other visitors making the same complaints....so our advice to other guests would be to make sure to get a room away from the tunnel where the trams run and ask not to be on the top floor. And advice to the staff would be to turn down the music and be more pleasant to guests. If this had been our first ibis experience we would definitely not return again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOLINSKY, General Manager at Ibis Bratislava Centrum, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
I am sorry to hear that you didn’t find the service at our hotel up to your expectations. We pride ourselves on our staff training, so this is something I will be looking into personally. I have also made all neccessary steps regarding the load music at reception. Once again thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcome you back in our hotel. Kind regards, Peter Dolinsky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Rooms - Clean, Location - Central....Service after having a member of our party's money, passport, cash card and driving licence stolen - SHOCKING. Receptionist just laughed, manager asked if we had stolen it..asked if we were really sure that it was all stolen, they only seemed interested when we insisted that the Police were called. After the CCTV was reviewed they stated that the last person in the room was the cleaner, but it could not have been her as she had been with them for 4 years...SHOCKING...8 hours and a few hundred pounds lighter, a whole day in the Police station and the British Embassy really ruined the Party's weekend away...Just awaiting the response from IBIS Head Office

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOLINSKY, General Manager at Ibis Bratislava Centrum, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Please accept my most sincerest apology for this unpleasant situation that you experienced during your recent stay with us. The incident which you have faced was immediately reported to police department upon your request. The question of seriousness to call up the police raised by our Deputy Manager was surely not a joke question as we did face in the past negative experience where we did call the police but suddenly we realized that it was just a joke among the traveler group (usually bachelor parties). We did immediately provided the police department with all necessary evidence (key history, record of CCTV). Please be informed that the chambermaid who did clean your room was interviewed by police department as well. This whole issue is still under investigation by the Slovakian authorities which supposed to contact you with the further results. If we do receive any official statement before hand I will surely contact you.
For the future I would recommend to store your valuables in our safes which are standardly available in ibis hotels at the reception. Use of these safe is free of charge for all our guests.
Once again I am sorry for the unpleasant situation and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, which is invaluable to our efforts to continually improve the quality of our services.
I trust that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to IBIS in the future.
With kind regards, Peter Dolinsky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I spent 2 nights in this hotel with my friends. It's very clean and modern, the rooms are large and comfortable and it was perfect for what we needed. The reception staff is very friendly. There is internet free in the lobby and free WiFi in the rooms (which didn't work quite so good, but it was ok). I would definitely book this hotel again. The location is also perfect, very close to the city center and castle. Breakfast was also good though not so many choices. They have a garage and you can park for 16 euros/day. Overall the hotel is very good for a 3* hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOLINSKY, General Manager at Ibis Bratislava Centrum, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves in Ibis Bratislava Centrum. I look forward to welcoming you back at our hotel. Kind regards, Peter Dolinsky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ibis Bratislava Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bratislava Centrum

Address: Zamocka 38, Bratislava 81101, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava > Staré Mesto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Bratislava
#24 Business Hotel in Bratislava
#25 Romantic Hotel in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Bratislava Centrum 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Bratislava hotel is ideally located in the city centre and easily accessible by public transport. Stepfanica airport is only 9 km away. For lovers of art and history, the centre of the old city and Bratislava castle can be reached on foot in a few minutes. Built recently, the hotel has 120 queen beds, indoor pay parking, and a bar with snacks open 24/24. It also provides facilities for disabled guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Ibis Bratislava Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bratislava Centrum Hotel Bratislava
Accor Bratislava Centrum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Bratislava Centrum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.