We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant, but don't tell” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Devin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Devin to your Saves list
Hotel Devin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riecna 4, Bratislava 811 02, Slovakia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #14 of 92 Hotels in Bratislava
Boise Idaho
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Brilliant, but don't tell”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

It's a beautiful old building, nicely restored. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The spa is very nice and the breakfast is top drawer. The only drawback is the same that I have with Bratislava-it's become a destination for lads ad stags weekends. This says more about the travelers than the hotel.

Room Tip: We had a river view which was quite nice, but the tram runs late if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    89
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
26
83
16
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Hotel Devin, Bratislava for one night as we travelled across Europe. We'd travelled to Bratislava by train from Budapest and found the hotel easily from the train station (30 min walk). The walk was fantastic as you stroll past the palace and into the old town. Once at the hotel we where given an executive upgrade room (at no extra cost) which was absolutely fantastic. The room itself was 5 star luxury (all for £53 for the night).
The hotel is located on the main road facing the river Danube which was brilliant for us as we where catching the boat to Vienna the following day. The old town is only 5 min walk away and is really charming with a good selection of bars and restaurants.
The Hotel Devin is a fantastic 4 star hotel in a great location and easily accessible. I would stay here again & again without question.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldevin, Director of Sales at Hotel Devin, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive feedback! We will be happy to welcome you again and again:)
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We had a pleasant stay in Hotel Devin.
The location very close to the city center made it easy to move without any means of transportation. Good service, friendly staff and nice room.
All in all a good choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldevin, Director of Sales at Hotel Devin, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Hugo, thanks for your positive feedback! Yes, all major tourist attractions in Bratislava are within the walking distance. We live in little big city:)
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaside, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Hotel is in a wonderful location next to the Danube River and Old Town. It was renovated in 2011-12 and is in fine condition.

Positives:
- location
- spa/pool
- free Wifi
- friendly staff
- breakfast buffet (included in room price)

Negative:
- single bed is exactly as advertised. Small complaint but in all my hotel stays, this is the first hotel that I was taken aback by the small size of the bed. So, if you get the "single room", it very well could have a single-sized bed.

Fyi - Used hotel's taxi service to the airport which was probably about 30-40% more than using a local taxi which I could have found on a street next to the hotel.

Room Tip: Read my comment about "single rooms" in review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldevin, Director of Sales at Hotel Devin, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback, it is very valuable for us in order to improve our service level.
Our limousine service is a bit more expensive comparing to the regular taxi, but we have chosen this company due to their professionalism, reliability and availability 24 hours a day. Yes, regular taxi is cheaper but not so reliable and we have had problems with waiting time. Now we have our limousine service available latest by 5 minutes from the time of booking.
So we hope you will not have any negatives with your next stay, we will be happy to welcome you again!
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Very friendly staff, ideal location for pottering round Bratislava, nice breakfast, comfortable room with lovely view of the Danube...perfect for out short weekend break. Didn't use the spa, the weather was too nice to be stuck inside so can't comment on that.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

good location on Danube river (10 min walk to malls and restaurants) and 5 min walk to old town square. very comfortable room and nice view, clean bathroom. the spa center is amazing. the breakfast was not bad. the only bad thing is the sound of tram passing near this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldevin, Director of Sales at Hotel Devin, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Aline,
thanks for your positive feedback! We are continuously working to improve all of our services including our breakfast offers. The last innovation is "breakfast a la carte" offer for our guests that prefer this style instead of standard morning buffet. Regarding the street noise - well we are located directly in the city centre which is connected with certain level of noise. For sensitive guests we have always an alternative - room facing the city centre are very quiet. Looking forward to your next visit!
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Devin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Devin

Address: Riecna 4, Bratislava 811 02, Slovakia
Phone Number:
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Bratislava
#9 Family Hotel in Bratislava
#11 Business Hotel in Bratislava
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bratislava
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Devin 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional hotel located in the historical centre of Bratislava offers the harmony of a pleasant atmosphere and the glamour of the past along with modern facilities and excellent services. Rooms and suites with an exclusive view of the Danube River and Bratislava Castle, an elegant French Restaurant, an intimate Spa Centre, traditional Thai massages and conference rooms for corporate and private events. You can experience all of this in a hotel with the true atmosphere of old Bratislava. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, T4B, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Devin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devin Hotel Bratislava

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Devin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.