We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Devin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Devin to your Saves list
Hotel Devin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riecna 4, Bratislava 811 02, Slovakia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 91 Hotels in Bratislava
Wroclaw, Poland
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The location is good! Few minute walk from city center. The lobby of the hotel and restaurant look very nice. The hotel offers free internet access. My room was very comfortable and spacious, clean with excellent bathroom. You must visit restaurant, you won’t be disappointed. The breakfast was very good with a nice selection of breads, cheese, ham and fruit. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful.
I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldevin, Director of Sales at Hotel Devin, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thanks for your positive feedback and recommendation of Hotel Devin to other guests. I am sure we will keep the standards and quality also during your next stays in Bratislava:) Just let me know when you plan your next trip to book your room!
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    71
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
73
12
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a stag do, this is a really nice and pleasant hotel more for couples and families than a group of lads. Would stay again good quality hotel and cantrally based. All restruants and attractions are nearby the quality of food in all venues was fab and the portions are huge. Would be good to visit again as a couple to explore.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I travel for business and i have never experienced kinder and more helpful hotel staff than the staff at this hotel. I recently spent two nights here and left a beloved personal item in the hotel room. I have left things in hotel rooms before and have always just accepted the loss. the reception staff emailed me to ask me if I had left the item and then offered to mail to me to the other side of the planet!! I was gobsmacked at the thoughtfulness. Besides this, the room was tastefully decorated, the bed was wonderful and all amenities terrific. It was comfortable and perfectly located in the old town and a 3- minute walk to the airport bus under the bridge. The only challenge was room service. The service staff was again kind and friendly but the food that was delivered was not great quality and lacking items such as condiments, serviette etc. despite this, i will stay at this hotel again in a heartbeat. Thank you again for making my stay so comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldevin, Director of Sales at Hotel Devin, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Good morning and greetings to Canada!
Thanks for your feedback! Yes, people are key factor for success in hotel industry and this is why we do spent a lot of time with selection and training of our staff. Its not easy but it is nice to hear that we do our job well:) And for the future we will improve also the room service, we are just finishing our new offers!
Wish you a nice stay in Hotel Devin during your next stay in Bratislava:)
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I actually have a hotel in Bratislava that I love but changed my mind for this trip and at the last minute booked at Hotel Devin. So very glad I did.

First impression was great, the hotel looks and feels like you have stepped back in time a little. Lots of old world charm. Service was fantastic from the staff on checkin and the complementary bottle of wine was a great touch.

Room was big with a great view of the river and UFO bridge. Bed was comfortable and the rain shower was great.

Other people have mentioned the traffic noise, there was some noise at night especially from trams which I occasionally noticed but it didnt wake either of us up at any time in our 3 night stay.

One negative with the room was the movies on the TV, the movies feature isnt enabled yet on their TVs so if you choose the cinema pack on the TV you actually only get access to the "special special movies" as the front desk called them when I called up to find out what was happening.

The location really is fantastic, everything is right at your doorstep. We especially loved dinner at the UFO restaurant just over the bridge.

We also checked out the spa area which was decent with both a wet and dry sauna and heated pool. Was nice to warm up in the steam room after a chilly couple of days sightseeing.

Finally the breakfast wasn't anything amazing but had a wide selection at least and did the job. The only downside to the breakfast was the coffee, every morning I regretted saying yes to the coffee.

Overall loved the hotel, really helped make the stay great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

What a great hotel...They have got it just right in terms of Price vs Service. The location is just right, a short walk from the old town and located in the Embassy District. I stay in an Executive Room and these are spacious and clean with a balcony to sit so you can sit and enjoy the view..(if you are at the front). The rooms have bath robes, separate toilet& super comfortable beds as well as all the equipment you would need. The free wifi is a big plus. The staff are very good, a great combination of being professional and friendly without being over familiar. I have not tried to pool yet so cannot comment but have just booked another stay...so will try this time.

The only down side for me was the breakfast...a little boring, but not bad just same every day and a small thing the rooms have tea and coffee but the tea is always green tea..no regular black tea...who drinks green tea outside china???

In conclusion there are some other hotels in the area of very good standard Shereton, Kempinski..but you pay a ridiculous amount for these rooms...THE DEVIN HAVE GOT IT RIGHT...Keep up the good work and I for one will come back again and again.

Room Tip: Exec room facing the river is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldevin, Director of Sales at Hotel Devin, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Mark,

thanks for your positive feedback! We have changed our breakfast offers recently, so I believe you will enjoy our breakfast buffet during your next stay. And we will get 5 points instead of 4 in your next review:)

Our main strategy is based on providing excellent quality for good (NOT CHEAP!) rates. This is the only strategy to have long-term success in hospitality from my point of view...

Looking forward to your next stay!

Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liptovsky Mikulas, Slovakia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Hello, I would like to share with other travelers our fantastic experiences and beautiful stay in Hotel Devin, Slovakia. The hotel is situated in old town of the city in quiet zone and easy reachable from highway. The rooms are comfortable, clean and equipped with all necessary devices. The equipment, staff, support and overall services are on high level. Employees were polite, nice and well-informed. You can also spend a pleasant time in spa. I can only give you a strong recommendation to visit this hotel. And do not forget to ask for Ebenicca coffee.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed there for new year's eve 2012/2013 and had a good time. The room, directly viewing to the Danube was great, as was the spa and pool area. The hotel still has some kind of "old charm", in the best sense of it and it is located directly adjactent to the old town and major tourist attractions of Bratislava. Value for money was fine. Only thing that was strange was, that we had to pay two separate bills, one for 2012 at the beginning of our stay and one for 2013 at the end, obviously for tax/accounting reasons. However, that was rather inconvenient as i.e. it was not possible to charge extra consumption on 31st of December on the room, but we had to directly pay cash/credit card.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldevin, Director of Sales at Hotel Devin, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Sanja and Ben,

I am really happy you have spent a nice time during the New Years Eve in Bratislava. Thank you for positive review and sorry for the inconvenience with two separate bills - we have to follow all regulations:)

We will be happy to welcome you again!

Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Devin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Devin

Address: Riecna 4, Bratislava 811 02, Slovakia
Phone Number:
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Bratislava
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bratislava
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bratislava
#15 Business Hotel in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Devin 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closed for renovations; re-opening in April 2012 --- Luxurious 4* hotel located just in the historical center of Bratislava near the US Embassy and all historical monuments. Hotel has 100 cozy rooms with fine restaurant with deluxe service. Relaxation center lets you use swimming pool for free and other services like hot stone or Thai massages, sauna or solarium. The location of the hotel is superb near to any place you need as turist or businessman - bars, museums, gallery or shopping mall - all at walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, T4B, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Devin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devin Hotel Bratislava

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Devin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.