We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot with no AC in a tiny room - ugh!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Botel Gracia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Botel Gracia to your Saves list
Botel Gracia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Razusovo nabrezie, Bratislava 811 02, Slovakia (Staré Mesto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 92 Hotels in Bratislava
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Hot with no AC in a tiny room - ugh!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

First of all I don't dislike the botel. It's quirky and the room/cabin was ok especially for the price. Given the location it was great. We were right next to all of the sights and sounds of beautiful Bratislava. When were were there the weather was extremely hot and the tiny room faced the sun much of the day. It was sweltering. We slept under wet towels. There was no AC and the fan we got after asking was small and insufficient. In better weather conditions the room would have been a good no frills room. The bathroom was tiny though so anyone needing space due to disability should take this into account. We wouldn't stay again but I'm pleased we experienced a botel during our European trip

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    74
    58
    14
    9
See reviews for
36
53
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I booked this botel for a member of our crew for 3 nights. It was a single room. The room was small, but nice and clean, the staff was polite and nice, breakfast was fine, the location is great (not as great for parking though). Nice experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

It's a boat. I never stayed on a boat/hotel before. If I were taller than 6'4 (almost two meters) I wouldn't be able to stand in the shower. The bathroom was cramped (never been in a bathroom on a boat that wasn't) but the room was very spacious. There was lots of fresh air but no air conditioner. I was here in the middle of July and didn't have issues even though it was very hot out. The complimentary breakfast was pretty good and the staff was really great. Besides it being unique and on a boat the location and the money value are the best parts about it. There's not a lot to see in Bratislava but you can get there in less than ten minutes by foot from Gracia.
There's a lot happening along the river so that means noise. It wasn't an issue for me but I could see others having problems.
Overall I was very happy with the value, ease of access to Bratislava, the staff and the feeling of adventure by staying on a boat along the Danube.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We had a river view room with 4 large windows which provided good views of the river traffic, fast flowing water and the UFO Bridge. The room was spacious and clean with a compact bathroom. Not modern, but comfortable. 4 spaces are available next to the dock for free parking. While operable windows may provide some ventilation, there is no air conditioning for hotter weather. We were comfortable for our cool, rainy stay. A good value for Bratislava. Wonderful, immediate proximity to old town. Breakfast was great, with several varieties of eggs, sausage, and cold selections. It was a different and pleasant experience sleeping on a riverboat. I would recommend the Botel Gracia.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My mother and I stayed here in June 2013 as we had read good reviews and wanted to experience staying on a boat on the Danube. The staff of the Botel were lovely and could not be more helpful particularly when we had booked a river view and were given a room facing the town. The lady changed us to a river view room without any hassle. The Botel Gracia could be a fantastic place to stay but is just lacking a few things. We stayed when it was very warm and the Botel Gracia could do with air-conditioning as it was very hot in the room. The room that we had could do we refurbishment and modernisation. Sadly, we stayed at the weekend and had a group of boys on a stag do singing and shouting at the end of the boat next to our room all night. However, it was a good experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Although Botel Gracia has some excellent aspects, it does have some aspects which they need to improve upon to take the botel to the next level. (hence naming this review a diamond in the rough).

Firstly, Botel Gracia is quirky (well it is a boat on the mighty danube!) and about a 5 minute walk into Bratislava's historic old town and the spectacular Bratislava castle (which is visible from the hotel provided you have a city facing room or cabin.) Also, the staff were always very very polite, helpful and were able to offer advice and book taxis etc.

That said, the botel has some serious aspects which limit it. The first issue we had was the air conditioning (or lack of). Unfortunately none of the rooms have air conditioning which can make sleeping very very very difficult especially in the heat of the summer. The other area that limited this botel was the noise in city facing rooms (as it is on the promenade and one of Bratislava's main streets. Unfortunately the windows were not double glazed so the noise sometimes kept us awake.

When I am asked can I recommend a hotel, I ask myself would I want to spend another night or two here and I think I probably would so if you are staying in Bratislava, (provided they make the above changes), I would defiantly stay here again especially when one considers the price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brough
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This botel is right in the centre of Bratislava, next to the UFO bridge, and within a couple of minutes walk of the old town and the hydrofoil terminal for Vienna.
The rooms were cheap, and if you are lucky enough to get a room facing the Danube (just ask) the views are absolutely incredible!
The inclusive breakfast was fabulous, highly recommended.
Unfortunately the terrace was closed for renovation, and the free wi-fi was very spotty in the rooms.
Also, watch out for noisy neighbours (stag parties) on Fridays and Saturdays.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the Danube.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bratislava hotels
Botel Marina
#58 of 92 in Bratislava
3.0 of 5 stars 207 reviews
Staré Mesto
Ibis Bratislava Centrum
Ibis Bratislava Centrum
#29 of 92 in Bratislava
4.0 of 5 stars 994 reviews
Old City Hotel
#48 of 92 in Bratislava
3.5 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Inn Danube Bratislava
#38 of 92 in Bratislava
3.5 of 5 stars 761 reviews
Apollo Hotel
#28 of 92 in Bratislava
4.0 of 5 stars 352 reviews
Staré Mesto
Hotel Perugia
Hotel Perugia
#65 of 92 in Bratislava
3.5 of 5 stars 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botel Gracia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botel Gracia

Address: Razusovo nabrezie, Bratislava 811 02, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava > Staré Mesto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Botel Gracia 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for something special? Then Botel Gracia is the right place to visit. Right in the centre of Europe, 3 minutes from Bratislava city centre, beautiful view over the magnificent Danube river and Bratislava castle. Those are just some of things that make this facility so special. Botel after complete renovation awaits your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, EasyToBook, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, HotelTravel.com, Venere, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Botel Gracia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Botel Gracia Bratislava
Botel Gracia Hotel Bratislava

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Botel Gracia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.