We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A diamond in the rough” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Botel Gracia

Save Saved
You added Botel Gracia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Botel Gracia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Razusovo nabrezie, Bratislava 811 02, Slovakia (Staré Mesto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 89 hotels in Bratislava
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A diamond in the rough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Although Botel Gracia has some excellent aspects, it does have some aspects which they need to improve upon to take the botel to the next level. (hence naming this review a diamond in the rough).

Firstly, Botel Gracia is quirky (well it is a boat on the mighty danube!) and about a 5 minute walk into Bratislava's historic old town and the spectacular Bratislava castle (which is visible from the hotel provided you have a city facing room or cabin.) Also, the staff were always very very polite, helpful and were able to offer advice and book taxis etc.

That said, the botel has some serious aspects which limit it. The first issue we had was the air conditioning (or lack of). Unfortunately none of the rooms have air conditioning which can make sleeping very very very difficult especially in the heat of the summer. The other area that limited this botel was the noise in city facing rooms (as it is on the promenade and one of Bratislava's main streets. Unfortunately the windows were not double glazed so the noise sometimes kept us awake.

When I am asked can I recommend a hotel, I ask myself would I want to spend another night or two here and I think I probably would so if you are staying in Bratislava, (provided they make the above changes), I would defiantly stay here again especially when one considers the price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    44
    37
    8
    6
See reviews for
18
26
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brough
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This botel is right in the centre of Bratislava, next to the UFO bridge, and within a couple of minutes walk of the old town and the hydrofoil terminal for Vienna.
The rooms were cheap, and if you are lucky enough to get a room facing the Danube (just ask) the views are absolutely incredible!
The inclusive breakfast was fabulous, highly recommended.
Unfortunately the terrace was closed for renovation, and the free wi-fi was very spotty in the rooms.
Also, watch out for noisy neighbours (stag parties) on Fridays and Saturdays.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the Danube.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This hotel is superbly located, just 3 minutes' walk into the Old Town area and with stunning views of the Danube.

It was also easily reachable from Vienna airport - you can either catch the Slovak Lines bus to the Mlynské Nivy coach station and then walk for 15-20 minutes through the beautiful Old Town, or you can catch the Blaguss Line to the Nový most bridge which is about 5-10 minutes' walk from the botel. Of course, you can also arrive or depart on the hydrofoil which ends up about 2 minutes' from the botel.

I booked through a 3rd party website as it was cheaper than booking through the hotel itself and, as a single traveller, I was given a triple room!

I loved being able to wake up and look out from my bed over the river and towards the UFO tower on the bridge nearby. There was more then enough space for myself and the bathroom contained a nice, clean, warm shower. I was very happy with my space.

Breaksfast was also good, with enough of a selection to please everyone, I suspect.

The ONLY thing that has made me mark down the hotel is that it was incredibly noisy! The first night I had to put up with disco music until about 11 pm and throughout the following afternoon and night until about 11 pm again there were persistent loud noises that sounded like there was a rollercoaster flying over my head all the time. I managed to move rooms to two floors below, but it was still quite noisy.

I would certainly recommend staying here, but only if you had a view over the river and only if you brought earplugs with you.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view over the Danube to make it worthwhile staying on a botel in the first place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Great location--minutes walk from Old Town.
Lovely, friendly, helpful staff
Nice breakfast
Very reasonably priced
Fine accomodations
The uniqueness of staying on a boat
Why would you stay anywhere else?
(Just ask for a room that faces the Danube for the full effect)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We decided to try this Botel and we were very well impressed.
2 mins walk to the city center and not far from Airport and Bus Station.
We had a triple cabin and the size was reasonable, even for a boat.
Very clean and comfortable.
The views were amazing with the bridge and the boats passing by the Danube all day and night!
The food in the restaurant(we had lunch and breakfast) was OK, and the prices were very good.
A nice experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Perfect. Fantastic experience with children. We got two rooms on second floor, river view. Nice rooms very clean. Walking distance from all Bratislava spots. We came by boat from Viena and Botel gracia is 300m from the harbor. Excelent and helpful staff. It was snowing and snow falling on Danube was amazing!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Three Rivers, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

My son chose this "Botel" since it was unusual. There were three of us in a room which was small and compact but it was comfortable and quieter than I expected. Our room was on the street facing side which did get bright morning sun but it was not noisy. The breakfast was good and simple and the staff very pleasant. It was an easy walk to the downtown and other sites. I liked the location and the novelty of staying on the boat. It was convenient and a great value. I would ask for a room on the waterside next time for the view.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Botel Gracia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botel Gracia

Address: Razusovo nabrezie, Bratislava 811 02, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava > Staré Mesto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 89 hotels in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Botel Gracia 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for something special? Then Botel Gracia is the right place to visit. Right in the centre of Europe, 3 minutes from Bratislava city centre, beautiful view over the magnificent Danube river and Bratislava castle. Those are just some of things that make this facility so special. Botel after complete renovation awaits your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Botel Gracia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Botel Gracia Bratislava
Botel Gracia Hotel Bratislava

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Botel Gracia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.