We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff smile because they know they have a great Hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marrol's Boutique Hotel Bratislava

Save Saved
You added Marrol's Boutique Hotel Bratislava to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Marrol's Boutique Hotel Bratislava
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tobrucka 4, Bratislava 811 02, Slovakia (Staré Mesto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 89 hotels in Bratislava
Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The staff smile because they know they have a great Hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

First the basics: The location is good, being close to the centre of the old city but in a quiet side street. We stayed 3 nights and it cost 340 euros which is excellent value for such a good Hotel.

These days you expect five star hotels to consist of comfortable rooms with the offer of a quality breakfast. You also expect a business centre for the use of guests and a reliable WiFi to be available. You expect a boutique five star hotel to offer a touch of style and elegance to the above, dressing gowns/slippers etc... So what makes this hotel special?

They offer all of the above and free of charge, they also add to this a free mini bar which is a nice touch. They have exceptionally conscientious staff from the chambermaid, who was extremely helpful when we first arrived, to the front of house staff. They have Bar and Restaurant staff who seem to find time for everyone. It is a consistent attitude throughout the Hotel, which just makes you feel very comfortable, and able to ask for anything and know that you will get a friendly response.

I would also like to add a little bit about the Spa:

We arrived very early in the morning and so I was sure that our room would not be ready and I thought it might be a nice idea to use the Spa as a way of relaxing prior to our rooms being ready. I had read the web site prior to travelling and knew that the Spa consisted of a Jacuzzi, a Sauna and a Sun Bed. The description implied that the Spa was quite small as it was limited to six people and you had to book it as an individual group in two hour slots. The booking is 70 euro before 2pm and 100 euros after that. When you book it you get exclusive use of the Spa. It is not that small, there is plenty of room for 6 and there is also a sun terrace. This is a touch of luxury and elegance that I have not seen in any other hotel, and I would suggest that you should find the time to indulge if you can. The web-site does not do it justice, I should mention the huge plate of fruit and the mini bar as well. They also throw in an exercise machine for good measure but make no mistake this is about relaxing.

They even managed to have our room ready as we checked in a.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    602
    91
    11
    7
    2
See reviews for
60
369
47
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

From our arrival to our departure we were treated with utmost reserved respect. Staff was very professional and helpful. Quaint, not luxurious, room was well appointed and very omfortable.
We "dined" in the hotel dining room. Service was excellent and the food was beautifully prepared.

Room Tip: Small elevator, but if you travel light you will be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We wanted a good, elderly hotel with character, and in a central location, and this is exactly what we received.
The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. The room was well-equipped but not large, and the air-conditioning seemed to have a mind of its own.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Just spent the last three nights here and I cannot find a single fault. The location is just 5-10 minutes from the centre but has a real neighbourhood feel to it. Our room was a standard and not too huge but tastefully furnished with quality and style. The mini-bar is free and is re-stocked every day with wine/beer/water/soda/nuts - really nice touch. You also get a drink on arrival. The breakfasts are really lovely, served in the restaurant. The staff are very attentive and also friendly. They go out of their way to make this a perfect experience. Sleep quality was excellent too. Would definately both recommend and go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in an April heatwave. The hotel was fantastic from the start - they had arranged a driver to pick us up at the airport at less than usual taxi rates. Thge hotel was in a quiet location but only a 2 minute walk to the attractions of the old town. Reception was great, all spoke really good English and couldn't do enough to help. The room was a little smaller than expected but more than adequate and although we looked out over the sun terrace we didn't have any problems with noise. Every facility you might expect was there - including the possibility of borrowing a laptop if required. The free minibar was a bonus! Breakfast was very good with a huge range of foods from the usual continental cooked to a wide range of fruit, breads, yogurts and cold platters. It's a hotel I would recommend to friends and family in an instant - and if I return to Slovakia, I'll be booking again. A nicely appointed hotel made special by very friendly and capable staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Right in the center, in a small hidden street, a great little hotel that makes you feel you entered in a Bratislava a century ago. Rooms are decorated to make you feel like home, breakfast was fine. The only negative was a relatively small size (single room), but it was compensated by free minibar choice, so rare nowdays. Also, wellness was unfortunately not included in a room price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Znojmo, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We choosed this hotel because it is one of the Small luxury hotels group so we expected it will be really very good one, but it was not so amazing what we thought. The rooms are quiete small and if you would go to SPA you have to make reservation one day before (not so good if you stay only one night). The personal was not extra helpful or nice and the hotels restaurant was average. On the other side- the brakfeast was tasty and the private SPA was really nice.
In generally it was not bad, but I am definitely not intersted to come back again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaBratislava, Front Office Manager at Marrol's Boutique Hotel Bratislava, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time you took to share your review of your stay at Marrol's Boutique Hotel Bratislava on Tripadvisor.

It is true that the private spa booking need to be made in advance in order to deliver the fresh set-up and ensure ideal temperature in the sauna, we aim to be flexible in the bookings whenever the availability permits so that the guest can enjoy the spa facilities as soon as possible after their request.

Unfortunately from your comments about the our staff I am unable to identify a particular issue, as according your information you have been a guest with us in November last year, and would therefore greatly appreciate if you could contact me directly for more details should you wish to travel to Bratislava in the near future.

Kind regards,

Monika Slobodova
FOM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marrol's Boutique Hotel Bratislava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marrol's Boutique Hotel Bratislava

Also Known As:
Marrols Hotel Bratislava
Address: Tobrucka 4, Bratislava 811 02, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava > Staré Mesto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bratislava
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bratislava
#1 Family Hotel in Bratislava
#2 Business Hotel in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Marrol's Boutique Hotel Bratislava 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel Marrol’s, located in the heart of Bratislava historic center is a great starting point for your adventure or business, just few minutes walk from Slovak National Theater, St. Martin’s Cathedral and Primates Palace and just 10 minutes drive to business centers like Digital Park, Apollo Business Center or Incheba EXPO Arena. M.R.Štefánik Airport Bratislava (BTS) is 10 minutes away and Vienna Airport (VIE) is about 40 minutes drive away. Hotel Marrol’s offers accommodation in 54 stylish rooms and suites with the view on the historical streets of Bratislava or courtyard. Delightful restaurant Messina with variety of original dishes is inspired by Mediterranean and Slovak cuisine. Hotel lounge, Jasmine spa and private summer terrace are an exclusive places to rest and relax. Enjoy complimentary welcome drink, drinks in minibar, WiFi, free pay TV channels and fitness center access. Thank you for booking hotel Marrol's, a member of The Small Luxury Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Marrol's Boutique Hotel Bratislava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marrol's Boutique Hotel Bratislava, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.