We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfume Obsession” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apollo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Apollo Hotel to your Saves list
Apollo Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dulovo Namestie 1, Bratislava 821 08, Slovakia (Formerly Hotel Dukla)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 91 Hotels in Bratislava
World
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Perfume Obsession”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Nice hotel. Clean room. Good ambiance. Good sauna. Nice staff. In the gym the two showers don’t work – they’re either too hot or too cold and once of the stalls is broken so shower can’t hang above your head.

The restaurant was like a crematorium with corpses of dead animals hanging everywhere – very disgusting especially if you’re a vegetarian.

This hotel has an EXTREME OBSESSION with synthetic toxic perfumes. You find these bloody so called air freshners in every corner -- we kept finding more in our room – at the gym – inside the towel bin – under the table – etc etc
PLEASE you don’t need to expose your guests to such toxicity.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloHotelManager, Manager at Apollo Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear customer,
Thank you very much for telling us your opinion. We are very sorry to hear that part of our services was not at the level that you have expected as well as, that you had a bad experience with perfumes. I am really sorry; this is really not a standard of our hotel. We would like to assure you that we are doing continual improvements to better the product and keep it in a good quality level. We have already made several trainings on the housekeeping department and we added several quality controll processes into our system. I would like to honestly ask you to apologise all mistakes on our side. One more time, thank you for giving us the chance for improvement.
On the other hand, we are very happy to hear, that you were satisfied with the accommodation and cleanliness of our hotel.
We wish you all the best, with kind regard,
Apollo Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    132
    51
    9
    5
See reviews for
57
72
17
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

This is a lovely hotel. The rooms are a good size, the beds are comfy and the price is more than reasonable. It is a 20-minute walk into the Old Town, but buses run from outside the front of the hotel. There is a large, varied breakfast served and the staff were very helpful.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloHotelManager, Manager at Apollo Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear customer,
Thank you very much for your nice review. We are very happy to hear that you were satisfied with services of our hotel, accommodation, breakfast, as well as our employees. We also appreciate your positive valuation of convenient location of the hotel.
We wish you all the best; we are looking forward to welcome you at Apollo Hotel during your next stay in Bratislava.
With kind regards,
Apollo Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights over the new year. The hotel itself was very comfortable and clean with nice facilities such as the salt cave and a fitness centre.
Sadly the thing that let the whole experience down was the unhelpful and sometimes rude staff.
I was told repeatedly that there was no ice available for our wine and it was only when i said that i did not want the wine that the waiter miraculously found an ice bucket. We were ignored and had to get up from our table throughout our meal to ask for menu's and drinks even though there were only 3 tables in the restaurant. The hotel bar was closed every night during our stay due to the holidays even though we were not forwarned about this change and no apology was made for the loss of this service.
Over all i would say that you get decent value for money from this hotel just don't expect a smile or a helpful attitude!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloHotelManager, Manager at Apollo Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear customer,
Thank you very much for telling us your opinion. We are honestly sorry to hear that part of our services was not at the level that you have expected. We would like to assure you that we have already made several improvements, we have realized trainings and communication trainings with our waiters. I would like to apologize for all inconveniences that may cause.
On the other side, we are wery happy to hear, that you were satisfied with our comfortable rooms and level of cleanliness, unique salt cave, fitness and that you avaluate the good value of the hotel.
One more time, thank you for giving us the chance for improvement and for telling us your experience.
With kind regards,
Apollo Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Spent there 3 nights. Hotel from street view looks like just another socialistic building. But once entered positively surprised. Friendly staff, satisfying rooms, excellent breakfast, reasonable prices.
If in Bratislava again, indubitably back to find Apollo.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloHotelManager, Manager at Apollo Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear customer,
Thank you very much for your nice review. We are very happy to hear that you were satisfied with services of our hotel, accommodation, breakfast offer, and our highest value - hotel employees, Regarding the hotel building, we know about this disadvantage and are going to renovate our facade from outside to have nicer first impression.
We wish you all the best; we are looking forward to welcome you at Apollo Hotel during your next stay in Bratislava.
With kind regards,
Apollo Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

The hotel is very good, confortable, clean, everithing in order.
The price for the room, including breakfast, is really honest
and i am satisfied in all points of view.
Breakfast is excellent, there is everythink and the restaurant
is fantastic, a very good view and a good service.o
Nazario from Italy

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloHotelManager, Manager at Apollo Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear customer,
Thank you for your nice review. We are honestly happy to hear that you were satisfied with our services; we are trying to do our best. We are very glad that you appreciate quality of accommodation as well as service and dining level of our many times awarded St. Hubert Restaurant..
We wish you all the best; we are looking forward to your next visit.
With kind regards,
Apollo Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I'm very satisfied here. Hotel is quied, clean and have very good cuisin. They catter hunters menu and i had delicious goose liver. For the breakfast they have rich tables from sweet and eggs to light meals for fitness diet. Thank you, staff!

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloHotelManager, Manager at Apollo Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear customer,
Thank you very much for your nice and positive review. We are very happy to hear that you were satisfied with our employees and services that we offer. We also appreciate your positive valuation of St. Hubert restaurant, which was many times awarded for its excellent cuisine, as well as breakfast selection.
We wish you all the best; we are looking forward to your next visit in Apollo Hotel Bratislava.
With kind regards,
Apollo Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was a bit scruffy outside, and the area didn't look great. But it was quiet, the staff were helpful and friendly. The breakfast was alright, but it was free, The room was comfortable and clean with all the amenities you'd expect from a 4 star hotel.

Free wifi / ethernet
loads of channels in many languages on the TV

It's quite a long way from the centre, about 30 minutes walk, but it was only €10 in a cab to get back in the evening.

Don't eat at the restaurant as awful...

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloHotelManager, Manager at Apollo Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear customer,
Thank you for your nice review. We are honestly happy to hear that you were satisfied with our services. We are very glad that you appreciate our highest value - nice employees, as well as hotel accommodation and breakfast quality. We plan to renovate the hotel building facade to have a better first impression.
We wish you all the best; we are looking forward to your next visit.
With kind regards,
Apollo Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apollo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel

Address: Dulovo Namestie 1, Bratislava 821 08, Slovakia (Formerly Hotel Dukla)
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Bratislava
#17 Family Hotel in Bratislava
#17 Business Hotel in Bratislava
#25 Luxury Hotel in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Apollo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well known traditional hotel with a friendly staff, located in the heart of Bratislava´s business and residential district. 20 minutes walk or 5 minute drive by public bus to the Old Town. 7 km to BTS and 45km to VIE Airport, 10 minute walk to the Main Bus Station, 3km to the Main Train Station, KHL Stadium walking distance (1km), in walking distance to the new Slovak National Theatre and to Eurovea or Central shopping centres.The Apollo hotel Bratislava (former Dukla) is easily accessible from all the major roads and transport connections and Bratislava’s newest bridge across the Danube River, the Apollo Bridge, will lead you directly to the hotel. Spacious guarded onsite parking.All of the hotel´s spacious guestrooms are air-conditioned and feature free: wifi/high speed internet, coffee & tea facilities, bottle of water, salt cave & fitness , LCD TV with free Premium channels.The award winning St. Hubert Restaurant is well known for its excellent venison and international cuisine. Restaurant offers good value menus at reasonable prices.Other hotel facilities include: Lobby bar with summer terrace, conference facilities, salt cave, fitness centre, finnish sauna, massage, free Wi-Fi within the public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Apollo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollo Hotel Bratislava

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apollo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.