We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel but a bit out from the centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apollo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Apollo Hotel to your Saves list
Apollo Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dulovo Namestie 1, Bratislava 821 08, Slovakia (Formerly Hotel Dukla)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 92 Hotels in Bratislava
Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel but a bit out from the centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We got a taxi from the train station and were glad as we probably would have never have found it. The staff were friendly and helpful, we had no problems checking in and were well informed of the amenities. We walked into town with the help of the map we were provided with at reception. The old town was lovely and was worth the walk. We were glad to be back in the hotel before it got dark, as the neighbourhood would not be the most desirable. We used the salt chamber, which was a great amenity to have. We dined in the hotel restaurant and really enjoyed the atmosphere and the food was amazing. Rooms were spacious and comfortable. The breakfast was really nice and varied. It was a lovely hotel but only downfall was the location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloHotelManager, Manager at Apollo Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear customer,
Thank you for your review, it is always nice to hear that our customers are satisfied with services of our hotel. We appreciate that you liked our St.Hubert Restaurant, which was many times awarded for its excellent venison and offers various gourmet menus in affordable prices. We are also happy to hear that you find our guest rooms comfortable and that you liked our employees and staff members.
We are looking forward to welcome you again at Apollo Hotel in the future. We wish you all the best.
With kind regards,
Apollo Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    162
    65
    13
    6
See reviews for
68
92
22
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Been to this hotel for one short visit to Bratislava.
The Hotel is very nice, rooms are big and breakfast has a big selection of everything.
The Hotel is in walking distance to the old town area, at avout 20 minutes by foot.
Parking was 9 euros per day, but remember that in the weekends parking on the streets is free...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloHotelManager, Manager at Apollo Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear customer,
thank you very much for your nice and positive review, we are happy to hear that you were satisfied with services of our hotel. We are very glad that you liked our rooms, as well as breakfast offer. We also appreciate your positive valuation of our location and its connectivity to downtown.
We wish you all the best and are looking forward to your next visit in Apollo Hotel Bratislava.
With kind regards,
Apollo Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

very reliable personel, international guests always gets what they ask for and want to stay only in this hotel. Dozen of int guest put in this hotel on weekly basis. I dont know what to say more, just to fill 200 characters, and I gues almost there:)

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloHotelManager, Manager at Apollo Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear customer,
thank you very much for your nice and positive review, we are happy to hear that you were satisfied with services of our hotel and employees as a highest value.
We wish you all the best and are looking forward to your next visit in Apollo Hotel Bratislava.
With kind regards,
Apollo Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I've just visited Bratislava with my family and we stayed at this hotel for 4 nights.

First of all, I'd like to say that even though the exterior of the hotel looks kind of old and crappy, the interior is a lot more classy. It's located at about 15-20 minutes of walking from the city centre (where most of the attractions are). It can be tiresome to walk that distance after a day full of sightseeing under the hot sun.

The parking lot is in front of the hotel, however you have to pay 9 € / day.

The staff was alright, smiling most of the time :)

Nice to have AC in the rooms, else we would have died (because it was so hot until late in the evening). However, I prefer sleeping with the window opened and the AC turned off, but the windows didn't have insect-nets. There was also a TV, a refrigerator and a desk + coffee machine. We would receive tee and a bottle of water every day for free. The internet connection was O.K. on LAN, but on wireless, it was a nightmare... awful signal.

The breakfast was great! Delicious and varied food. I recommend the pancakes! Yummy!

All in all it's a great hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloHotelManager, Manager at Apollo Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear customer,
thank you very much for your nice review and positive valuation of our employees, which mostly are working in our company for years. We are honestly happy that you were satisfied with services of our hotel, accommodation, cleanliness, breakfast selection. We also appreciate your positive valuation of our location and car park. Regarding our façade, we plan to renovate it in a short time, to have a better first impression also from outside of the hotel.
We wish you all the best and are looking forward to welcome you at Apollo Hotel Bratislava again.
With kind regards,
Apollo Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Great location in Bratislava - in quiet area yet fairly close to city centre (10-15 min.walk). Clean and well maintained interior, arranged with taste. Staff was helpful and spoke good English. Breakfast offered variety of choices (important if you travel with kids). Nice rooms, fridge, air conditioning working very well despite 37 C outside, Free WiFi worked reliably and fast. Parking space available (paid). 4-star rating is fully deserved.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloHotelManager, Manager at Apollo Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear customer,
Thank you very much for your nice review. We are very happy to hear that you were satisfied with services of Apollo hotel, accommodation and breakfast, as well as our employees. We also appreciate your positive valuation of convenient location of the hotel.
We wish you all the best; we are looking forward to welcome you at Apollo Hotel during your next stay in Bratislava.
With kind regards,
Apollo Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Lovely Hotel... great helpful reception staff... large comfortable rooms, very comfortable.. well equipped... great breakfast... good location.... Even enjoyed the Salt Cellar ! Air conditioning was a life saver, it is very hot in Bratislava in August... but a little noisey !! Car Park was very convienent...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloHotelManager, Manager at Apollo Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear customer,
thank you very much for your nice review and positive valuation of our employees, which mostly are working in our company for years. We are honestly happy that you were satisfied with services of our hotel, accommodation, cleanliness, salt cave and breakfast selection. We also appreciate your positive valuation of our location and car park.
We wish you all the best and are looking forward to welcome you at Apollo Hotel Bratislava again.
With kind regards,
Apollo Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

First impressions were fantastic, very luxurious and within easy reach of the town centre. However it seems that once you scratch the surface things are as cheap as possible whilst looking as good as possible.

The breakfast was ok, however the hot plate stuff was stone cold and having come down at 9.30am and asked politely if there were any more pancakes at 10am we were told that breakfast was finished, even though it doesn't finish until 10.30.

All this was excusable, the main issue is not. We had left the windows closed all day, instead using the air conditioning. At about 11pm I was reading a book on the bed and I noticed little flies dropping on we, I looked up to see the top corner of the room covered!! We went down to the reception hoping for bug spray/ a change of room but from the receptionist we got 'how is this my problem, what can I do about it?!' This made a situation which could have been smoothed over easily into something I wont remember for a long time. When I mentioned that perhaps we should complain she suddenly barked out 'I will get you another room, you can sleep in that and give to keys in'. No apology, no 'let me get you complimentary drinks', nothing! On going into the replacement room we noticed it smelt much fresher than the old room, but didn't have a bath, so check what you are getting with your room!

In short we will never go back to this hotel or to Bratislava, we felt distinctly unwelcome. (Btw, I dont have ridiculously high expectations, we are half way around a tour of Europe which is giving us an excellent perspective when comparing hotels.

Room Tip: Don't speak to the night receptionist, she is really mean!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloHotelManager, Manager at Apollo Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear customer,
Thank you very much for telling us your opinion. We are very sorry to hear that part of our services was not at the level that you have expected as well as, that you had a bad experience with flies. I am really sorry; your room did not have a mosquito net on the window, which, of course, is our problem. Also mistakes during the breakfast as well as problems in communication at our reception, I would like to honestly ask you to apologise all mistakes on our side. We would like to assure you that we are doing continual improvements to better the product and keep it in a good quality level. One more time, thank you for giving us the chance for improvement.
We wish you all the best, with kind regard,
Apollo Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bratislava hotels
Mercure Bratislava Centrum
#18 of 92 in Bratislava
4.5 of 5 stars 953 reviews
Staré Mesto
Ibis Bratislava Centrum
Ibis Bratislava Centrum
#28 of 92 in Bratislava
4.0 of 5 stars 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Bratislava
#39 of 92 in Bratislava
4.0 of 5 stars 77 reviews
Park Inn Danube Bratislava
#35 of 92 in Bratislava
3.5 of 5 stars 750 reviews
Staré Mesto
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
#9 of 92 in Bratislava
4.5 of 5 stars 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel

Address: Dulovo Namestie 1, Bratislava 821 08, Slovakia (Formerly Hotel Dukla)
Phone Number:
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Bratislava
#17 Family Hotel in Bratislava
#19 Business Hotel in Bratislava
#25 Luxury Hotel in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Apollo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well known traditional hotel with a friendly staff, located in the heart of Bratislava´s business and residential district. 20 minutes walk or 5 minute drive by public bus to the Old Town. 7 km to BTS and 45km to VIE Airport, 10 minute walk to the Main Bus Station, 3km to the Main Train Station, KHL Stadium walking distance (1km), in walking distance to the new Slovak National Theatre and to Eurovea or Central shopping centres.The Apollo hotel Bratislava (former Dukla) is easily accessible from all the major roads and transport connections and Bratislava’s newest bridge across the Danube River, the Apollo Bridge, will lead you directly to the hotel. Spacious guarded onsite parking.All of the hotel´s spacious guestrooms are air-conditioned and feature free: wifi/high speed internet, coffee & tea facilities, bottle of water, salt cave & fitness , LCD TV with free Premium channels.The award winning St. Hubert Restaurant is well known for its excellent venison and international cuisine. Restaurant offers good value menus at reasonable prices.Other hotel facilities include: Lobby bar with summer terrace, conference facilities, salt cave, fitness centre, finnish sauna, massage, free Wi-Fi within the public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Apollo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollo Hotel Bratislava

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apollo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.