We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apollo Hotel

Save Saved
You added Apollo Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Apollo Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dulovo Namestie 1, Bratislava 821 08, Slovakia (Formerly Hotel Dukla)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 89 hotels in Bratislava
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

very reliable personel, international guests always gets what they ask for and want to stay only in this hotel. Dozen of int guest put in this hotel on weekly basis. I dont know what to say more, just to fill 200 characters, and I gues almost there:)

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloHotelManager, Manager at Apollo Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear customer,
thank you very much for your nice and positive review, we are happy to hear that you were satisfied with services of our hotel and employees as a highest value.
We wish you all the best and are looking forward to your next visit in Apollo Hotel Bratislava.
With kind regards,
Apollo Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    99
    43
    7
    3
See reviews for
47
49
12
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I've just visited Bratislava with my family and we stayed at this hotel for 4 nights.

First of all, I'd like to say that even though the exterior of the hotel looks kind of old and crappy, the interior is a lot more classy. It's located at about 15-20 minutes of walking from the city centre (where most of the attractions are). It can be tiresome to walk that distance after a day full of sightseeing under the hot sun.

The parking lot is in front of the hotel, however you have to pay 9 € / day.

The staff was alright, smiling most of the time :)

Nice to have AC in the rooms, else we would have died (because it was so hot until late in the evening). However, I prefer sleeping with the window opened and the AC turned off, but the windows didn't have insect-nets. There was also a TV, a refrigerator and a desk + coffee machine. We would receive tee and a bottle of water every day for free. The internet connection was O.K. on LAN, but on wireless, it was a nightmare... awful signal.

The breakfast was great! Delicious and varied food. I recommend the pancakes! Yummy!

All in all it's a great hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloHotelManager, Manager at Apollo Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear customer,
thank you very much for your nice review and positive valuation of our employees, which mostly are working in our company for years. We are honestly happy that you were satisfied with services of our hotel, accommodation, cleanliness, breakfast selection. We also appreciate your positive valuation of our location and car park. Regarding our façade, we plan to renovate it in a short time, to have a better first impression also from outside of the hotel.
We wish you all the best and are looking forward to welcome you at Apollo Hotel Bratislava again.
With kind regards,
Apollo Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Great location in Bratislava - in quiet area yet fairly close to city centre (10-15 min.walk). Clean and well maintained interior, arranged with taste. Staff was helpful and spoke good English. Breakfast offered variety of choices (important if you travel with kids). Nice rooms, fridge, air conditioning working very well despite 37 C outside, Free WiFi worked reliably and fast. Parking space available (paid). 4-star rating is fully deserved.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloHotelManager, Manager at Apollo Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear customer,
Thank you very much for your nice review. We are very happy to hear that you were satisfied with services of Apollo hotel, accommodation and breakfast, as well as our employees. We also appreciate your positive valuation of convenient location of the hotel.
We wish you all the best; we are looking forward to welcome you at Apollo Hotel during your next stay in Bratislava.
With kind regards,
Apollo Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Lovely Hotel... great helpful reception staff... large comfortable rooms, very comfortable.. well equipped... great breakfast... good location.... Even enjoyed the Salt Cellar ! Air conditioning was a life saver, it is very hot in Bratislava in August... but a little noisey !! Car Park was very convienent...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloHotelManager, Manager at Apollo Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear customer,
thank you very much for your nice review and positive valuation of our employees, which mostly are working in our company for years. We are honestly happy that you were satisfied with services of our hotel, accommodation, cleanliness, salt cave and breakfast selection. We also appreciate your positive valuation of our location and car park.
We wish you all the best and are looking forward to welcome you at Apollo Hotel Bratislava again.
With kind regards,
Apollo Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

First impressions were fantastic, very luxurious and within easy reach of the town centre. However it seems that once you scratch the surface things are as cheap as possible whilst looking as good as possible.

The breakfast was ok, however the hot plate stuff was stone cold and having come down at 9.30am and asked politely if there were any more pancakes at 10am we were told that breakfast was finished, even though it doesn't finish until 10.30.

All this was excusable, the main issue is not. We had left the windows closed all day, instead using the air conditioning. At about 11pm I was reading a book on the bed and I noticed little flies dropping on we, I looked up to see the top corner of the room covered!! We went down to the reception hoping for bug spray/ a change of room but from the receptionist we got 'how is this my problem, what can I do about it?!' This made a situation which could have been smoothed over easily into something I wont remember for a long time. When I mentioned that perhaps we should complain she suddenly barked out 'I will get you another room, you can sleep in that and give to keys in'. No apology, no 'let me get you complimentary drinks', nothing! On going into the replacement room we noticed it smelt much fresher than the old room, but didn't have a bath, so check what you are getting with your room!

In short we will never go back to this hotel or to Bratislava, we felt distinctly unwelcome. (Btw, I dont have ridiculously high expectations, we are half way around a tour of Europe which is giving us an excellent perspective when comparing hotels.

Room Tip: Don't speak to the night receptionist, she is really mean!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloHotelManager, Manager at Apollo Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear customer,
Thank you very much for telling us your opinion. We are very sorry to hear that part of our services was not at the level that you have expected as well as, that you had a bad experience with flies. I am really sorry; your room did not have a mosquito net on the window, which, of course, is our problem. Also mistakes during the breakfast as well as problems in communication at our reception, I would like to honestly ask you to apologise all mistakes on our side. We would like to assure you that we are doing continual improvements to better the product and keep it in a good quality level. One more time, thank you for giving us the chance for improvement.
We wish you all the best, with kind regard,
Apollo Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ekalaka, Montana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I was here for a conference and was not disappointed. As others have remarked, the exterior leaves a lot to be desired--my Slovak colleague who was my escort on the trip warned me, "Don't worry, it goes back to Soviet days, but the inside is better!" And it certainly is: warm and welcoming, with a very attentive staff and well-appointed rooms. It is really ideal for "conferencing," but equally nice for a non-business visitor. Located on a quiet square, off the beaten track, where local people walk their dogs and stroll with their children, it is in a quiet, congenial setting with essentials--currency exchange, drugstore, transportation--right there.

Be sure to avail yourself of the hotel restaurant--it is a superb game restaurant, and each of the several meals I had there was memorable. Forget everything the travel guides say about Slovak food tending toward the rich and heavy side: from pheasant soup to wild boar pate to red deer prime rib--all with varied and succulent vegetable accompaniments and served with really good regional wines--it was all excellent. And the décor is fantastic!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloHotelManager, Manager at Apollo Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear customer,
Thank you for your review, it is always nice to hear that our customers are satisfied with services of our hotel. We appreciate that you liked our St.Hubert Restaurant, which was many times awarded for its excellent venison and offers various gourmet menus in affordable prices. We are also happy to hear that you find our hotel comfortable for conferences and business stay.
Regarding the hotel building and the surrounding area, we are going to renovate our facade from outside to make nicer first impression 
We are looking forward to welcome you again at Apollo Hotel in the future. We wish you all the best.
With kind regards,
Apollo Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Hotel is located in a quiet area in Bratislava and the rooms are nice, modern and clean. Free Wifi access and breakfast is good for the price you pay. In 30 minutes you will walk to the city center of Bratislava or you can take a taxi and you're there in a few minutes. You pay a good price for a nice hotel.

Room Tip: Best rooms are on the 2nd or 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloHotelManager, Manager at Apollo Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear customer,
thank you very much for your nice review, with a positive underline of our value for the money. We are happy that you were satisfied with services of our hotel, accommodation, cleanliness and breakfast selection. We also appreciate your positive valuation of our location and its connectivity to downtown.
We wish you all the best and are looking forward to welcome you at Apollo Hotel Bratislava again.
With kind regards,
Apollo Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Apollo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel

Address: Dulovo Namestie 1, Bratislava 821 08, Slovakia (Formerly Hotel Dukla)
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Bratislava
#18 Business Hotel in Bratislava
#25 Luxury Hotel in Bratislava
#25 Romantic Hotel in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Apollo Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well known traditional hotel with a friendly staff, located in the heart of Bratislava´s business and residential district. 20 minutes walk or 5 minute drive by public bus to the Old Town. 7 km to BTS and 45km to VIE Airport, 10 minute walk to the Main Bus Station, 3km to the Main Train Station, KHL Stadium walking distance (1km), in walking distance to the new Slovak National Theatre and to Eurovea or Central shopping centres.The Apollo hotel Bratislava (former Dukla) is easily accessible from all the major roads and transport connections and Bratislava’s newest bridge across the Danube River, the Apollo Bridge, will lead you directly to the hotel. Spacious guarded onsite parking.All of the hotel´s spacious guestrooms are air-conditioned and feature free: wifi/high speed internet, coffee & tea facilities, bottle of water, salt cave & fitness , LCD TV with free Premium channels.The award winning St. Hubert Restaurant is well known for its excellent venison and international cuisine. Restaurant offers good value menus at reasonable prices.Other hotel facilities include: Lobby bar with summer terrace, conference facilities, salt cave, fitness centre, finnish sauna, massage, free Wi-Fi within the public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Apollo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollo Hotel Bratislava

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apollo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.