We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay in Bratislava.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apollo Hotel

Save Saved
You added Apollo Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Apollo Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dulovo Namestie 1, Bratislava 821 08, Slovakia (Formerly Hotel Dukla)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 89 hotels in Bratislava
Newquay, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Stay in Bratislava.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Lovely Hotel... great helpful reception staff... large comfortable rooms, very comfortable.. well equipped... great breakfast... good location.... Even enjoyed the Salt Cellar ! Air conditioning was a life saver, it is very hot in Bratislava in August... but a little noisey !! Car Park was very convienent...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloHotelManager, Manager at Apollo Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear customer,
thank you very much for your nice review and positive valuation of our employees, which mostly are working in our company for years. We are honestly happy that you were satisfied with services of our hotel, accommodation, cleanliness, salt cave and breakfast selection. We also appreciate your positive valuation of our location and car park.
We wish you all the best and are looking forward to welcome you at Apollo Hotel Bratislava again.
With kind regards,
Apollo Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    103
    45
    8
    3
See reviews for
45
49
11
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

First impressions were fantastic, very luxurious and within easy reach of the town centre. However it seems that once you scratch the surface things are as cheap as possible whilst looking as good as possible.

The breakfast was ok, however the hot plate stuff was stone cold and having come down at 9.30am and asked politely if there were any more pancakes at 10am we were told that breakfast was finished, even though it doesn't finish until 10.30.

All this was excusable, the main issue is not. We had left the windows closed all day, instead using the air conditioning. At about 11pm I was reading a book on the bed and I noticed little flies dropping on we, I looked up to see the top corner of the room covered!! We went down to the reception hoping for bug spray/ a change of room but from the receptionist we got 'how is this my problem, what can I do about it?!' This made a situation which could have been smoothed over easily into something I wont remember for a long time. When I mentioned that perhaps we should complain she suddenly barked out 'I will get you another room, you can sleep in that and give to keys in'. No apology, no 'let me get you complimentary drinks', nothing! On going into the replacement room we noticed it smelt much fresher than the old room, but didn't have a bath, so check what you are getting with your room!

In short we will never go back to this hotel or to Bratislava, we felt distinctly unwelcome. (Btw, I dont have ridiculously high expectations, we are half way around a tour of Europe which is giving us an excellent perspective when comparing hotels.

Room Tip: Don't speak to the night receptionist, she is really mean!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloHotelManager, Manager at Apollo Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear customer,
Thank you very much for telling us your opinion. We are very sorry to hear that part of our services was not at the level that you have expected as well as, that you had a bad experience with flies. I am really sorry; your room did not have a mosquito net on the window, which, of course, is our problem. Also mistakes during the breakfast as well as problems in communication at our reception, I would like to honestly ask you to apologise all mistakes on our side. We would like to assure you that we are doing continual improvements to better the product and keep it in a good quality level. One more time, thank you for giving us the chance for improvement.
We wish you all the best, with kind regard,
Apollo Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ekalaka, Montana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I was here for a conference and was not disappointed. As others have remarked, the exterior leaves a lot to be desired--my Slovak colleague who was my escort on the trip warned me, "Don't worry, it goes back to Soviet days, but the inside is better!" And it certainly is: warm and welcoming, with a very attentive staff and well-appointed rooms. It is really ideal for "conferencing," but equally nice for a non-business visitor. Located on a quiet square, off the beaten track, where local people walk their dogs and stroll with their children, it is in a quiet, congenial setting with essentials--currency exchange, drugstore, transportation--right there.

Be sure to avail yourself of the hotel restaurant--it is a superb game restaurant, and each of the several meals I had there was memorable. Forget everything the travel guides say about Slovak food tending toward the rich and heavy side: from pheasant soup to wild boar pate to red deer prime rib--all with varied and succulent vegetable accompaniments and served with really good regional wines--it was all excellent. And the décor is fantastic!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloHotelManager, Manager at Apollo Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear customer,
Thank you for your review, it is always nice to hear that our customers are satisfied with services of our hotel. We appreciate that you liked our St.Hubert Restaurant, which was many times awarded for its excellent venison and offers various gourmet menus in affordable prices. We are also happy to hear that you find our hotel comfortable for conferences and business stay.
Regarding the hotel building and the surrounding area, we are going to renovate our facade from outside to make nicer first impression 
We are looking forward to welcome you again at Apollo Hotel in the future. We wish you all the best.
With kind regards,
Apollo Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Hotel is located in a quiet area in Bratislava and the rooms are nice, modern and clean. Free Wifi access and breakfast is good for the price you pay. In 30 minutes you will walk to the city center of Bratislava or you can take a taxi and you're there in a few minutes. You pay a good price for a nice hotel.

Room Tip: Best rooms are on the 2nd or 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloHotelManager, Manager at Apollo Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear customer,
thank you very much for your nice review, with a positive underline of our value for the money. We are happy that you were satisfied with services of our hotel, accommodation, cleanliness and breakfast selection. We also appreciate your positive valuation of our location and its connectivity to downtown.
We wish you all the best and are looking forward to welcome you at Apollo Hotel Bratislava again.
With kind regards,
Apollo Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

From outside hotel is not looking so good like inside. So don't take outside view as opinion. Rooms are nice with comfortable beds. Air conditioning is quite noisy but it wasn't an issued or me. Elevator is horrible upon summer. Lack of airconditioning there is just unacceptable. Breakfast are tasty with good choice of everything you will need. You will need to use the bus to get to the centre which is really easy. Bus stop is just few meters from hotel and ticket will cost you about 70 cents. Of course you can go by walk for about 20 minutes. There is wifi but somehow I wasn't able to connect with my iPhone and Samsung. But if you have laptop you can use wired connection as well. On TV you will find about 15 channels including BBC and CNN.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloHotelManager, Manager at Apollo Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear customer,
Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy to hear that you were satisfied with services of our hotel, accommodation and TV channels selection, as well as a pleasant connectivity to downtown. I am really sorry for the internet connection failure; we have made several improvements to avoid similar complications in the future. Regarding the hotel building and the surrounding area, we are going to renovate our facade from outside to have nicer first impression.
We wish you all the best; we are looking forward to welcome you at Apollo Hotel during your next stay in Bratislava.
With kind regards,
Apollo Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Don't be put-off by the exterior of this hotel - it blends perfectly with the 60/70's communist concrete architecture of the area. When inside it is really quite nice.

My initial welcome to the hotel was not great - the receptionist is clearly in the wrong job. However all other staff seemed great.

One problem was that the aircon was broken, and they could not fix it in the 2.5 days I was there. There had been floods in the town week before, so they recommended not to open the windows in the room (midges). However it was unbearably hot so I had to leave the windows open all night. Not too noisy, and a bit cooler.

Overall - fairly nice hotel for business, but not really for a romantic break! Good value.

Two tips:
1. If you are flying into Vienna, then the buses terminate at the station not far from this hotel (less than 1km). Alternatively pre-book a taxi - I used www.taxitransport.sk and had a nice new Mercedes transfer for only €46 - much cheaper than airport taxis.
2. If you find your safe in your room does not unlock when using the correct code, then push the door in slightly and re-type the code!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloHotelManager, Manager at Apollo Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear customer,
Thank you very much for telling us your opinion. We are honestly sorry to hear that part of our services was not at the level that you have expected. We would like to assure you that we have already made several improvements, the entire problem with air condition was made by our internal communication mistake and I would like to apologize for all inconveniences that may cause. Regarding the hotel building and the surrounding area, we are going to renovate our facade from outside to have nicer first impression.
One more time, thank you for giving us the chance for improvement and for telling us your experience.
With kind regards,
Apollo Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Bratislava hotels
Restaurant, Cit...
Show More
Staré Mesto
Ibis Bratislava Centrum
Ibis Bratislava Centrum
#28 of 89 in Bratislava
4.0 of 5 stars 773 reviews
Quiet, Restaura...
Show More
Staré Mesto
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
#11 of 89 in Bratislava
4.5 of 5 stars 338 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
Mercure Bratislava Centrum
Mercure Bratislava Centrum
#12 of 89 in Bratislava
4.5 of 5 stars 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free internet...
Show More
Hotel Bratislava
Hotel Bratislava
#33 of 89 in Bratislava
4.0 of 5 stars 30 reviews
Luxury, Quiet...
Show More
BEST WESTERN Hotel West
BEST WESTERN Hotel West
#36 of 89 in Bratislava
4.0 of 5 stars 47 reviews
Airport Transpo...
Show More
Old City Hotel
Old City Hotel
#50 of 89 in Bratislava
3.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel

Address: Dulovo Namestie 1, Bratislava 821 08, Slovakia (Formerly Hotel Dukla)
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Bratislava
#18 Business Hotel in Bratislava
#25 Luxury Hotel in Bratislava
#25 Romantic Hotel in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Apollo Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well known traditional hotel with a friendly staff, located in the heart of Bratislava´s business and residential district. 20 minutes walk or 5 minute drive by public bus to the Old Town. 7 km to BTS and 45km to VIE Airport, 10 minute walk to the Main Bus Station, 3km to the Main Train Station, KHL Stadium walking distance (1km), in walking distance to the new Slovak National Theatre and to Eurovea or Central shopping centres.The Apollo hotel Bratislava (former Dukla) is easily accessible from all the major roads and transport connections and Bratislava’s newest bridge across the Danube River, the Apollo Bridge, will lead you directly to the hotel. Spacious guarded onsite parking.All of the hotel´s spacious guestrooms are air-conditioned and feature free: wifi/high speed internet, coffee & tea facilities, bottle of water, salt cave & fitness , LCD TV with free Premium channels.The award winning St. Hubert Restaurant is well known for its excellent venison and international cuisine. Restaurant offers good value menus at reasonable prices.Other hotel facilities include: Lobby bar with summer terrace, conference facilities, salt cave, fitness centre, finnish sauna, massage, free Wi-Fi within the public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Apollo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollo Hotel Bratislava

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apollo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.