We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apollo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Apollo Hotel to your Saves list
Apollo Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dulovo Namestie 1, Bratislava 821 08, Slovakia (Formerly Hotel Dukla)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 91 Hotels in Bratislava
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Very good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed only for a night, so we didn't have time to familiarize with the public transportation, but seems to be close to the historical centre.
The rooms are clean, nice and friendly. You will find coffe, tea and water from the house.
The breckfast was plentiful, with a lot of worm and cold dishes.
The personnel was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloHotelManager, Manager at Apollo Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear customer,
Thank you for your review, it is always nice to hear that customers are satisfied with our services. We appreciate that you liked our staff as a highest value of every htel, as well as the cleanliness. We are looking forward to welcome you again at Apollo Hotel in the future. We wish you all the best.
With kind regards,
Apollo Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    132
    51
    9
    5
See reviews for
57
72
17
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kragujevac, Serbia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Located in residential part of the city, near central bus station and couple of bus stops away from the center of the city and university. Public transportation is very good and easy to use, and bus stations are very close to the hotel. Rooms are nice with standard equipment for four star hotel. Maids tend to forget to give additional soup our shampoos, and even did not have enough towels. After explaining situation to receptionist, problem was solved quickly. Breakfast is very good, with wide variety of dishes and drinks. We were satisfied with the value for money because we found cheap arrangement.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloHotelManager, Manager at Apollo Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear customer,
thank you very much for your nice review. We are very happy to hear that you were satisfied with our services; we are trying to do our best. We would like to especially thank you for your positive valuation of the location of Apollo Hotel with easy access to various points of interest. We are very sorry about the mistake of the chambermaid; we have a few new employees in the housekeeping... On the other hand, we are happy to hear about competent and fast solution of our reception staff. We appreciate your positive valuation of hotel breakfast and value for the money.
We wish you all the best and are looking forward to your next visit in Apollo Hotel Bratislava.
With kind regards,
Apollo Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed in the hotel from 27 - 29 of December'12 in two rooms with my husband and brother.
Hotel has really friendly stuff, both receptionists ( Petra and Petra) were exceptionally helpful to us. When I needed a pharmacy in the middle of the night, Petra looked for nearest 24-opened pharmacy ( located in the near by policlinic). The information I found myself on-line was wrong and that location was closed. Both receptionists spoke fluently in English, Russian and I think some other languages as well. They provided all information we needed: maps, directions, public transport info. Also, we asked Petra for suggested local cuisine restaurants, which will have great atmosphere and will be decent price wise ( try Slovak pub #1 - fun place to try good local food and beer).
The hotel has good size functional rooms, including: mini-bar, coffee machine, living area with coffee table and chairs, working area with table and TV, hairdryer, all well maintained.
Really liked restaurant, where breakfast was served, sophisticated hunter-style design if you looking to meet some business partners will impress them for sure.
Location of the hotel: about 15-20 min walking from the old center, right in front of the bus stop, 5 min walking from main bus station, taxi stand right in front. Has decent bar ( Captain Morgan) around the corner, pharmacy ( 8am - 7 pm) in front, bank with bankomat (ATM) in the same building.
Parking right in front of the hotel, which is really convenient if you want to use car a lot.

Overall, we will defiantly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you want to see your car and sunrise - pick the room on the front side of the hotel, they also ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloHotelManager, Manager at Apollo Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear customer,
thank you very much for your nice and positive review. We are very happy to hear that you were satisfied with our services. We know that employees are the highest value of the hotel and cleanliness and comfort of guest rooms are very important. It is great to see your high rating of Apollo Hotel staff – most of our employees at the reception (including Petra and Petra) are already working for us for several years. We appreciate that you liked our St.Hubert Restaurant (which was many times awarded for its excellent venison) and its hunting style, as well as our location with good connectivity.
We are looking forward to welcome you again at Apollo Hotel in the future. We wish you all the best.
With kind regards,
Apollo Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

I like restaurant in this hotel, because i like hunter style ;-) and location is also good for visiting of old town of Bratislava. And staff is to very, very good :-) Rooms are very clean, bathroom very romantic ;-)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloHotelManager, Manager at Apollo Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear customer,
thank you very much for your nice review. We are very happy to hear that you were satisfied with your services; we are trying to do our best. We would like to especially thank you for your positive valuation of the location of Apollo Hotel and of the fact that the hotel is easily reachable from downtown. We appreciate your positive valuation of our employees and cleanliness, as well as of our St. Hubert restaurant, well known for its venison and international specialties, which is decorated in hunting style.
We wish you all the best and are looking forward to your next visit in Apollo Hotel Bratislava.
With kind regards,
Apollo Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Very functional rooms. Rooms and toilet clean. Internet that works great. Good spread in breakfast. Not much for vegetarians. But, when I talked to the manager, they organized for a special dish. Very helpful front desk folks in terms of providing directions, guidance. Very close to the main bus stand.

All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloHotelManager, Manager at Apollo Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear customer,
thank you very much for your review. We are very happy that you were satisfied with our services; we are trying to do our best. Employees are the highest value of every hotel and we are pleased to hear positive reactions about services and professionalism of our reception staff. We wish you all the best; and are looking forward to welcome you at Apollo Hotel in future again.
With kind regards,
Apollo Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Hotel is located near Bratislava's financial district. It has 80's patina all over, from rooms to lobby what is kind of cute. Amenities include free wi-fi and bottle of water. Rooms are clean, beds are confortable but carpets are quite old and needs to be changed. They offer wide meal selection for the breakfast (english, continental, european and as couriosity local stew/goulash as well). Parking lot is in front of the hotel, no garage.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloHotelManager, Manager at Apollo Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear customer,
thank you very much for your opinion. We are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with our services – cleanliness, breakfast, free Wi-Fi and complimentary bottled water. Regarding the patina of our hotel, the hotel is designed in a classical style with a touch of local atmosphere, and is just now renovating its comfort category rooms. It means that in the end of this month we will have new carpets, curtains, paintings…act.
One more time, thank you for your review. We wish you good luck, and are looking forward to welcome you again at Apollo Hotel in the future.
With kind regards,
Apollo Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel, a little dated now and could do with a refurb.

We stayed for 4 nights and the hotel and location was fine and suitable enough for our needs. £168 for 4 nights with a buffet breakfast was good value for us in October!

Pros;

Pleasant staff, very helpful with directions

Bus stop is across the road

Simple but good buffet breakfast

Free bottled water every day

Free WiFi

Room windows fully open

Tesco express 2 minutes away for those who need one!

5 minute bus ride from a brand new shopping centre that had just been open 2 days. From there take another bus for about 3 stops to Polus City Center which is another large shopping complex

Cons;

20 minute walk from the Old Town, it wasn't an issue for us really but I know a few will be put off.

Dated/tired rooms

Pasta, broccoli and carrots for breakfast!

Women may be a little put off walking back in their own without a partner.






  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloHotelManager, Manager at Apollo Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear customer,
Thank you very much for your nice review. It is always nice to hear that our customers are satisfied with services that we offer and with our employees work. We are also very happy that you appreciate our breakfast, free Wi-Fi and bottled water, as well as location and access to shopping centers and city center.
Regarding Guest rooms – we are just now renovating our comfort category rooms, which in the end of this month will have new carpets, curtains, will be painted … act.
We are looking forward to welcome you again at Apollo Hotel in the future.
We wish you all the best, with kind regards,
Apollo Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apollo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel

Address: Dulovo Namestie 1, Bratislava 821 08, Slovakia (Formerly Hotel Dukla)
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Bratislava
#17 Business Hotel in Bratislava
#17 Family Hotel in Bratislava
#25 Luxury Hotel in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Apollo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well known traditional hotel with a friendly staff, located in the heart of Bratislava´s business and residential district. 20 minutes walk or 5 minute drive by public bus to the Old Town. 7 km to BTS and 45km to VIE Airport, 10 minute walk to the Main Bus Station, 3km to the Main Train Station, KHL Stadium walking distance (1km), in walking distance to the new Slovak National Theatre and to Eurovea or Central shopping centres.The Apollo hotel Bratislava (former Dukla) is easily accessible from all the major roads and transport connections and Bratislava’s newest bridge across the Danube River, the Apollo Bridge, will lead you directly to the hotel. Spacious guarded onsite parking.All of the hotel´s spacious guestrooms are air-conditioned and feature free: wifi/high speed internet, coffee & tea facilities, bottle of water, salt cave & fitness , LCD TV with free Premium channels.The award winning St. Hubert Restaurant is well known for its excellent venison and international cuisine. Restaurant offers good value menus at reasonable prices.Other hotel facilities include: Lobby bar with summer terrace, conference facilities, salt cave, fitness centre, finnish sauna, massage, free Wi-Fi within the public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Apollo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollo Hotel Bratislava

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apollo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.