We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern glass block, clinical but effective” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Saffron

Save Saved
You added Hotel Saffron to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Saffron
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Radlinskeho 27, Bratislava 81107, Slovakia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 89 hotels in Bratislava
Crail, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Modern glass block, clinical but effective”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Modern glass block, clinical but effective. 15 minutes dreary walk to the charming (but small) town centre (Bratislava is otherwise a graffiti ridden dump). Good breakfast buffet; restaurant closes very early for evening meals.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    53
    18
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
35
8
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Cyprus
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed there for 1 night when visited Bratislava last week. It is a very nice hotel, recently opened (a year ago, i think) with modern decoration. The rooms are spacious, very clean with comfortable beds and wifi access. The breakfast is delicious, with a good range (international breakfast). It is located 10-15 mins walk from Bratislava city center and just 10 min walk from the main train station. I would be definitely returning to Hotel Saffron, if I visit Bratislava again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Lovely modern hotel , really clean about 10 minutes from old town.
The only gripes we had was no shower only a bath with hand shower attachment to wash your hair.
Also breakfast was a bit basic ,if you didn't go down early enough there wasn't much left.
One day my husband asked for some more fresh bacon and the girl brought him some raw bacon.
She misunderstood him , we had a laugh about it though.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s wales
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed in the Saffron for 4 nights recently. The hotel was lovely and clean, breakfast was plentiful and the staff were friendly. It is in a good location - a 5 minute walk from the old town, and was quiet.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The staff is wonderful at this new modern hotel located 1 km away from Old Town Bratislava. Everything went beyond expectations. Services were excellent, staff was very friendly and food was awesome. We really enjoyed a lot. Definitely recommend this hotel to fellow travelers.

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Arrived to find no shower in room even though pictures ask show showers. Moved to a new room and unpacked to find that the toilet had dry dark urine stains all over the seat and toilet. moved rooms again! Today went to breakfast for the first time, breakfast clearly had been out for two hours with very little available. Coffee was hours old, no pastries, asked for more eggs and they can back clear and uncooked. Very little fruit and terrible atmosphere wish we could move hotels! Keep you all updated.
Breakfast has not improved despite being promised it would and service is not much better. Don't know why anyone rates this hotel highly, it is clean despite the urine strained seat. But so is the mercure, or the Hilton, or they motel one. There are clearly better places to stay. We've just travelled from a motel one it was clean and basic breakfast cost 7:50 but it was good, decent coffee and a pain Au chocholat is better than the breakfast here any day.
Today I went out into town early to have breakfasts and coffee! and returned at 2 for a nap before going out for my birthday meal this evening, at 2:30 the cleaning lady knocked and entered my room while I was a sleep, which I thought was fine. But then ten minutes later I get a phone call from reception asking what time they can come in (they have no door cards) I said don't worry about it today I am trying to sleep and they just kept asking what time will I be leaving! Eventually after an awkward conversation they took my first answer of don't worry about cleaning the room today. I still wish we were staying in another hotel i'm going to try and see whether they will give me some money back so that I can continue to buy breakfast elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Szeged
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Hotel Saffron is a brand new modern style hotel located just 1 km away from the historical center of Bratislava. My friend organized a two-day stay in this hotel to celebrate his 25th birthday. Everything went beyond expectations. Services were excellent, staff was very friendly and food was awesome. We really enjoyed a lot. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Saffron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saffron

Address: Radlinskeho 27, Bratislava 81107, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 89 hotels in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Saffron 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Saffron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Saffron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.