We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food, service a little uneven” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carnevalle

Carnevalle
Hviezdoslavovo Namestie 20, Bratislava 81102, Slovakia
+421 220863637
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #109 of 823 Restaurants in Bratislava
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice food, service a little uneven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I ate at this restaurant one evening in April. The weather was pleasant so I was able to sit outside. There is a good range of food available, mostly centred on grilled meats - great! Though, you do need to ask about what meat steaks are available that day. Menus are in English and all staff spoke English well. My starter was simple buffalo mozzarella with tomatoes, pesto and basil. It was generous and delicious! Main course was a tasty beef stroganoff with creamy mash potatoes (you can choose from a range of side dishes). Dessert was a little disppointing, a lemon meringue pie - the lemon layer was very tart and the meringue barely cooked. The service was a little uneven, different staff served and one took away all my cutlery and bread before th main course arrived. But this should not be considered a great distraction or failure! The food is good and the location great for an evening of watching the world go by!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    49
    25
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Choice! delicious meat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

my Wife had a Clubsandwich
and myself a Countryburger

everything was just fine that day absolutely nothing to compare
perfect service and food

to recomend

& the dessert was delicious too

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iceland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Nice clean place and their thing is meat. However, what we got for the price was laughable. I ordered the pork with crackling, a thin slice of pork arrived with limp fat around it, no crackling at all, and the pork was not very tasty. My child had lamb chops, 3 arrived with even less meat then normal for a small chop for the grad price of 18 euros. It was literally 5 bites for a child, I counted. You also have to pay extra for any sides.

Sorry, but not worth it at all.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
100 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Meat eaters delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

It's one of those places that shows you the meat cuts and options. Tbone looked compelling origination Argentina, wine (excellent) from Chile. Looked popular and likely to remain. Weird pictures of cows in the loos (what's that about?). Overall well worth a visit

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great meat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Great service and attentive waiters with a very good selection of meat and non meat dishes. More expensive than most Bratislavan restaurants but worth it.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carnevalle also viewed

Bratislava, Bratislava Region
Bratislava, Bratislava Region
 
Bratislava, Bratislava Region
Bratislava, Bratislava Region
 

Been to Carnevalle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carnevalle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.