We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best doubletrees” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bratislava

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bratislava to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bratislava
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Trnavska Cesta 27/A, Bratislava 83104, Slovakia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #12 of 92 Hotels in Bratislava
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“One of the best doubletrees”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is one if the best double trees we have ever stayed in -and we have
stayed in quite a few.

We had a twin de luxe room. At least 4 to 500 square foot of airy
space, strangely split in two by a blanket cupboard with a 42 inch flat screen
tv on top . On one side two very good queen beds. On the other side a three
seat sofa, desk and chair, and sideboard cupboard with in built fridge.

Small dressing room space with large fitted cup board. And large
bathroom,separate shower, twin wash basins, separate wc and good sized lie
in bath.

The hotel was only built two years ago and so everything still looks sparkling new and clean

Food is so so. Better than you would get in Doubletrees in US or UK but
nothing special.

Staff were helpful and clearly proud of their hotel-apart maybe from some of the breakfast crew who still needed a little mor training

Car parking is underground and looks safe, but is expensive, costing around 20 euros a night.

So what could be wrong?

Location.There is nothing really wrong with the location. it is on a main road in a typical upmarket residential area full of large post Communist era blocks of apartments.

But it is not in the centre of town. It is about five minutes walk from a bus stop.From there the buses run into town. They take about ten minutes and run every twenty.

Some people might prefer to be downtown where most of the competitive hotels
are.

But within a ten minute walk of the Doubletree is the central shopping mall
with four floors to delight any shopaholic plus a good supermarket, Billa.

I think you probably get more for your money slightly out of town at the
Doubletree.and it is of course much easier to reach if you are travelling by
car.

Next time you visit Bratislava, give it a try

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra K, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bratislava, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Roger,

thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at DoubleTree Bratislava.

We hope to see you again soon at us.

Alexandra and DoubleTree Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    127
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
49
71
23
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I was really surprised when I saw the external look of the hotel, very nice, clean and trendy

when inside, people were very friendly, room very well prepared and with welcoming essence in the air.

beatifully furnitured and very comfortable.

Recommended!

Steve

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra K, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bratislava, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your experience at the DoubleTree Bratislava. I am happy to hear our staff, hotel amenities and services made your stay very comfortable.

Hope to see you again soon.

Alexandra and DoubleTree team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

I had a couple of very good nights here. Beds were comfortable and rooms well appointed. Breakfast was excellent with an ei-meister, great selection of fruit and pastries and helpful staff. Lovely gym with pool sauna and steam room, and the option of a Thai massage

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra K, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bratislava, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to send us the great review.

We hope to see you again soon.

Alexandra and DoubleTree team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Hilton Brand is my Brand of choice. I have yet to have an unpleasant experience in any.
I am pleased to say that the Double Tree Bratislava met all expectations of facilities, comfort, staffing and breakfast.
My one criticisms would be the quality of the "in room dining", this was disappointing with the meals arriving just warm on both occasions I used the service.
The restaurant is adequate but quality of the signature "T" bone steak left a lot to be desired. Go for the fillet, cheaper and in our experience cooked much better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra K, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bratislava, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your experience at the DoubleTree by Hilton Bratislava. I am happy to hear that our amenities made your stay comfortable.

Regarding In room dining I will pass your comments to our Food and Beverage manager.

Thank you for choosing DoubleTree by Hilton Bratislava.

Alexandra and our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We usually stay at local type hotels, but stayed here because my son got us a good rate. Very new business type hotel away from the central city part of Bratislava. Near the big hockey rink and we went to a great little local restaurant called the Hockey Club. If you want the big chain hotel experience with all the amenities included, this is for you. English widely spoken.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra K, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bratislava, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Doubletree by Hilton Bratislava and for your nice comment.

Hope to see you again soon,

Alexandra and DoubleTree team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This hotel is modern, clean and surprisingly beautiful. It looks like it was either recently built or recently renovated. The public areas and restaurants have a chic, contemporary feel. Rooms are spacious, with floor to ceiling windows, high ceilings and gorgeous, modern bathrooms with heated floors. Beds were fairly firm and comfortable. Service at the front desk was friendly and professional. There was free wi-fi that WORKED - yay!

The location is not scenic and is a little ways out from the city center. You would not want to walk it. We did not take public trans into the city center, but I saw a tram line on the street in front of the hotel, so it is probably do-able.

We almost never eat dinner at the hotel, but in this case we knew we would be arriving in Bratislava late, and we got a great deal on a dinner and breakfast package. Both the front desk and the restaurant staff seemed unfamiliar with this package, so it was not clear what was included, but they were very nice about it and told us we could order whatever we wanted to eat, and we were only charged for wine and some extra sparkling water. Our waiter, Richard, was courteous and obviously well-trained. He got all the details right, serving from the left, clearing from the right, proper placement of utensils, etc. The food (Italian) was very good, and we loved the Slovak red wine. The only peculiar thing about the restaurant was that they seemed to have the same album (Parov Stelar) on repeat all night. We enjoyed the music and it fit well with the vibe of the restaurant, but about the fifth time through, we were wishing for something else.

Breakfast was another story. The selection was okay, but not as good as a typical Hilton. There was one kind of bread, albeit good, some so-so pastries, and the "muffins" tasted like something made from a cake mix a week ago. There was a not so great brand of strawberry and vanilla yogurt in individual cups, cereals, fresh and dried fruit, and nuts. The bacon looked way undercooked, the French toast like none I have ever seen and smelled a little too savory, and the scrambled eggs looked completely runny and indelible. The Slovak sausages, cold cuts and cheese were good, and the oatmeal was okay. There was hardly anyone in the restaurant, yet it took about 15 minutes to get coffee. Maybe it was an off day and items were not fresh because there were so few people there. Maybe during slow times of the year, they should just offer a cooked to order breakfast instead of a lame buffet. We were there right after Christmas - probably not a busy time for them.

Overall, the hotel and staff really are very good, and if not for the location and slightly disappointing breakfast, I would have given this place 5 stars, I would consider staying there again if we get the same good rate.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra K, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bratislava, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at our hotel. Thanks for staying here.
All your mentioned points are very useful for us.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Alexandra and DoubleTree Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I typically stay in Hilton hotels when I travel abroad...I stayed at the new Doubletree at Bratislava and the hotel was gorgeous!!! this is probably one of the nicest Doubletree in the WORLD! If you are a hockey fan, this hotel is adjacent to the hockey stadium in Bratislava. The location is not the best as far as attractions...but the hotel makes up for it..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra K, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bratislava, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for your nice comment. We are happy to hear you fully enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

Thank you for choosing and recommending DoubleTree by Hilton Bratislava.

Alexandra and DoubleTree Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bratislava hotels
Mercure Bratislava Centrum
#17 of 92 in Bratislava
4.5 of 5 stars 998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staré Mesto
Marrol's Boutique Hotel Bratislava
Sheraton Bratislava Hotel
#5 of 92 in Bratislava
4.5 of 5 stars 621 reviews
Staré Mesto
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
#9 of 92 in Bratislava
4.5 of 5 stars 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bratislava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bratislava

Address: Trnavska Cesta 27/A, Bratislava 83104, Slovakia
Phone Number:
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 92 Hotels in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bratislava 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bratislava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bratislava, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.