We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beer palace?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Beer Palace

Beer Palace
Gorkeho 5, Bratislava 81101, Slovakia (Staré Mesto)
00421 903499499
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 770 restaurants in Bratislava
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Staré Mesto
Vilnius, Lithuania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beer palace?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I must say I didn't try any dishes in here, me and my friends just found this place interensting because of the name - Beer Palace.

We excpect it to be the place where you could have a big variety of beers to choose from, as the name of the place says:) but it was a bit of a disappointment. There was nothing special in terms of beer selection, I would say that even less than in the other places, not to mentioned that it was slightly more expensive than elsewhere.

Again, I dont judge the service or the food, they were nice. But you would expect more from a 'Beer Palace'.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    40
    42
    12
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Didn't eat here, but meals looked good. Lovely staff, very friendly. Had few drinks there, nice atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lots of food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Good place for groups. Good food at good prices. Roasted Porkleg (Sweinhaxe) for two is the speciality but many fine orders of Gulasch etc. Separate rooms available for groups.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slovakia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Pilsen Beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

If you are visiting historical center of Bratislava this restaurant is very good choice to take a break and have a great food and beer.
I love the most the home-made hamburger with fries. It is always fresh and tasty. Hamburger from this restaurant is the best I've ever had.
For beer-lovers there is great Pilsen beer - non-pasteurized.
Service is always fast and professional.
I recommend this restaurant for having good time with friends and it is also suitable for business lunch/dinner.
In this price category I would say it is the one of the best or may be the best restaurant in Slovakia.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good Slovak food - What you would expect from a Beer palace?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is a centrally located Beer Palace (close to the Opera house) and the name gives you an idea of what to expect. Large heavy tables at the front, there are smaller more intimate tables down the side and at the back. With excellent beer and friendly staff.

If this where the whole story I would not have bothered posting this review. This was some of the best Slovak food we tasted in our four days in Bratislava. I had to try the pickled sausage to start with. This came in a jar and I think you would probably share it with friends as one of a selection of beer snacks, I actually liked it but it was filling and some people might not take to it like my wife!

I had the "Ty vole" which is a spicey goulash and was very nice. My wife had the "Maťko s Kubkom" which was a sheep’s cheese dish that she said was extremely moreish; she was still licking her lips half an hour later. All for less than 20 euros, it is hard to beat that sort of value.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beer Palace also viewed

Bratislava, Bratislava Region
Bratislava, Bratislava Region
 
Bratislava, Bratislava Region
Bratislava, Bratislava Region
 

Been to Beer Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beer Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.