We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty but overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bratislavsky mestiansky pivovar

Bratislavsky mestiansky pivovar
Drevena 8, Bratislava 811 06, Slovakia
0944 512 265
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 794 Restaurants in Bratislava
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: Brew Pub, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Presov, Slovakia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Tasty but overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Visited their second outlet at Dunajska street for a late saturday lunch. We had one 1 soup, main dishes - fish, soft drinks, coffees for 2 person and paid almost 50€ without wine and desserts. The food was tasty, but we didn't classified it for that price. Service was quick, but unfriendly, although we left with tips on table we didn't hear any goodbye and thank you. Unprofessional.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    253
    42
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Decent food, great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Had a fun evening here, the food was good, washed down with their own brewed beer. The place was busy, even mid week and had a great atmosphere, a mix of people eating or just meeting friends and having a few beers. The service was friendly and casual resulting in a laid back evening.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Another of my favorites”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Excellent food, good service and cleanliness. They make their own beer, that is good before 8 p.m., then the quality goes down with every pint. They have also the german wheat beer, that is always good. Prices are not for regular slovakians, You have to prepare to pay double price for everything compared to regular local pubs.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Amazing food, was perfect for my one night stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Was spending just one night in Bratislava and chose this restaurant because of the combination of good reviews and their microbrewery.

Firstly the service was great, the waiter spoke perfect english and was able to help me with my order very easily.

Food was really brilliant, I started with Wurst grilled, the mustard it caem with was delicious and it came wrapped in surprise bacon that wasnt mentioned in the menu. (Surprise bacon is the best bacon.)

Then for the main I had the pork knuckle, this was amazing and the portion was so big I had no chance to finish it.

Their micro brewed beer was the perfect accompaniment.

Definitely recommend this restaurant for a taste of Slovakia.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food with better beer - a Slovak microbrew”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband and I eat here several times a week (We are Americans living in Slovakia). The food is very good - it's Slovak - a great restaurant to try traditional food. The wait staff - although several do not speak English - are all very nice and very helpful. The menu is translated into English - but you need to ask for an English menu. Reservations are increasingly required - particularly at their new restaurant on Dunajska (you may want to swing in and make them in person - the communication might be challenging). Their other restaurant is next door to the Crowne Plaza hotel.

The atmosphere is fun loud - families, friends, office parties... The tables are large - the two person tables are small with high stools... If a big table is free, you are more than welcome to take it (even if you are there as a couple). The 2 person tables are a bit small for dinner - though more recently, they are often all that is available.

The decor is "library smoking room in expensive house" (tho there is no smoking!). The floor in both restaurants is a geometric decorative brown and cream tiles which partner nicely next to the dark wood paneling and bars. I love the atmosphere.

The beer is locally brewed - and per my husband the best in town (micro brews are not yet a common Slovak concept - in spite of Slovakia being the land of great beer).

They serve a variety of Slovak and Czech cuisine... many dishes involve various forms of halusky (a traditional Slovak potato "noodle") - and of course, the national dish Bryndzova Halusky - a sheep cheese with bacon over noodles dish. I like the goose leg and thigh with red cabbage and potato pancakes, the "meat with hand" (which is the worlds best fried chicken legs... and I think should actually be translated as "eat with hand"). My husband always gets the chicken breast or pork tenderloin (with a blue cheese sauce). Both are in the healthier family of foods.

While the goulash is OK, goulash is better at other restaurants in town. But the pork knee is exceptional here (and a must try if you really want to go local). Don't let it scare you - it has a lot of dense ham on it - I love these!. The knee is served with stewed cabbage and potato pancakes.

Many dishes come with no sides. The various potato sides, roasted vegetables, mixed salad all pair well. The meals with cabbage and potato pancake don't require a side. "Baked potatoes" are pan roasted with bacon (you have to love this country).

I usually pass on dessert - but if you must get something; 1. try the jam filled pies with poppy seed (and marvel at the amount of poppy seeds these people eat!) - or 2. the strudel.

This is our "go to" restaurant for out of town guests. We generally never spend 30 euro for two... and everyone always enjoys the choice.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bratislavsky mestiansky pivovar also viewed

Bratislava, Bratislava Region
Bratislava, Bratislava Region
 
Bratislava, Bratislava Region
Bratislava, Bratislava Region
 

Been to Bratislavsky mestiansky pivovar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bratislavsky mestiansky pivovar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.