We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bratislava” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Bratislava Centrum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Mercure Bratislava Centrum to your Saves list
Mercure Bratislava Centrum
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zabotova street 2, Bratislava 811 04, Slovakia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 90 Hotels in Bratislava
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
“bratislava”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Hotel was very well - hotel is very well located - it is close to the railway station and transport museum and 10 min a walk to the old town. Bratislava was very well too, except one macho, who blocade our car: Very nice places were Kamzik - look out tower and Bratislava castle.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    279
    55
    7
    3
See reviews for
77
304
92
154
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The bathroom is so weird in this hotel it is what is going to stick in my mind. I just can't think what was going through the designer's mind. There is a glass wall between the bedroom and bathroom so standing in the shower you are looking through a large glass wall into the rather small bedroom. Behind the shower is the sink and toilet.. and there are some rather inadequate curtains which close on the bedroom, not bathroom side. Going to the bathroom at night, you are flooding the bedroom with light. There is a huge central shower head way high up on the ceiling of the shower and also a hand held shower with a shower head the size of a dinner plate. There is nowhere to put anything, no shelves or surfaces, quite frustrating. The bedroom is incredibly dingy and I was looking for lights to turn on. On the plus side the windows open, albeit not far, and in spite of opening onto a central square of hotel windows, the room was really quiet. Breakfast was adequate but the staff are clearing away briskly virtually as you take your last bite, or as in my case, before I'd finished. For me the location was perfect as a short walk from the train station, but it's a haul to the main tourist centre.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This hotel was perfect for our 1 night stay in Bratislava. Staff were very friendly and hotel was less than a 2 minute walk to the central railway station (which was handy for us as we were travelling to Vienna).

The room had a modern feel to it and the bathroom was very clean. Lighting in the room was slightly limited but that didn't really affect us as we were only there for one night. They also had a storage room where you could leave your luggage after check out if required.

If the railway station is not a priority for you then you may want to choose somewhere a bit more central as it is about 10-15 mins from the central area.

Overall, for the price range we were looking at we thought it was very good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haarlemmermeer
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Don't get me wrong, it's not a bad hotel but it can easily do better.

Locationwise it's within walking distance of the central station and a 15 minute's walk from the old town. Ample bus connections as well. Facade of the hotel is a bit discrete and doesn't show much of a Mercure hotel upto the current standards of the group. Interior design is such that there's a lot of room in the reception/lobby but it's broken up to make it look less big.

Check in was so quick that they totally forgot to tell me what a privilege room means and the new Mercure hotels do not like to tell you anything about hotel facilities at all (I only found out they had a gym when I noticed a woman in gym outfit in the elevator.) Also typical for Mercure that, despite the fact that you got them 16 rooms sold for 3 nights, you are treated like any other guest. If that happened in my hotel I'd seek out the group leader, have a cup of coffee and a chat, see if there's potential for repeat business.

The privilege room itself was quite airy because of the large windows in the wall between room and bathroom. 2 windows that can actually open. Airconditioning in the room that continues to work if you take your room key from the master switch. Nice decor, BIG showerhead in the shower. Free internet with a cable, fast enough to surf, marginal for streaming video. The espresso machine is a nice touch.Noise isolation for outside noise is excellent, for inside noise it's very good.
Biggest flaw in the room is that Mercure now relies on syntethics for the beds and beddding and that makes for a extremely sweaty night.

Housekeeping was as it should be, nearly invisible and thorough! That room was one of the cleanest I've seen in a long time. Nothing on the high shelves, nothing under the bed. Public areas as well, I've not seen any room service trays in hallways for more that 30 minutes and everything was spotless.

Service at the bar/restaurant varied. 2 slouching girls in black/white outfits took ages to do anything, the rest of the staff in darker outfits worked very hard. Kitchen was slow, a simple lunch for 3 people took 25 minutes to arrive. Breakfast buffet was good. Lots of cold meats and cheese. Local sausage and eggs scrambled with ham and leek. All fresh and often restocked.

The privilege room at the front of the hotel is a nice way to unwind and relax away from the bustle of the bar area. Some explanation on how to work the coffee machine would be nice as well as boiling water for tea instead of merely lukewarm. I would have expected some softdrinks as well as savoury snacks like nuts and crisps instead of just fruit juice and cereal and dried fruits.

So, bring back a hotel information booklet for the rooms, stock the privilege lounge better and light a fire on the few staff holding the rest of the team back. If you can convince head office to offer natural materials for duvets and pillows you'd have my business any day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights giving a discounted rate of £48 per night.
Excellent value for a 4-star hotel.
Website said standard rooms had a shower or bathtub.
requested a bathtub - was offered a bathtub in a smoking room or a bathtub in a non-smoking disabled room which slightly confused me. Took the disabled room as it's more spacious.
Dining fine. Didn't have the breakfast. Did order a simple burger and chips at €12 but got flank steak and chips at €19.
Check-in very efficient and friendly (and Slovak levels of customer service are, in general, pretty dire and wanting - having lived 7 years here, but this seems to be one of the exceptions.)
Checkout slightly brisker and 'ccoler' but Rasto and his model looks was lurking in the background so there was some eye candy to distract me.
Very near the train station and a 15 min walk on foot takes you to the centre or 10 mins by bus. (The trams no longer run direct from the station to the city centre).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

As for the hotel, it was clean the staff were polite and friendly and the rooms were very impressive. My only issue was around the location, the hotels name would suggest that it was slap bang in the centre of the city and given that Bratislava isn't that big a place (in relation to other European capitals) you would think that the city centre and sights would be at your door step, unfortunately this is not the case, its about a 20-30 minute walk from the hotel into the centre.

All in all I would still recommend the hotel because the facilities are really good, I would have given 4 stars if either the hotel was more central or the name didn't suggest that it was.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed at the Mercure last week for 3 nights, on first glance, the hotel looks fresh, clean and minimal in design.
The rooms are very trendy design, with the see-through bathroom walls giving a somewhat open plan feel. Luckily, I was sharing the room with my husband, otherwise this may have been a little inappropriate if travelling with a colleague or friend. Unfortunately, looks can be deceiving, the comfort of the bed was just about average and the walls were so thin that we were able to hear the tv from both of the rooms next to us. The free wifi however was a welcome bonus.
The restaurant offering was very good, breakfast buffet was nice and service always curteous and friendly. The only exception to that was the checkout, where the clerk seemed to be still asleep, as it took much longer than necessary to produce our final bill, which was a little annoying since we had a car waiting for us.
All in all, if you don't mind the hotel's location, which is a little further away from the old town than we would have liked, it offers decent value for money and a pleasant enough stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Bratislava Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bratislava Centrum

Address: Zabotova street 2, Bratislava 811 04, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Bratislava
#8 Business Hotel in Bratislava
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bratislava
#15 Family Hotel in Bratislava
#17 Romantic Hotel in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bratislava Centrum 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New 4 star Bratislava hotel features 175 uniquely designed rooms. The hotel is located in the city center within 10 minutes walk from the Bratislava castle and the downtown pedestrian shopping area. Near business centers and tourist attractions, this hotel will meet your expectations. Chill out and bar area for well-being. Coffee and tea facilities in all rooms, Wifi, fitness and Privilege lounge. Meals and drinks available 24/7. The hotel offers 7 meeting rooms (max. capacity 180 pax). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Bratislava Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Bratislava Centrum Hotel Bratislava

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Bratislava Centrum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.