We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern,simple,friendly and ecological.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Bratislava Centrum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Bratislava Centrum to your Saves list
Mercure Bratislava Centrum
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zabotova street 2, Bratislava 811 04, Slovakia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 91 Hotels in Bratislava
Kiato, Greece
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Modern,simple,friendly and ecological.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

A new hotel with new employees(Special the Front Office Supervisor and his Team) who have enthusiasm and knowledge to offer a very good staying and service befitting to an Mercure.Stay 6 night during New years eve and we had a fantastic junior suite at the 6th floor with view on the main road and the train station (distance from is 200-300 metres).The Privilege lounge is well organised with juice-water-coffee-tea and all the time fruits (dry and fresh) and croisant's (i'd like-Love some peanuts,but dont had !).The bar at the lobby is fantastic place to had a drink with a fire place.Experience all the menu from The Signature restaurant and it was all the dishes from hamburgers and potatoes until fillet served beautifully (if a bit expensive) and with live online tv in the restaurant's kitchen to the hour of cooking!Good breakfast with a variety of meats cheeses and fruit juices, pastries, breads and they have all the hotels.Very good impression at all, with the only negative point distance for the center that goes with the bus you have, stop at 150 meters distance. Walking the center is about 20 minutes safe route.Yes if you go again to Bratislava will go to the same hotel without a second thought, and we will recommend it to those who do not want to stay in the center.

Room Tip: Castle view rooms !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    294
    57
    7
    4
See reviews for
78
315
95
162
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

A modern out-of-the-box business hotel with no charm at all. Public areas are heavily fragranced, and the decor can best be described as "50 shades of beige with a touch of laminates". Rooms are tiny and surprisingly dark. The view from the windows is to the rooms of other guests and nothing else.

A large clear glass window hides none of the activities at the toilet. The blinds are controlled by the person outside the toilet, which makes this hotel a no-go for families and couples.

Both of the staff in the reception had a "Trainee" tag. They did handle basic tasks in English and German but not even "have a nice day" was part of their repertoire.

Breakfast comes at an outrageous € 16. You have no other options as the hotel is 1.8 km from the old city and there are no cafés or restaurants around.
At our late arrival we did try their bar menu which includes caesar salad and other international classics. Pricing is at the same level as their breakfast. The bar menu is available in multiple languages, the waiters do speak English, and they are focused on service. They and the free wireless internet get the stars but I would never stay there again or recommend the hotel to any other person.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the street have a view directly to the only nearby attraction - Slavín, six Soviet mass...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed twice in December 2012 and both times got a very nice room with a portrait of Marylin Monroe or Marlene Dietrich. There's a transparent glass dividing the shower from the room, but there's also a curtain in case you are shy. The rooms are very nicely furnished and beds very comfortable. We loved the breakfast, although for the best coffee you better head to the bar. The staff were very polite and helpful. The location near the main train station makes it easy to get around the city using the public transport or to pop to Vienna for a day, which is just an hour by train.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This is a relatively new hotel, so it still has a fresh, sparkling appearance with an energetic, friendly and professional staff who seem genuinely eager to help with one's travel needs. Free internet in the lobby is a plus. Buffet breakfast was first-rate. Food was fresh, price was reasonable. Decor is upbeat with soft colors. My room was spacious, bed was a joy to fall into, and the shower facility was unique, in that it shared a half-glass wall with the bedroom area. Location could not be beat for the weary train traveler who doesn't want to walk into town for a room. Easy walk to the Old Center after relaxing for a bit. Will definitely return to this overlooked and underrated gem of a city and country.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ochota, Warszawa, Poland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I stayed in Mercury for one short night. I chose a Junior Suite. The room has a separate toiled and bathroom (it is quite a way to get to your toilet from the bedroom - not very comfortable).
My room was just next to an elevator, but it was quiet. There was a coffee/tee corner and a free bottle of water.

As I entered I smelled some strange odour, but it was late and I wanted to sleep. When I opened the door to the bathroom I was shocked - it stank rotten/damp so badly that I could not stand that. I went down to the reception and described the problem, I demanded a different suite and some help to move my things.
I was surprised, that first somebody had to come with me to my room to check if the smell is really so bad! The hotel staff should believe me if I said I wouldn't want to stay in that room! So it took additional ride in the elevator up and down until I was given another room. I was pretty upset, because I was tired and I spend 30 minutes arranging a new suite. The reception staff apologised for the inconvenience. I suggested a bottle of wine for me as a compensation but the man just laughed and said it was not possible! Maybe they have plenty of rotten bathrooms and they would run out of wine.

The breakfast was average, it missed fish and salads. The hot dishes were typical, eggs, sausages, beacon. Fruits and vegs were medium quality. Eastern Europe is famous for good full breakfasts, this one was disappointed me.

The hotel has a potential, it is quiet and well located. The staff should be trained how to deal with embarrassing situations and problems.

Room Tip: Junior Suites are good, even if close to elevator - quiet. Check if the bathroom does not smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in the Mercure in December 2012. Comfortable,quiet, spotless room with lovely walk in shower big enough for two. The individual in-room heater control really worked, unlike in so many hotels ! Breakfast buffet was fresh and comprehensive. The bar area was warm and welcoming and dinner in the restaurant ( Slovak / Italian fusion ) was excellent. What makes the hotel really special is the staff, all of whom speak English. Nothing was too much trouble for them, from bringing an extra spoon to getting a taxi to the front door in minutes.
The only downsides are that while the hotel has a gym, it does not have a spa and sauna. This would be an advantage in Bratislava in the winter when temperatures rarely climbs above freezing. Also, although the hotel is very convenient for the main railway station, it is a good 15 minute walk along a busy main highway to get to the Old Town although a taxi will get you there in five minutes at a cost of about 4 Euros.
All in all, an excellent hotel which we would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

They really try hard at this hotel, but end up missing it be just a bit. Still, there are a lot of positives. The staff were friendly and helpful throughout my stay, and were obviously well-trained. As noted elsewhere, the hotel is very convenient to the rail station and a short walk (even in freezing weather) to the old city center. It is also on many local bus routes, (As an aside, the bus system in Bratislava appears to be excellent ... frequent regular busses on a variety of lines with good signage all make life very easy for a "foreigner" with an adventurous spirit.)

The rooms were relatively spacious and the furniture was new if a bit on the budget side. Bedding was also fine, with plenty of extra pillows. But here is where things started to slide, too. The bathroom was very modern and well-done, but tiny. It was as if they had taken all the features from a modern 4/5 star chain and tried to wedge them into a smaller package. The shower stall illustrates the situation:

It was glass on two sides, with one of those "self-sealing" doors that never seal, so there was a pool of water after usage. That was not the end of the design issues though. The whole thing was only about 3X4 feet (~100 X ~125cm). Perhaps for that reason, there was no place to put soap, shampoo, etc. except the floor. Amazing. Then to top it off, the rest of the bathroom was so small that the only place to hang fresh towels was on the bar inside the shower! It gets worse. It was one of those showers with the "rain head" on the ceiling and a separate hand-help shower-head mounting on the wall, but all the controls were on the opposite side from the door. So here is how my first morning went:
1. Get up to find the room is pretty cold (nothing wrong with the heater, I just set it low).
2. Hurry into the bathroom to start a nice hot shower.
3. Reach across to the controls and turn on the water, only to be doused in ice-cold water left over in the pipes from the previous day. BrrrRRrrrrrr.
4. Jump back and look around for a towel, only to discover that they are being soaked in the shower. GrrrRRrrrrr.

You get the ideaa.

Another negative was breakfast. At first glance, it was a really nice lay-out, but on closer inspection ... not so much. The same bread stayed in the same basket for several days and did not get any fresher while it waited. And most mornings the attractively presented fried eggs were cold ... apparently they were afraid they would keep cooking if left too long in a warmer.

So ... I still rate it a value at the price, but I will probably look around elsewhere if I am back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Bratislava Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bratislava Centrum

Address: Zabotova street 2, Bratislava 811 04, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Bratislava
#8 Business Hotel in Bratislava
#16 Family Hotel in Bratislava
#17 Romantic Hotel in Bratislava
#18 Luxury Hotel in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bratislava Centrum 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New 4 star Bratislava hotel features 175 uniquely designed rooms. The hotel is located in the city center within 10 minutes walk from the Bratislava castle and the downtown pedestrian shopping area. Near business centers and tourist attractions, this hotel will meet your expectations. Chill out and bar area for well-being. Coffee and tea facilities in all rooms, Wifi, fitness and Privilege lounge. Meals and drinks available 24/7. The hotel offers 7 meeting rooms (max. capacity 180 pax). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Bratislava Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Bratislava Centrum Hotel Bratislava

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Bratislava Centrum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.