We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Bratislava Gate One

Save Saved
You added NH Bratislava Gate One to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NH Bratislava Gate One
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ambrusova 7 | Ruzinov, Bratislava 82104, Slovakia (Formerly NH Gate One)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #8 of 90 Hotels in Bratislava
Berlin, Germany
1 review
“Great surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Great service, always ready to help and efficiently. Rooms have very good area, and bathrooms are clean and comfortable.
Good quality for an acceptable price. Can be costly to visit the city, using taxi.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    65
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
24
68
11
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Perfect location for overnight near to airport. Comfortable rooms, Wi-Fi only in lobby though. Attentive service from reception, bar and restaurant staff. Thank you, will return next time. Make sure if you are driving to clarify your directions to airport, easy to join wrong main bypass road.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I stayed in the hotel on a weekend break to Bratislava and Vienna. It is conveniently located near to Bratislava airport which is handy for visiting both Vienna and Bratislava. I got an amazing deal for the quality of hotel. It's a 4 star and the room was fantastic - no spectacular views but the room was very comfortable with all the mod cons and finished to high spec. You have full use of the health club too. The breakfast which I paid extra for was well worth it (mainly as there is little in the neighbourhood apart from McDonalds) - an excellent choice of hot and cold food. I would definitely recommend it! The staff very polite and helpful and had excellent English. I plan to stay here again when I come back later in the year!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I usually stay in Bratislava city center hotels, but the NH Gate One was a nice surprise, although a bit outside of center. It has a modern minimalistic elegance ands pleasant ambiance. The rooms were very large and bathroom chic. Right in front of the hotel there is a shopping mall with some restaurants; and in a small city like Bratislava it takes just few euros to get to downtown by taxi. (I did not use public transport, but there is surely direct connection).The airport is 3 minutes drive away. We did not have time to use a swimming pool nor had breakfast, but I highly recommend the hotel, the space in the rooms is really generous and it is a great value for money!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria di Sala
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We spent 2013/2014 New Year's Day with some friend in Bratislava and we rented 3 double rooms, all accommodations were very clean, comfortable and really spacious.
Hotel is a very good choice for biz and leisure too, 15 mins by taxi from the centre of the city.
Common spaces are very nice and personnel very professional. Finally I can recommend this hotel to everybody, just a suggestion if you need a taxi call it with your mobile....is quite expensive to ask wellcome desk to call it for you, more or less if I remember well Euro 3.00

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

I've been there on Jan 2014 persuaded by the good reviews I saw on this website.
The hotel is good, conveniently located near the airport, room are clean and spacious. Good facilities in general.
When I was there, there wasn't many people so the main restaurant was closed.
We tried then to have some food on the local bar/lounge and it was awful and absolutely a rip off!
No wifi in the room....(2014?)
Taxi service provided by hotel is the more expensive available in the city, be aware of that!
They book me a cab to go to the airport, which is 5min drive from the hotel, they said it would have been 6euro then I was charged 10 by the driver...And the driver said that 6 was supposed to be the fare and the left 4 the hotel fee...
Anyway, except this small spots I can say I had a nice stay but they can do more to be more transparent to the customers....

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed here for the New Year 2013 and I have to say this is one of the best hotels we stayed in. We travel for holidays or just city breaks about 4 times a year so I can say we kind of know what we like or don't like in this area. This Hotel was wonderful and had a beautiful design on the outside and on the inside.
The rooms were big and comfortable. The bed had a very comfortable mattress and pillows. The lightning system was excellent, i say that because i was pretty sick with flu and i couldn't stand the strong light. But here the light was masked by a false ceiling so it didn't bother my eyes.
The shower was a built-in one with both a mobile shower head and a fix one. The bathroom had two sinks, another plus, and a bath tube if you needed a bath rather than a shower. They also had a audio system in the bathroom so you could listen to whatever was on tv when you were there. It was pretty cool.
The Hotel is located near a big shopping center and IKEA, so, if you forgot to buy something you could always cross the street and head to a store.
The breakfast was amazing, we had a pre-paid one so we didn't have to pay for it, but if you didn't buy it on advance it costs 15 euros.
They had everything: cereals, fruits, seeds, stuff for sandwiches, warm food, sweets, tea, coffee, juices, i mean everything. Even fish like salmon or marinated fish. We went to Valencia in March and they didn't offer fish for breakfast (and let's be real, they sea is right there, so no excuse).
The staff was very friendly, although our interaction with them was minimum.
On the last evening we went for the wellness center. It is located on the 7th floor and it has a fitness area with lots of machines for those who exercise regularly, a massage area (which is not free), sauna (2 kinds), jacuzzi and a pool. The sauna did miracles for my health, but the wellness area is very small. Let's not forget though this is a business hotel, located in a business area of the town. You do not come here to swim, go to the sauna or jog. They have it for those who are on business here and still need to exercise, so for that it is ok.
What i liked was the fact that the room was very well soundproof, we couldn't hear any noise so that is, again, a plus for me.
What i didn't like, or should i say, what they could improve:
1. they have free internet in the rooms, but only by cable - i think a hotel of four stars could afford some wireless routers spread throughout the hotel so you wouldn't have to stay at the desk when you need to check the mail. We went there for fun, not business and i would have liked to stay comfortable in my bed and check my facebook page or do stuff on the internet. I'm not saying it was bad, but it could be improved.
2. if a couple makes a reservation for a room there, a married couple, why would you assume they need twin beds? It goes without saying that the bed should be a queen. i never understood that in hotels policy.
3. the room temperature has some kind of thermostat who doesn't allow you to adjust the temperature in the room. Or so we understood from the schematics there. But, in any case, it was a bit cold, despite the thermostat saying there was 25 degrees. I don't think those were real.
Other than that, i have nothing bad to say about this hotel. if we ever go back to Bratislava, we would definitely stay there again and we recommend it for those who go there with business and even for visiting the city. If you have a car it's about 10 minutes from the city center, if you don't there are some buses i saw, who can get you to the center.
So, all in all, Wonderful! :)
Ps. oh, and there is also free parking, which is great.

Room Tip: if you are a couple you should ask for a queen size bed, otherwise you could end up getting a twin b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Bratislava Gate One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Bratislava Gate One

Address: Ambrusova 7 | Ruzinov, Bratislava 82104, Slovakia (Formerly NH Gate One)
Phone Number:
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 90 Hotels in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Bratislava Gate One 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star NH Bratislava Gate One hotel in Bratislava is conveniently located near the airport and in the center of the city’s new business zone. The NH Gate One hotel is right next to the largest shopping center in Slovakia - Avion Shopping Park - and only 15 minutes from the historical center of Bratislava. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your NH Bratislava Gate One reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Bratislava Gate One, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.