We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whisky heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whisky Bar 44

Whisky Bar 44
Vysoka 16, Bratislava 811 06, Slovakia (Staré Mesto)
254418317
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 821 Restaurants in Bratislava
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Reservations
Neighborhood: Staré Mesto
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Whisky heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Lovely bar, shame it was quiet on Fri nite. Didn't eat, but tasted couple of whiskies. You can do whisky-tasting, unfortuntely we didn't have time for it, next time definitely! Service very friendly and the barman "knew his onions". I am a woman and I love whisky and will happily go there again!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    14
    0
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Slovenia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A very nice bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Unfortunately I didn't happen to eat there, since I was just rushing past Bratislava. A friend recommended it, so I had to have a look.
The place is very nice, especially the bar. The restaurant is underground and it's a pity they don't have a garden of some sort.
The other tiny minus (for the food area) is that it's smoking or at least you can smell that smoking is going on there.

Otherwise I was very impressed with the knowledgeable staff and the immense collection of whisky. A lot of good and fair priced whisky!
Next time I'm definitively going there to have a meal and more of that aqua vitae.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“good, shame it wasnt busier”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

i guess by Bratislava standards this is above average. the decor is very tartan and they do have a great selection of whisky, we were there a tuesday night at 9.30 and the place was empty though so completely lacking in atmosphere. I have to say though I had the pepper sauce fillet steak and it was delicsious, whern some friends came to join us the chef had already gone home at 10pm but the barman very kinbdly put together a very ample cheese board for them , they were very happy ! service was very friendly and food good, so i guess if you saved your visit for a weekend night when they were busier it would be 5/5

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“More for the guys”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Drinks were excellent, very large selection of whiskey and scotch. However, i would not come here with my girlfriends, this is really a place for men loving quality alcohol.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We were here for a 'Stag' weekend, the food was fantastic and very good value, a real must for anybody who loves their whisky. The staff are very knowledgable about whisky and will help you find the perfect drink to go with your meal, or just to sup in the bar.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whisky Bar 44 also viewed

Bratislava, Bratislava Region
Bratislava, Bratislava Region
 
Bratislava, Bratislava Region
Bratislava, Bratislava Region
 

Been to Whisky Bar 44? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whisky Bar 44, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.