We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel -- Just Watch the Shower” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Danubia Gate Bratislava

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Danubia Gate Bratislava to your Saves list
Hotel Danubia Gate Bratislava
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dunajska 26 | Staré mesto, Bratislava 81108, Slovakia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #3 of 91 Hotels in Bratislava
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel -- Just Watch the Shower”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed at the Danubia Gate Hotel the beginning of Oct. 2013. It was very close to the old city of Bratislava, so we were able to park our rental car (at no charge) behind the hotel and then walk to all of the city's attractions. The staff was extremely helpful and spoke good English. The room was clean and attractive, as was the bathroom. However, the shower in our room was round and was slippery. They provided liquid soap, which also made the surface slippery. I slipped in the shower and fell backwards out of it. Fortunately I fell on my bottom and was okay -- just had a bad bruise the rest of my trip. The hotel got me a bathmat that day that helped a lot. I would recommend this hotel -- just make sure you have a bathmat in the shower.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panyiova, General Manager at Hotel Danubia Gate Bratislava, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank You for sharing Your opinion with Tripadvisor community. First of all, I would like to apologize for the problem You have mentioned in Your review. We did our best to solve Your concern as soon as possible and to make You satisfied. It is our aim to fulfill all the expectations and requests of our customers. As a result we have the bathmats available on request.

Thank You for sharing as well Your positive experience with our services and our team.

Thank You for staying with us.

Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    82
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
40
134
38
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pilsen, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Great service. Hotel is located in the center of city, close to public transport. great rooms, with two TVs (one in bathroom). very nice a big breakfast. I had to leave very early in the morning and they prepared me breakfast take away. I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panyiova, General Manager at Hotel Danubia Gate Bratislava, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank You very much for giving us such a positive feedback on our hotel. We are very glad that we could provide You excellent service. And I am very happy that You enjoyed the take away breakfast as well. I hope that we will have the possibility to welcome You again. The whole team of Danubia Gate hotel is ready to surprise You again.

With kindest regards

Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupar, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

A warm welcome awaits you. A very quiet Hotel in a central location, easy walking distance from the Old City and all the bars and restaurants, even for two 'over 65s' The Hotel was busy but felt very relaxed and the Staff were exceptional. The buffet breakfast offered a good choice and was always fresh and inviting. Our travel to the European cities is extensive and this rates as one of the best hotels. The city has a real buzz and there is a lot to see and do. We walk everywhere but there are organised trips. Take the local bus to Vienna and a walking tour, breathtaking.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panyiova, General Manager at Hotel Danubia Gate Bratislava, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank You very much for taking Your time to share Your experience with other travellers on tripadvisor. We very much appreciate it and we are more than happy that You enjoyed the stay with us so much. It is great that You could feel the soul of our small hotel and friendly and helpful staff. It is our passion to create such a relaxed atmosphere for our valued guests.

Thank You for staying with us.

With warmest regards

Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Service, clean, design. These are the keywords of this small and cosy hotel in the center of Bratislava. Really excellent service. This is definitely the strongest point of this hotel, although it is also very clean and the design is really nice. I had a small but comfortable room with view on the street side, which was very pleasant. Very good light in the bathroom and enought space to put my things. Good shower and excellent bed. Breakfast also very nice, dinner as well and faire prices. Free parking space is also great. Excellent value for this price. I have been in another hotel in Bratislava which was also very good, but the price was double. Next time I go to Bratislave I will go straight to Danubia Gate!

Room Tip: I booked the cheapest room and for 1 person it was okay. I liked the street side because it is more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panyiova, General Manager at Hotel Danubia Gate Bratislava, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank You for Your excellent review. We are more than glad that You enjoyed our service, cleanliness and the design as well. We keep thinking ahead to deliver You the best service and better details throughout the whole hotel. And happy clients as You make us even more passionate about our work.

Thank You again and we hope that we could welcome You again with the same exceptional service.

With kindest regards

Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel, the choice of which was influenced by other Tripadvisor comments. It was very clean and the hotel tried hard to satisfy it's customers. The breakfast was good. I enjoyed having a PC as well as a TV in my room which helped with sightseeing and onward travel plans. The hotel's location is very good both for sightseeing and for eating out. We did try the hotel's restaurant one evening which also proved to be good. I wouldn't hesitate to stay in this hotel should I visit Bratislava again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I recently stayed here for two nights in a single room. Was nice that there is a computer in the room with internet access. It was clean and quiet. Did have a fridge in the room. Lots of light. Staff was friendly. About a 15 minute walk to Old Town on a quiet street. Hotel did have a funny odor to it. Nice flat screen TV but it didn't get too many stations. Breakfast was pretty good

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panyiova, General Manager at Hotel Danubia Gate Bratislava, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank You very much for Your review.
We are more than pleased that You were enjoying Your stay with us and all our comforts.
We hope to have the possibility to welcome You back in the future.

With kindest regards

Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanage
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Danubia Gate Hotel is a short walk from the Old Town. It is in a quiet location close to the Blue Church, a short step to the river and a large shopping centre. The ambience is good. The staff efficient, friendly and helpful. The rooms are very good, clean and well equiped with sizeable en suite facilities. The rooms are quiet at night. The breakfasts are superb in a pleasant environment.
Easy to get to via Ryanair, easyjet to Bratislava airport and by BA through Vienna and Regular coach service.

Room Tip: Go for the fifth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panyiova, General Manager at Hotel Danubia Gate Bratislava, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank You for Your review and taking Your time to write about Your stay with us.
We are very pleased that You enjoyed our location close to the Old Town as well as Blue Church which the guests can even see from some of the rooms and it is really worth to visit.
Thank You for choosing us and all the excellent remarks on our hotel.

With kindest regards

Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Danubia Gate Bratislava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Danubia Gate Bratislava

Address: Dunajska 26 | Staré mesto, Bratislava 81108, Slovakia
Phone Number:
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 91 Hotels in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Danubia Gate Bratislava 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel DANUBIA GATE is a small but very friendly **** hotel in the Bratislava city centre, offering a complex package of services to both the business clientele and tourists. It is interesting due to its modern but elegant and tastefully designed interior and excellent services, hotel is famous for its latest technological equipment. The accommodation capacity of the hotel is 45 beds and we provide single rooms, double rooms, economy and family rooms as well as deluxe rooms. One of the rooms is specially furnished to provide comfort to our disabled guests. Modern STREET COFFEE & RESTAURANT with capacity for 40 – 50 guests is part of the hotel lobby. Its appealing architecture creates two spaces with different design. The hotel offers two conference rooms on the top floor, which are separated from the accommodation premises, and hence provide conditions for undisturbed meetings. Capacity of these rooms is 20 and 40 places depending on the type of event and variability of seating. A balcony with a view of the Bratislava castle and the old town is part of the rooms, which is designated also for smokers. Hotel provides free fitness centre to its guests and smoking Coffee House. All additional services which you may wish, will be arranged for you on the basis of contractual relations between several organizations and the hotel. Parking is available directly at the car park at the back of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Danubia Gate Bratislava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Danubia Gate Bratislava, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.